This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kwara
Little Kwara
Little Kwara

Reviews of Little Kwara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

177 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kwara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kwara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 171-177 of 177
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Greece

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Everything excellent. As you know it is a new camp so all pristine. In March there was very weak management. She has left the company and the new manager, Lizzy, is brilliant.

The location is not as good as Kwara as it is not right on the lagoon. But brilliant tents only I couldn't get Henri out of the bath (a luxury we do not have here or indeed hot water). No other comments." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A Spain
Spain

"The highlight of our trip"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2007
"Very nice and intimate camp with great location (we could see the hippos from our veranda, plus eles, giraff, impalas, zebras, red lewche and kudus), very good service and food and a very nice atmosphere from sunrise to sunset.

We found all the people very nice and attentive, always trying to make you feel as better as possible.

Then it was the wildlife experience. Apart from what we saw at Lebala (except for wild dog and sable) we also saw a family of 4 cheetah, a leopard eating an impala killed the night before, another leopard moving the carcass next morning, 2 hyenas stealing a tsessebe carcass from six lioness and thousands of storks, herons and ibises at their nest... among other magnificent sightings.

We spend 4 wonderful days at LKwara and will recommend this camp to anyone." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Norfolk

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2007
"A really lovely camp that made you very welcome from the start. Very good service.

The guide and tracker - Moro and John - were outstanding tracking a family of cheetah for over 2 hours. This resulted in us then seeing the cheetah hunt and kill the next day. The heronry boat trip was excellent as was the mokoro with the hippos (albeit a bit hair raising!)

The food was only so-so but they were trying their best and better than the average. I would heartily recommend this camp.

Only downsides were the tents were hot in the middle of the day but it was 45 degrees!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Camberley

"a little gem"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"a lovely little camp with a great team that is run in a relaxed style that alllows everyone to get know each other better.
position and layout of camp is great

best food

rooms are huge ,i think too big and i don't like sliding doors in the middle of africa, also missed the fan

game was much less than lagoon but the drives were still great because of the different types of landscape" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Kent

"Little Kwara: Good camp, horrible vehicles"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2007
"The tents at Little Kwara are relatively new and very well designed - roomy and with lots of storage space.

The camp is very nice and we enjoyed our stay but we would not return to this camp or any other Kwando camps until they change their vehicles (made by Uri)! There are 2 problems with the vehicles:

1. The seating is in 2 rows of 3. Hence, 2 people have to sit in the middle and get a poor view. This contrasts with the WIlderness camps where seating is in 3 rows and everyone gets an outsode seat.

2. The vehicles are extremely uncomfortable - especially in the back seat. The suspension on the vehicles at Little Kwara seem designed to elicit maximum damage! These vehicles are significantly different from those at other camps who use either Landrover or Toyota.

The "double decker" boat was excellent and great fun.

Game viewing overall was very good with one sighting of a very unusual event - a lioness in a tree! However, there was one problem: There was a tendency for all vehicles from both Little Kwara and Kwara to look for game in the same small area near to the camp. This meant that at any one time, we could always see one or 2 other vehicles (even when not at a sighting). This did destroy the wilderness feel that we would normally associate with Botswana.

The camp manager told us that this was because there was hunting on the far edge of the concession (in another concession) and they didn't want guests to hear shots but even so, the area used for searching for game seemed to be limited to a very small area around the camp." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Buffalo Heaven"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"This camp the second in the Kwando Safari package was as good as Lagoon in Kwando, with a high level of service, fantastic staff and the best chocolate cake in Botswana. The guides and trackers are of the highest standard and again the interaction between them make for it's own entertainment. This is a great location in the delta and the variety of landscape make it a good place to see a wide variety of wildlife and birdlife.

There were huge heards of buffalo here in August, which brought with it a high concentration of lion, hyena and we had good leopard sightings also (never guaranteed). The highlight was watching a lone hippo chasing buffalo across the delta, mouth open and thankfully a couple of hundred metres away.

Again they catered well for my 16 year old daugher and seemed to be catered for family travel very well.

The elephants walking through camp and using the corner of your tent frame as a rubbing post first thing in the morning, make for an interesting wake up call.

A special place that should be on any serious safari buff's list of places to visit." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Caracal
UK

"A real jewel on the delta"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2007
"This camp must pride itself on friendly staff and its small size gives a really personal feel.

Our guide was really good and very informative. The local lions had made a kill the day before we arrived so the initial emphasis was on watching their interaction, waiting hyenas etc. We spent a lot of the morning drive following 5 of the pride on the look out for their next kill which was engrossing. We also saw a young leopard and various antelope, zebra etc.

I welcomed the boat trip on the 2nd evening as did not feel that I had seen much of the delta up to then. Meandering up various channels was lovely, ending up in an open area of water. We were extremely lucky to find storks had just arrived to breed on the heronry island which was a magnificant site. Numerous birds jostling for space in the one tree! Drinks at sunset topped it off.

We chose the makoro option for the following morning and although this was peaceful and the polesman were very skilled and chatty, it was not quite as I imagined. I had thought we might go further and weave down small channels but in fact we just went along the edge of the shallow flood water and back. Perhaps wrongly my expectation had been that there would be more emphasis on the water but I do appreciate that this camp has a great asset having the land for great gameviewing.

The final game drive was great arriving at 1000 plus buffalo at a dusty sunset and spotting porcupines, genets and wild cat on return.

This camp is wonderful with the most personable and chatty staff, regaling numerous stories and singing for us one evening. The Kwando set up with guide and tracker is a real bonus and I am sure increases the amount of game found.

Overall a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 171-177 of 177
93%
177 reviews of Little Kwara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
34
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (207 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (132 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


94% (99 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (75 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (75 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (67 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (61 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (45 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (12 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


96% (9 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa