This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Kwara
Little Kwara
Little Kwara

Reviews of Little Kwara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

177 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Kwara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Kwara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 177
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Cheetah, servals, dogs and birds"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2017
"Little Kwara has 5 cabins set in the trees. Although initially this seemed a little dark the cabin had everything we needed and the deck was a great place to spend siesta time. The camp was friendly and well run with Twinkle making dinner fun. No coffee with wake-up call.

With 5 cabins and two guides, one vehicle always had six guests; fortunately we were with just one other couple. Our guide asked what we most wanted to see, so we listed "cheetah, secretary bird and kori bustard". We got sightings of all three! This was definitely the richest area for wildlife during our trip although the guide often felt a little in a hurry to get to the next big predator. We only stopped to see the bustard because I saw it and shouted out. We tripped over lions, saw the cheetah 3 times, had a great view on a night drive of a serval and her cub, plus a male checking to see if she was ready to mate. We also had a fantastic view of a leopard who finished his performance by posing in a bare tree in the morning light.

As well as the game drives we took a boat trip on the Kuando River. The boat had an upper storey which gave a fantastic view over the reeds. It was a bit of a race to get to a heronry and back to the best view point in time for sundowners, but it was a beautiful sunset.

Little Kwara and "big" Kwara have a policy of having a maximum of 3 vehicles at a sighting at any one time. This worked well in my opinion. The guides from both camps shared information and but sightings remained personal. It often felt as though there was a race to get to sightings first, although arriving to see the cheetah in fifth place we were on our own and saw him chase a steenbok.

Our guide was experienced and professional but he had little time for birds or even mammals if they weren't big predators. Having said that, there were a fantastic number of predators to see!
" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"A wonderfull experience and location, "

5 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"Again we could not find a single fault with anything we did or had here. It was a great place to be and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were wonderfull." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Excellent stay at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2017
"We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were attentive and helpful and made us very welcome.

Jakob, our guide, and KP, our tracker, made the game drives very interesting finding a good variety of game, including cheetah.

The river trip to the heronry made a welcome variation. " See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Canmore

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2017
"Excellent staff , game tours, and food.

This was the only place we stayed in 5 weeks which did not have mosquito nets for the bed. Instead they used mosquito coils which are stinky and probably toxic.

It was cold when we were there and the tents are not heated so we and the sheets and towels were damp or wet all of the time.

This is classified as a wet/dry camp, but they do not promote the boat outing very much." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Mr M
Bow

"Great Finale to our Delta Safari"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"Our guide (Tom) and tracker (Matt) responded well to our more general interest in natural history by providing many details about the surrounding environment. They honored our desire not to go racing off to see another pair of cats on a kill. Instead, as requested, one evening drive took us to find the elusive baobob. We were successful at finding a well-hidden, solitary giant with an interesting story to tell. But along the way we were surrounded with mixed herds of impala, kudu, eland, zebra, elephants, giraffes, wild dogs, etc. Remember to go slow and look carefully - the other land cruiser group caught only a glimpse of their target cat that same evening.

As we experienced at other Kwando facilities, Little Kwara was luxurious and comfortable with many helpful and friendly staff members. Little Kwara is more intimate due to its small size and habituated wildlife.

See comments by Ms I. from North Berwick for additional details on our shared vacation." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms I
North Berwick

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"We saw a huge amount of wildlife from this camp. The flight in was very well done too with the pilot flying low and pointing out features and animals on the way.

Tom, our driver, and Matt, our spotter, were open to altering their normal routes to accommodate our wishes. As the lodge was not full, we were almost always on the Landcruiser on our own, so there was no reason why they could not accommodate us and they did. We had a couple of outstanding drives that included finding and photographing Alison's favourite tree (Alison is a Master gardener and occasional lecturer on trees) and seeing a huge number of animals and birds on the way. We overheard a very amusing radio exchange when the other driver asked what we were tracking and was told that we were tracking a tree!

We also had rare sightings of an elusive antelope during our river cruise spotted by Mark and Alison through there super duper bird watching binos. They were like pigs in muck when we stopped at the bird colony island on that cruise.

I particularly enjoyed my accommodation at this camp with open views and sightings of passing giraffes and baboons, and an outside shower with loads of hot water, which was very welcome after the mobile camp.

My only criticism, which i have already raised with the camp owners, is that on occasions the food was served at the wrong temperature. Hot food was not hot enough and cold food was not cold enough. Apart from detracting from the enjoyment of the food, this is also a dangerous practice which hugely increases the risk of food poisoning. As a result i did avoid certain foods during my stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Darius
Paris

"Little Kwara review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2017
"Good game drives and very outgoing driver & spotter.

It will be undergoing a move soon - the view on the savanah will be a bit better." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"excellent safari at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2016
"Little Kwara was overall excellent and we really enjoyed our stay there. All the staff were warm and welcoming. The guiding was excellent and we saw some great wildlife and things that we have never seen before - wild dogs hunting, hyena carrying and looking after her cub. and a spring hare. G&T's at sunset were perfect." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"A little gem of a camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"Little Kwara has just 5 tents on stilts in a forest clearing and they are really well equipped.The staff and food was excellent again just like its sister camp, Lebala.

We went on the water for our first evening activity where we saw mainly birdlife and even though we are not birders this was very impressive. Do take a scarf though to wrap around your face for this activity as the midges come out on the way back on the river!

Wildlife around little Kwara was great with following wild dogs hunting on our very last game drive very exciting, thank you Wago and Mike." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Thank goodness for a great guide."

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
"Little Kwara was included in our safari itinerary to give us a taste of the Okavango Delta.

As this was our third safari to Southern Africa we wanted to experience the Delta, but game viewing was our #1 priority.

Fortunately we had a great guide in Tom Nkwazi, who quickly picked up on the fact that we had been spoiled by having superb private guiding on our two previous safaris in Zimbabwe. Tom made a point to create a unique experience. Thanks to his efforts, we had great experiences with Leopards, Painted Dogs and two female lions with cubs. His knowledge was broad and his professionalism obvious. He knew his birds and flora and he handled us with skill and enthusiasm.

All his efforts balanced out the fact that Little Kwara had just had a major bush fire, had a new inexperienced co-manager, and is obviously due for a scheduled refurbishing. The shower and the gas geysers needed repair and the physical camp is pretty tired.

It just goes to show, when on safari it's not the accommodations that are important. It's the people. Tom rescued our three day experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 177
93%
177 reviews of Little Kwara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
131
34
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa