Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Good(88%) From 193 travellers
Excellent
99
Good
83
Average
6
Poor
3
Terrible
2
Below are independent comments from 193 of our travellers who have visited Olive Grove, and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts.

They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.
Dr K and Dr P - London
Arrived on: 19-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Good
Facilities:
Good
Good

Olive Grove review

the decor is excellent and although initially alarming do not be put off by the fact that some of the rooms come directly off the terrace. This did NOT impact on our stay or privacy at all.

The staff where courteous and friendly and jacuzzi excellent!

It may have been useful to know that there was a wellness centre where pre booking for treatments would have been an advantage

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs S - Inverness
Arrived on: 7-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Good
Good
Facilities:
Good
Good

Olive Grove review

Pleasant hotel in Windhoek.

Rooms fine, but felt a little small after more than two weeks of spacious accommodation around the country. Quality of rooms varied between those of same apparent grade. Staff friendly and helpful and food good.

Pool barely worth having due to small size, but massage carried out effectively and at reasonable cost.

A pleasant stopping off place for a night.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs C - Gloucs
Arrived on: 7-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Average
Average
Location:
Average
Average
Rooms:
Average
Average
Service:
Average
Average
Food:
Average
Average
Facilities:
Average
Average

Olive Grove review

In some ways this is hard to rate given the other places we had stayed in. It gave us good access to Windhoek which was fine but it just felt restricted.

The standard room was a disappointment after the others we had stayed in.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs H - York
Arrived on: 7-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Excellent

Excellent B&B

A good way to complete our holiday in Namibia

Read more about the whole trip
Ms L & Mr H - West Boylston, USA
Arrived on: 6-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent

Olive Grove review

[previously reviewed]

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs W - London
Arrived on: 3-Oct-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Average
Average
Service:
Good
Good
Food:
Good
Good

Olive Grove review

We think in hindsight we would have preferred to head straight for Okinjima and not stop at Windhoek. The staff were very helpful when we left the room keys in the rental vehicle when Europcar came to exchange it!

We did try NICE Restaurant and it was a great supper.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr J & Ms J - Wedding Anniversary
Arrived on: 26-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Good
Good
Facilities:
Good
Good

The lovely Olive Grove

We thought Olive Grove was lovely - a very relaxing place to stay, staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist us. Nothing was too much trouble - including getting us to the airport when our transfer driver forgot to pick us up!

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, and there were very nice touches such as a personal welcome note and small bottle of wine (as it was our anniversary).

We would definately stay here again if we returned to Windhoek.

Read more about the whole trip
Ms L & Mr H - West Boylston, USA
Arrived on: 20-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Excellent
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Excellent

a lovely haven in Windhoek

Although the room was rather small, it was nicely appointed. It was easy to find from the airport, and was reasonably convenient to downtown.

Dinners and breakfasts were very good.

Read more about the whole trip
Mr & Mrs N from Hexham
Arrived on: 3-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 1 nights
Overall:
Good
Good
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Good
Good
Service:
Excellent
Excellent
Food:
Good
Good

Olive Grove in Windhoek

Not sold on the cement fittings in our room but very comfortable bed and good dinner.

Glad we did not have to go out for a meal as a bit of a shock returning to the city and we had an early start the next day.

Receptionist insisted on the night security guard delivering us breakfast at 0545. The day guard washed and valeted our car for N$60. Budget had said we would have had to pay N$380 if the car was very dirty which it was.

Read more about the whole trip

Expert Africa comments

The owners of the replied to these comments with their usual speed, trying to clarify. They said that ….

“Our breakfast service (full cold buffet & hot breakfast ala carte menu) is available from 07h00. Should a guest require a breakfast earlier than 07h00, then we offer them a “breakfast tray menu” from which they can select their choice and they can advise the time at which they would like this tray delivered to their room. We apologise that, in this instance, this service appears to have been misunderstood, as we would never insist on a particular time at which the breakfast tray should be delivered – I can only think that our receptionist was suggesting that time, based on the guests departure time?

We do not offer a car wash & valet service at Olive Grove. It does sometime happen that a guest request this and, if we have the manpower available, then we arrange it with pleasure. We do not charge for this service; when asked we advise what this service would cost at a car wash in Windhoek (approximately N$80) and we also advise that if the guests does wish to pay for this service, then they can tip the staff member directly, at their discretion.”

We hope that these comments will make it easier for future travellers to understand how they operate.

Mr. & Mrs. L - Swanley
Arrived on: 2-Sep-2009 Stayed for: 2 nights
Overall:
Excellent
Excellent
Location:
Good
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Excellent

First rate service.

Very good professional servive, particularly when booking restaurants like Joe's Beerhouse and a taxi to and from the venue.

Good standard of hygiene.

Read more about the whole trip