Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Good(89%) From 188 travellers
Excellent
96
Good
83
Average
6
Poor
3
Terrible
0
Below are independent comments from 188 of our travellers who have visited Olive Grove, and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts.

They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.
Mr & Mrs W - London
Arrived on: 3-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Average
Average
Service:
Good
Good
Food:
Good
Good

Olive Grove review

We think in hindsight we would have preferred to head straight for Okinjima and not stop at Windhoek. The staff were very helpful when we left the room keys in the rental vehicle when Europcar came to exchange it!

We did try NICE Restaurant and it was a great supper.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr J & Ms J - Wedding Anniversary
Arrived on: 26-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Good
Good
Facilities:
Good
Good

The lovely Olive Grove

We thought Olive Grove was lovely - a very relaxing place to stay, staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist us. Nothing was too much trouble - including getting us to the airport when our transfer driver forgot to pick us up!

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, and there were very nice touches such as a personal welcome note and small bottle of wine (as it was our anniversary).

We would definately stay here again if we returned to Windhoek.

Read more about the whole trip
Ms L & Mr H - West Boylston, USA
Arrived on: 20-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Excellent
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Excellent

a lovely haven in Windhoek

Although the room was rather small, it was nicely appointed. It was easy to find from the airport, and was reasonably convenient to downtown.

Dinners and breakfasts were very good.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs N from Hexham
Arrived on: 3-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Good
Good

Olive Grove in Windhoek

Not sold on the cement fittings in our room but very comfortable bed and good dinner.

Glad we did not have to go out for a meal as a bit of a shock returning to the city and we had an early start the next day.

Receptionist insisted on the night security guard delivering us breakfast at 0545. The day guard washed and valeted our car for N$60. Budget had said we would have had to pay N$380 if the car was very dirty which it was.

Read more about the whole trip

Expert Africa comments

The owners of the replied to these comments with their usual speed, trying to clarify. They said that ….

“Our breakfast service (full cold buffet & hot breakfast ala carte menu) is available from 07h00. Should a guest require a breakfast earlier than 07h00, then we offer them a “breakfast tray menu” from which they can select their choice and they can advise the time at which they would like this tray delivered to their room. We apologise that, in this instance, this service appears to have been misunderstood, as we would never insist on a particular time at which the breakfast tray should be delivered – I can only think that our receptionist was suggesting that time, based on the guests departure time?

We do not offer a car wash & valet service at Olive Grove. It does sometime happen that a guest request this and, if we have the manpower available, then we arrange it with pleasure. We do not charge for this service; when asked we advise what this service would cost at a car wash in Windhoek (approximately N$80) and we also advise that if the guests does wish to pay for this service, then they can tip the staff member directly, at their discretion.”

We hope that these comments will make it easier for future travellers to understand how they operate.

Mr. & Mrs. L - Swanley
Arrived on: 2-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 2 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Excellent

First rate service.

Very good professional servive, particularly when booking restaurants like Joe's Beerhouse and a taxi to and from the venue.

Good standard of hygiene.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr. & Mrs. F - Harrow
Arrived on: 26-Aug-2009 Stayed for: 2 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Average
Average
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Good
Good
Food:
Good
Good
Activities:
Average
Average
Facilities:
Good
Good

Great way to start the holiday

Staff very friendly and efficient on arrival. Our room was spacious and comfortable with mini bar and tea making facilities. Bathroom spacious with bath and separate shower and plenty of toiletries supplied (even candles for romantic lighting!!!!).
Plunge pool and use of Jacuzzi were added bonuses.
The Wellness Centre and available treatments were a surprise and I had an Indian head massage and a foot massage - well worth it as the therapist was excellent.
Food was good & the breakfasts were excellent.
We enjoyed having 2 nights here before moving on particularly the surprise discovery of hot water bottles in the bed with sheets turned down as well!!!!!.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs M from Chelmsford
Arrived on: 30-Jul-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Excellent
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Good
Good
Food:
Good
Good
Facilities:
Good
Good

Olive Grove review

A peaceful friendly guest house with comfortable well-equipped rooms; a great place to start and finish a trip to Namibia. We had dinner in the hotel on both nights we stayed; the food was very good and other guests who went in to the city to eat were disappointed, so we made the right choice.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs M from Chelmsford
Arrived on: 18-Jul-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Excellent
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Good
Good
Food:
Good
Good
Facilities:
Good
Good

Olive Grove review

A peaceful friendly guest house with comfortable well-equipped rooms; a great place to start and finish a trip to Namibia. We had dinner in the hotel on both nights we stayed; the food was very good and other guests who went in to the city to eat were disappointed, so we made the right choice.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr G & Mrs R - York
Arrived on: 10-Jul-2009 Stayed for: 2 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Average
Average
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Good
Good
Food:
Excellent
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Average
Facilities:
Average
Average

Olive Grove review

A good walk from the centre of Windhoek but this did mean it was Quiet.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr. & Mrs. C - Chinnor
Arrived on: 2-Jul-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Poor
Poor
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Average
Average
Service:
Average
Average
Food:
Average
Average

Olive Grove review

Out room was off the main courtyard which meant that we had a lot of noise coming from people standing outside late at night and early in the morning.

Every where we went in Namibia people were so warm and welcoming. However our reception here was quite frosty

Read more about the whole trip

Expert Africa comments

On receiving this feedback, Olive Grove’s owner, Roger, was clearly quite surprised as he came back to us with a long note. He had tried to investigate why these travellers had found their reception here ‘quite frosty’ – and clearly was upset that someone had come away with this view. He pressed the point that this is not what they strive for.

On the issue of noise, he agreed that quite a few guests went to Joe’s for dinner and when they got back (around 22h00), there were some conversations in the car park. Similarly, the next morning, some guests were waiting in the car park for their respective transfers, and again there was some discussions going on there. He wasn’t aware of any loud or excessive noise – but apologised if there was any.

Roger remains sorry that these travellers didn’t enjoy the Olive Grove as much as he and his team always strive for.