This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge

Reviews of Garden Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Garden Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Garden Lodge.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Eland

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J & A
UK

"Set on the Chobe river."

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"Spacious well appointed accommodation set in lovely grounds which reach down to the river.

Game drives and river trips were excellent and the drivers know where to take you for the best game viewing experiences ever.

Food was good and varied, being well presented.

Staff and the manager's were very friendly and went out of their way to make your stay special.

Look out for the mongoose family that visits the gardens, about 40 or so, along with nocturnal visits onto the lawn by the local hippos." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Montreal

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2016
"Amazing boat tour across Chobe river front.
An amazing surprise taking us downstream to see the storks, egrets and herons outside of the park (we saw a clawless otter there!)

Amazing jeep safari the following day!!! Lions, mangosts, a honeybadger..." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Garden Lodge - The Place to Stay in Kasane"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2016
"Our stay at Garden Lodge was wonderful.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the team we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The lodge is small, overlooks the river and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Our room was spacious, well equipped and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was large with a great walk in shower. A veranda with comfortable seating had great views especially at sundown. Elephants, hippo and mongoose were all seen in the gardens.

We enjoyed some relaxation on loungers around the pool and in the comfortable lounge area, supplied with a selection of interesting books and where tea and coffee were available.

Meals were taken communally, in a relaxed atmosphere with attention to every ones particular needs. The food was delicious, plentiful and served with a smile.

We had pre booked a day trip to Victoria Falls. The organisation of this was flawless and we had a wonderful experience from the moment we were collected in the morning to our return in the late afternoon.

As we had time on the morning of our departure before our pick up we asked if we could have a game drive into Chobe . This turned out to be a great experience with just the two of us with our guide who was excellent.

The staff really made this place one we would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & family
Hants

"Garden Lodge is outstanding"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2015
"This was the highlight of the trip. Although slightly more expensive than Nambian lodges this is a full board option with 2 game drives per day: either in the park on roads or on the boat. The food was amazing and visitors sat round a large family style table to share stories and advice on their travelling, this was helped by one of the staff always eating with the guests.

An incredibly friendly feel, where nothing was too much trouble. Afternoon tea and cake was a nice touch, as was the free washing/ironing service - very handy at the end of a long trip.

Not too large which gave it a family feel. Outstanding lodge and ethos." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"An oasis of calm at Garden Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2014
"We were welcomed by Emily, one of the managers who, despite it being 2.30p.m. rustled up a lovely lunch for us. The Garden Lodge was an oasis of calm in the busy town of Kasane. Nothing was too much trouble for the team of managers or their staff. The rooms were large and comfortable and had a.c. The food was delicious.

Trips on the Chobe River were great, there is a huge variety of birds. The highlights were the elephants coming down to drink in the morning and evening. One evening we were treated to 10 minutes of a leopard coming down from his tree and walking along the river bank. The two guides, Innocent and John, were very knowledgeable and knew just where to go to see the best of the animals and birds.

We were a bit disappointed by the safari in the park as there were nothing like the numbers of animals around that we had experienced in July five years ago. It had rained 2 weeks ago and the animals had dispersed, although they were drifting back as it hadn;t rained since.

We loved it here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Chobe." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"3 lovely nights"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2014
"Beautiful accommodation and setting on the banks of the Chobe. Very friendly and helpful staff. Again we enjoyed the conversation at a communal table.

Every meal was a culinary treat - including afternoon tea in temperatures of 40C! Excellent inclusive trips ( although our relief driver learnt a bit about wildlife from us!!) Lovely and airy and relaxed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Lovely friendly place to stay."

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"A lovely friendly place to stay. It was good to sit with others when eating, to share experiences.

The staff are very genuinely friendly and seem to actually enjoy meeting and chatting with guests, rather than just passing pleasantries. The boat trips and game drives were excellent, we had never realised how much game there was here, compared with Namibia. Though it was a bit of a shock to see all the boats on the river from the large lodges. So pleased we were in the Garden Lodge, as it was small and intimate.

Our room was the smallest, but it was cosy and had everything we needed. A really good end to our trip.

Our hire car was collected from the lodge, which was very convenient and unexpected. A very good end to our adventure" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr d
Kilburn

"Garden lodge heaven"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2014
"Although not as luxurious as others this is a charming lodge, with fantastic food and great hosts who sit wiht the guests over meals.

Maybe our favourite place." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The M & N party
UK

"We had great fun here"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2014
"A great position on the edge of the Chobe River.

The large rooms had good views and were comfy and well equipped.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, providing a very personal service.

The food was variable and the dining area very cold.

Our boat trip was excellent and our day long game drive was very enjoyable.

The elephants and hippo in the garden were an added bonus.....if unplanned." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Alaska

"Garden Lodge is an Oasis"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2014
"Terrific oasis in the middle of town.

Wonderful place to rest, relax and regroup!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 52
95%
52 reviews of Garden Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa