This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kwara
Little Kwara
Little Kwara

Reviews of Little Kwara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

177 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kwara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kwara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 177
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Mrs B
Colorado

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"Little Kwara was probably the best overall camp. Lizzie the camp manager was incredibly accommodating—she could not do enough for any of us. Our guide (Steve) and tracker (Mike) were every bit as good as Dux and Bowman and they too did their best to give us the best experience possible. One night Dux and Mike took us out until 2:00 AM looking for the Splash Boys a huge pair of male lions who inhabited the area, which was one of the highlights of the trip.

The food was outstanding, which we found interesting vis-à-vis Lebala which is also a Kwando camp. In addition, one evening after dinner we were delightfully surprised with singing and African chants followed by a “dance around the table” with both staff and guests—that experience literally brought tears to our eyes. The Batswana are an incredible people.

Predicated on our experiences with two (2) Kwando camps we would recommend Kwando to anyone. The focus was find game, find game and find game with a lot of warmth and attention to guest needs thrown in for good measure. Little Kwara was our favorite camp, period." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Three
Manchester

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2010
"Little Kwara is a beautiful little camp and with only 5 tents a very intimate set-up. The staff are very warm and friendly and the guiding the usual Kwando high standard.

We saw plenty of game and unusual visits to camp by Lions and a Leopard made of an exciting evening one night.

The only reason the camp gets a good rather than excellent rating is that due to its size and focus on both water activities and game drives, its can be a little inflexible in terms of guests needs. Although they do try their best to accomodate any requests.

Personally I would recommend a private guide at this camp to ensure you do as you please during your stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Greece

"Little Kwara review"

6 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2010
"Full report to follow in due course. Facilities only average due to state of pool. Activities only good due to boat situation." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr S
Canada

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2010
"This was my second visit here (first was in Kwara) but the first for my 12 year old son.

The excellent location offers plenty of game to be seen - even at the end of the wet season. In the first 24 hours we saw the three main predators - lion, leopard and cheetah.

Unfortunately our morning activities were cut short each time during our three day stay - we are convinced arrangements could be done do avoid this, especially with a little more good will from our guide.

Our room and the food were good and the people were very nice and took good care of my son while I was resting during the siestas. Together with the manager - Chucks - he had fun in chasing away the elephants that came to the camp. Chucks told us interesting stories about game (how he was chased by warthogs) and about Botswana in general.

Our tracker - Kenny - was great in spotting game (day and night!) and skilled with the mekoro navigation." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Bucks

"Little Kwara Feedback"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2010
"We had a lovely stay at Little Kwara. It felt very intimate as it is such a small lodge and gave us a chance to get to know all the staff well. They were all excellent and very friendly and helpful.

We have a few observations, one that the lack of power in the rooms was a bit inconvenient as cannot charge ones own batteries, this had to be done by the staff in their office. Also, our guide, Piet, who had only just started that week in the area, had a tendency to follow the other vehicles rather than driving and tracking to see what we could find.

As time went on, however, he did seem to get a bit more confidence, however, when other vehicles were around tended to follow them rather than taking the lead, even when we were first on the scene. This meant that photographing became impossible as the only view was the rear view of the animals, in this case, lions. A final point to mention is that the vehicle we were in was of poor quality and the seats were hard and uncomfortable.

Overall though, we had a lovely time, really enjoyed our time with the staff and had some great sightings of lion and cheetahs." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2009
"This was our third visit to Kwara, although the previous two were to the main camp. The location of Little Kwara is arguably not as special as the main camp (inasmuch as most of the rooms do not overlook the lagoon), but the rooms themselves are considerably better.

As with previous visits to this consession, the game viewing was top class, and the range of activities is broader than is available at most camps. However, the guide on this occasion (Hobbs) was not as good as on previous visits - seemingly more interested in driving around (both in the safari vehicle and in the boat) at a speed inconsistent with watching game. After two less than satisfactory drives, we and our fellow travellers prevailed on him to slow down, which improved things. Nonetheless, he did not demonstrate the same enthusiasm for his role as we have experienced at Kwara." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Little Kwara return"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2009
"We were greeted at the camp by Lizzie just as if we were family. Most of the staff recognised us from last time, I'm not sure this was a good or bad thing!!

Animal and birdwise we saw everything going including a very long game drive to see 2 Cheetahs (also lions on the way). One night we were given the chance to see a Pangolin just outside the camp. Our Driver/Guide and tracker were TN and Justice both excellent.

Food excellent and the tent just great (this was the 2nd time we asked for tent No 1 and got it). Many thanks Anna." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms N
London

"small but too relaxed ?"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2009
"We had 1 night at LK and 2 nights at Kwara due to availability.

The camp is small and intiamte - the tents roomy and comfortable.The atmosphere of the camp in our view suited a more laid back approach to activity and action than the main Kwara Camp.

Our experience here was mainly good and admittedly limited due to the 1 night stay only but we had the following comments -

despite pre-arrival requests to Kwara / Little Kwara from the UK we did not have the same guide and tracker for the whole 3 days - especially as we had paid for a private vehicle for the whole 3 days with friends who were traveling with us.

Our morning game drive was cut short as the guide had to pick up incoming guests from the airstrip - in light of the fact we had paid for the private vehicle this was disappointing . Kwara and Little Kwara are 500m apart and we could not see how both of the above points could not have been better organised - especially as kwando had been advised of these beforehand." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sisters
London

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"Very special as is so small and quite a 'family' feeling. Made to feel very welcome.

Great game drives and some very special sightings. Lovely brunch and evening meal, but breakfast could be better with fruit/porridge or toast. Great guides and team.

Will always remember the lionesses walking through the camp at night after following them home!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The R family
Berks

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"it's all about the guide!!! Steve is fantastic" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 177
93%
177 reviews of Little Kwara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
34
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (88 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


94% (39 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


94% (7 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa