This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge

Reviews of Garden Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Garden Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Garden Lodge.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Eland

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F & party
Portugal

"The Garden Lodge - back to be pampered"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"This small intimate and quite lodge is situated on the Chobe River front, but away from the main action area of town. This served our main purpose : to unwind from all the camping excitement, getting organized, and of course being pampered (proper shower, proper food, proper sleep, ...).
The private access to the river, is without any doubt a privilege for the guests. We were very fortunate in having a boat tour just for ourselves, which was excellent, as we were able to choose what to see. Seeing Chobe from inside-out is really different and unforgettable. The guiding was excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & M Oxford
UK

"The Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"Exceptionally good location and especially good guides (John and Innocent). Afternoon/twilight boat trips were a special feature and both guides set up some wonderful sunset photographs for everyone in the boat by manoeuvring us all into the right position at the right time. By reason of the size of the lodge the wildlife activities were compact enough for all participants (in our experience the maximum number of guests being 6) to be able to get close to the shorelines where some of the more interesting scenes were to be seen, cf the gargantuan boats which ply their trade on the Chobe. We were able to walk through the grounds of the lodge avoiding the warthogs (of course) and on to the boat with minimum fuss.

The staff were very accommodating and were able to give us our room preferences. The staff were helpful particularly when confirming the collection of the hire car and the departure arrangements for the onward journey to Zambia.

Dining was again communal either at a very long table or at a smaller table with the staff and guides eating with the guests. Afternoon tea was served at the boma in the verdant garden prior to the afternoon activities.

This lodge caters for a mainly but not exclusively German-speaking clientele." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Friendly"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"This was one of many lodges located on the banks of the Chobe river, and indeed it was possible to walk from the lodge through the verdant back gardens right to the river.

The atmosphere was friendly and informal, with guests sitting together with lodge staff members at a big table at meal times. Our room was pleasant, with a veranda overlooking the back garden.

The day activities consisted of a morning game drive and an afternoon river cruise. It has to be said that this area of Chobe National Park is very touristy, and neither of these activities felt like a wilderness experience. Nevertheless, we got some excellent sightings. And, most impressively, after we returned from a cruise, the lodge manager informed us that three male lions were relaxing at the roadside a few miles away. Without further ado, he personally drove a group of us to see them, and there they were in their full glory." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Lovely place"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"Very close to Chobe, lovely common areas. Dinner was ok but not as nice as most places we stayed. Staf were very nice and helpful. Especially Mosi and our guides. Many thanks to them. Room was small and air con too loud to have on although we would have needed it.

Water cruise was fabulous. SO much wildife to see. Game drive was great too. Very personal service." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr M
Reading

"The Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"God food great rooms. Boat cruise very god even though we had taken the same trip the day before. Friendly staff" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Dr M
UK

"Garden Lodge - Fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"Absolutely lovely place to stay. Superb service. Superb rooms. Superb activities and guides. Really helpful staff too. Great location right on the river." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs A
Herts

"The Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"This was our favourite lodge of all. Staff were friendly and helpful - Kin in particular went out of her way to help us retrieve a toy that my daughter had left at a previous lodge. Our children loved the mezzanine design of the family room. Food was lovely and the children particularly enjoyed afternoon tea (well the cakes mainly !!)

John was an excellent guide and our package included 2 boat cruises and a game drive. The boat cruises were the best of all and Chobe exceeded all our expectations. Compared to many of the other lodges around the Garden Lodge has small boats which makes the cruises and the overall experience much more personal. For us we also loved the small size of the lodge generally.

The other nice thing here is being able to stroll along to a few local shops and experience a bit of 'real-life' in Africa" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family O
USA

"Excellent lodge and safari"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"This is a wonderful Lodge with expert staff, comfortable rooms and excellent safari/guides. We were booked on the two-day package including morning drive safaris and afternoon river safaris. Don't miss the river safaris in particular.

The guides, John and Innocent, told great stories, we're very knowledgeable and maneuvered the vehicles/boats expertly to allow for great views/photos. Lodge staff were consistently attentive and friendly." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
New Zealand

"Very well looked after at the Garden Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2013
"Staying at the Garden Lodge is perfect if you want to be looked after. The staff were great at accomodating all our need, even checking with us before shopping for food and making a special early serving for the children.

The guided activities were well organised and varied." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Maryland

"Garden Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2013
"The Garden Lodge was a lovely introduction to Botswana and viewing the animals. It was very comfortable and exceeded my expectations in terms of amenities.

The owners and the staff were uniformly helpful and very welcoming. They accommodated the need for vegetarian meals without making any sort of fuss at all. The only thing that surprised us was the number of German-speaking guests. We learned that they focused on that population because Gabi, one of the owners, is from Germany. It gave us an unique experience since many of them also spoke English.

We also enjoyed John, who was our guide in the game drives on the river trips. He seemed to know quite a lot about the animals and the environment. We particularly enjoyed learning about traditional uses of some of the plants." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 52
95%
52 reviews of Garden Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa