This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge

Reviews of Garden Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Garden Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Garden Lodge.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Eland

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Piotr & Glen
London

"Great location, food, hosts & activities"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2017
"We cannot fault anything about Garden Lodge - enjoyed everything there, starting with the warm welcome from Gaby, meeting her friends from Germany, having excellent lunches together, brilliant food for dinners, cooling off in the swimming pool, enjoying the views from our veranda, and having a really excellent time with our guide on both river cruises and the drive.

While the drive itself was quiet in terms of animals, we did see a big python, and the abundance of birds was excellent. The river cruises were amazing - dozens upon dozens of buffalo, dozens upon dozens of hippos, lots of crocodiles, scenes of animal carnage - crocs, vultures and other birds of prey eating a fallen elephant; and a pack of lions with two cubs eating another elephant right be the river, with a protective mother attacking a crocodile that was trying its chances with going for one of the lion cubs!

Really incredible and so overall definitely recommend Garden Lodge." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Salisbury

"Nice friendly lodge - good boat trip"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"We had only one night here. Arrived from the UK and were out on a boat on the Chobe river within 90 minutes. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. I suspect that one lodge's boat trip on the Chobe river is much the same as every other lodge's boat trip!

Can't comment further on other activities.

All staff were friendly and welcoming" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bath

"A great place"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"We were pleased to be in a lodge that is outside the park, as it was easy to get to and generally more convenient. And next to the river. They have created a very special place, with lots of atmosphere

We loved the game drives - lions, leopard, elephants by the thousand, buffaloes, giraffes, many types of antelope, and lots more

The river cruises were totally brilliant, with large numbers of animals and birds

There are far more animals around in the dry season, when they all go to the river. But don't expect to see so much in the wet season.

The guides were very good." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms L
Heathfield

"Great boat trip on the Chobe River from here"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2017
"The rooms at Garden Lodge are very comfortable and ours had a great view down to the river, from which we could view the animals coming in at night. The staff gave us a warm welcome and we very attentive and friendly.

The boat trip from the lodge on the river during the late afternoon is a 'must do'. We saw so many animals coming down to the river to drink, an especially loved seeing the elephants swim across! It was unforgettable and a highlight of our trip.

Garden Lodge is a good place to stay in a convenient location." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"A lovely place on the river. Great to have the laundry done!

Again, very pleasant staff. Good food and nice to meet with other guests at meals etc.

The two river cruises another highlight, and the game drive also good.

A very good guide - Tefo. Chobe river area is amazing" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms M
Canmore

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2017
"We stayed only 1 night and enjoyed our visit and sundowner river cruise." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C-J
BC

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2017
"The most memorable item at the Garden Lodge was the practice of having the Guides, Management and Guests sitting and eating together. The Staff also made time to chat during the day and make sure Guests were enjoying their activities and time.

We went on one River Cruise and two Game Drives. We saw more elephants here at the river than elsewhere on our month's holiday. The Game Drives provided a wide variety of animals, particularly along the river banks.

The location of the Lodge on the river was picturesque and provided warthogs and hippos in the garden for our viewing." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Brentford

"Relaxing small lodge by the Chobe River"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"Beautiful setting on banks of the Chobe river. Very comfortable rooms, open and airy lounge/dining/pool area. Genial hosts.

River trip was magical, many animals and birds observed, the only slightly sour note being that the drinks were not included in the quite expensive trip price.

This was the most expensive place that we stayed - all extras (drinks, trips, food etc) were significantly more expensive than at other accommodation." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kingsley

"Garden Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2016
"We just loved it here, the location is perfect and everyone so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the rooms lovely.

We did evening river trips and morning game drives with the excellent John who was so knowledgeable and showed us so many fantastic animals and birds. Could have stayed longer and would like to return." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs C
Lancs

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Excellent location with own access onto the river. Superb staff and John was an excellent guide both on the water and the game drive.

Emily at Reception was great, she sorted out our car drop off for us and sent the pick up away when it came an hour earlier than arranged to take us to Victoria Falls. We were made to feel at home and enjoyed meeting other guests and the owners and staff informally.

Transfer to Victoria Falls went okay but we had not been told that we were changing vehicles at the border and were left to ourselves to find this out." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 52
95%
52 reviews of Garden Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa