This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge

Reviews of Royal Tree Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Tree Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Dr K
Singapore

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2015
"Stayed for 1 night stopover in Maun. Nice to see a few animals in the grounds.

Unfortunately it rained all the time we were there although the outdoor shower in the rain was enjoyable." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Northwood

"A starter to the main course"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"As well as breaking up the long journey to the major safari areas of Botswana, one good thing about Royal Tree Lodge is that you can safely embark on your own walking safari within their extensive grounds. No predators, obviously, but is great to be on foot amongst the impala and giraffe" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Prof & Ms M
Santa Fe

"Royal Tree Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2014
"Best place to stay in Maun. Owned by an evangelical Christian group from Houston, dinner is like a church supper." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms B & Ms L
New York

"Perfect start to our adventure"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2014
"The manager, was friendly and warm with a wonderful sense of humor. He took great care of us, and even joined us at our meals. At home this would be slightly intrusive, but he was so charming and it felt right - the beginning of the family style safari dining tradition.

The service was friendly and excellent, the food was delicious, the tent style room was luxurious and well appointed. The zebras, ostriches and giraffes were delightful, and it was lovely to be able to stroll around the grounds, since there were no predators.

It was also great to have phone signal and internet - our last connection for the rest of our stay in Botswana." See all these reviews: 17n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Fantastic time at Royal Tree Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2013
"We were picked up quickly after clearing customs and were soon in our preferred room (Woodpecker) at the lodge. Each day we went for a walk down to the flood plain (Blue Route) where we saw lots of birds, many different from the day before - being birders this was very exciting for us.

One afternoon we went on a forest walk (Green Route) and came across a small pool - in which there was an African Rock Python (about 5 metres long). When we got back to the lodge we told Julius (Manager) who didn't believe us until we showed him the photos.

Each day Dougie (owner) took us out around the farm in his pick-up - we went to see some young Ostrich chicks on one such drive which was fine until the male turned up and chased us away!! Dougie didn't have to take us out every day but it was most welcome and much appreciated.

The accommodation was excellent as were all the staff that couldn't do enough for us - this we believe is in the main due to Julius (Previously at Kanana Camp) coming to RTL as manager. The food was first rate and plentiful and most nights a Spotted Genet would visit the decking to see if there was any leftovers.

All in all a very well run lodge and provided us with many memorable moments on our second visit ." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P & Ms G
Antigua

"Disappointing stay....tired accommodation."

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2013
"This was a slightly longer drive from the airport than I would choose next time.

We were coming from a really wonderful camp, so we were a bit disappointed. We chose this camp to have game viewing available for the night we weren't in the Delta or elsewhere because of flight scheduling. In the end there wasn't time for any game viewing anyway. The rooms were pretty but one sink backed up into the other one when my friend washed her hair. The food was ok, but not exciting.

I think next time I will stay closer to the airport, and not worry about it being not a 'camp'." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Wiltshire

"Stopover at Royal tree"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2013
"Having booked the intercontinental flights separately with frequent flyer miles we decided on a one night contingency stay in Maun in case there were flight delays.

RTL was a pleasant place to stay for this.
Nice walks in the grounds searching for wildlife. But its only a one night stopover." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms W
Austria

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Apr 2013
"Royal Tree Lodge was the perfect place to arrive and unwind after a long flight.

It was particularly nice to take a walk in the private reserve, explore and encounter giraffes, zebras etc. on foot. Watching two genets in the trees while having dinner on the open deck was another highlight." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"overnight stay at Royal Tree Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"Friendly and hospitable staff provided a very good service.

Two very minor issues

1.We arrived after 4pm (courtesy of Air Botswana) and our tent was sealed up and stiflingly hot. I would have thought there would be no problem in airing the tent on the departure of the pick up transport.to the airport.

2. We had to pay our bar bill in U.S.dollars as they were unable to process a credit card, I did'nt ask what happens if you do not carry dollars." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Nice start in Maun"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2012
"Probably the nicest place in Maun to spend a night at. Loved the walking trails on the lodge grounds.

Great food, huge tents and very friendly staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 31
88%
31 reviews of Royal Tree Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

With its tranquil riverside location, Thamalakane makes an excellent buffer between a tiring long-haul flight and the magic of a safari.


79% (39 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


71% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa