This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge

Reviews of Garden Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Garden Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Garden Lodge.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Eland

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Ms G
Ireland

"The Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2012
"fantastic place to stay, staff very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable.

the excursions we did from Garden Lodge were absolutely amazing. we did two game drives and one boat cruise which were exceptionally well run and good fun with John (or shall we call him Carlos) and Kelvin the prefect guides. The sunset boat cruise was one of the most amazing things we did on our trip and we would recommend this as a must do / stay" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"The Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2011
"This is a wonderful place to stay.

The rooms are lovely, the food was fantastic, the staff were all very helpful and the boat trip along the Chobe River was amazing - well worth doing." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Harrow

"The Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Excellent land and water based game viewing. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room needed an uplift." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"The Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"A very nice little lodge in the center of town. The management couple aswell as the staff was very serviceminded and really enjoyed our stay there." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Kasane to Cape Town Day 4"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Kasane to Cape Town Day 1"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2011
"After our delayed flight from Jo'Burg we were met at Kasane by Morgan who immediately asked whether we would still like to do a boat trip that afternoon; this perked us up immensely as we had been thinking the delay would mean we'd lose the opportunity. He drove us to meet the boat at the park registration point (therefore not inconveniencing other guests who had boated from the lodge) and took our luggage off to our room. The boat trip with John (aka birthday boy!) was excellent.

Staff at the lodge could not have done more to help with resolving the problems caused by Elegant Farmstead having 'bumped' us at the very last minute. They were also happy to allow us to leave a bag at Garden Lodge pending our return in two days time and there was no problem in agreeing we would settle our bill for both stays on our second departure.

All staff were smiling and friendly and we were welcomed back after two nights elsewhere like long lost friends; our spare bag was already awaiting us in our new room. Everybody was so helpful on the last morning when our car key was mislaid – much appreciated!
Rooms at Garden Lodge are rustic in style but have everything necessary including A/C and a hairdryer; they're very comfortable but not fussy. Food is wholesome, well cooked and tasty but not fancy and you eat at communal tables including some of the staff which leads to some fascinating conversation over dinner.

There is an attractive pool, lovely gardens complete with family of warthogs and the owners' dogs and cats about." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Ms H
Norwood

"Another excellent riverside location"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"The garden lodge rooms were comfortable with our upstairs room having a good balcony with good view. The food was good and there was a good range of activities.

We went on the game drive which was a little disappointing as it became a little rushed and we drove out of the park on the same route as we had gone in - some variety here would have been preferable and a sighting of the river!

However, the afternoon boat trip was excellent - fabulous close ups of animals, very relaxed and an informative and entertaining guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"The Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"An excellent, relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were well equipped and a laundry facility available. The pool area was well designed and looked inviting. Dinner is a communal affair with wine included – food is good, wholesome and home-cooked – we had duck salad (ducks shot that morning by staff!), and pork chops.

We took an excellent afternoon boat trip and good drive in Chobe NP the following morning. We could have happily stayed 2 nights or more as many guests were doing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
5 friends
Amsterdam

"Busy, friendly river lodge with big garden"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Coming from the Caprivi, the 'mass-tourism' of Chobe is a bit overwhelming. Lots of (rather noisy) boats on the river and too many jeeps in one spot.

The lodge itself was nice, tastefully decorated, with friendly owners and staff (including the 7 dogs and 3 warthogs!)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr C & Ms S
Colorado

"The Garden Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2009
"Clean comfortable stay.

The guides were not as good as others we had later, but everyone was very accommodating and we enjoyed it very much overall.

We found the food not as good as other places we stayed." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 52
95%
52 reviews of Garden Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa