This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Diani Blue
Diani Blue
Diani Blue

Reviews of Diani Blue

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Diani Blue and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Right on the beach - great location"

6 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"Peace, quiet and tranquility in the hotel and grounds - away from the hasstle of beach sellers and the hubub of the main road.

This was a great place to relax and unwind after 5 weeks of safaris in 5 African countries - glad we chose to come here rather than a large resort hotel.

Staff all very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family
Surrey

"Great place to relax, excellent service"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"The staff were waiting to welcome us with a drink and a short talk about Diani Blue. We were shown our room, which was spacious with plenty of storage space. Very comfortable beds. Bottled water was provided (I had been a bit concerned about there being filtered water as per your description as I don't trust anything not in a sealed bottle). There was no cell phone in the room, but free wifi was available in our room and around the pool so we didn't need a phone.

Complimentary afternoon tea and biscuits/cake is available on the terrace between 4 and 5pm, but since we had just arrived they brought it our room. They like you to order dinner in advance from the menu which is put up on the noticeboard each afternoon. It was quite windy during our first evening, so they set us a table by the pool. There were only three other guests there, so we received a very personal service. Breakfast was served on the terrace, the normal buffet style items which we helped ourselves to from inside the sideboard cabinet, then a cooked breakfast. We loved the pancakes. For our lunches and other evening meals, we sat on the The Edge (I think you call it the Ledge in your description, so maybe they have changed the name). Non-residents can also eat here, but it was never busy and the service always good. Friday night is BBQ night where they carry the grill out onto The Edge, you pay 950 ksh for a huge plate of food - chicken, steak, prawns, calamari. A great atmosphere. We always took a torch out at meal times as it's quite difficult to see what you are eating.

The beach was always deserted - mainly because there are hardly any tourists and also because you need to have your wits about you to deal with the beach boys. We swam in the sea a few times and walked quickly back to the hotel, so they didn't bother us too much. We did get into a few conversations with them, but it was always on a friendly basis and they didn't pose a threat at all. We explained that we can't buy from all of them and they accepted it.

We attempted a walk along the main road, but again the sellers were there. We quite enjoyed bargaining for some animal wood carvings with our names on them They said we had to go back to collect them the next day and allowed us to take anything we wanted from there stall as security, so they obviously trusted us more than we trusted them. Sure to their word, the carvings were waiting for us the next day, with no more hard sell to buy anything else although they did ask if we had any clothes, magazines, suntan lotion we wanted to trade. I don't think people should worry too much about the sellers, since they are all friendly and good humoured and I think its all part of the experience.

We enjoyed using the pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. Everywhere was clean and well -looked after

On our last day, we had to vacate our room at 11am so they could get it ready for the next guests, but they let us use the room with the sea view until it was time to depart.

All members of staff offered excellent service, so I wouldn't like to single any of them out.

We managed to escape travellers' diarrhoea until our last day when Lucy and I succumbed. We didn't eat anywhere other than the hotel but we were tempted by their salads which we had previously avoided, which could have been the cause. To be honest I did expect to get it much sooner than we did, so I'm not blaming the hotel in particular. I know it can be contracted from swimming pools but they did clean and treat it every morning.

We didn't do any activities as I think we just wanted to rest after the safari, but Captain Rama did offer take us snorkelling. We just couldn't face another very early start.

A lovely, friendly little place, So glad we stayed here rather than the huge Diani Sea Resort which was the original plan.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Leics.

"Asha Cottage review"

6 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2014
"The evening meals by candlelight around the pool area were fabulous." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wimborne

"Peaceful oasis at Asha Cottage"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"A lovely quiet place to relax after a hectic safari. The whole experience was fantastic. The staff were so professional and friendly.

The beach was beautiful and enjoyed swimming and snorkelling." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Sheffield

"Asha Cottage review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2013
"Your road transfers (apart from Driftwood to Satao) were excellent - organisation first class.

Asha Cottage lovely.

Beach boys remained a problem - continual and never left alone, despite advice of befriending one or two!

Visited forest, monkey sanctuary - all interesting.

School on site - thus busman's holiday. Did go in for a morning and actually found it very interesting.

" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr C
London

"Asha Cottage"

6 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Location - beautifully landscaped, easy access to local shops, the dinkiest post office etc. Appreciated the shelf keeping a degree of separation from the beach proper. Enjoyed an evening watching daft film at 40 Thieves.

Rooms- stunning. We had the prime spot looking down at the sea.

Service- helpful, quietly confident and friendly which was welcome given we were the only guests for the first 3 or 4 days! Some lovely staff, showed us the stars (Mark the nightwatchman), taught us Swahili phrases (Godffrey the gardener). Gabrielle was in charge whilst John and Dominique were away. Stanley and Laurence always helpful. Eric the taxi driver really lovely, popped in with a CD of his favourite Kenyan music for us to take home after we'd been enjoying what he had on in the car.

Food - great and laid on loads of fish options when we showed enthusiasm for it. Lovley salad lunches.Head Chef was on leave but the doughty Beatrice was well up to the task. Prepared Jess a coconut to try.

Activities - Gabrielle organised Cpt Rama to take us snorkelling on the first day with clear sea, her treat. Also arranged us a day out at Shimba Hills via dmtours (driver Tommy Walker sings his own songs, quite a character) with lunch at the Shimba lodge, fish eagle overviewing us all. Day out in Mombassa, rain storms." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms C
Cheshire

"Relaxing Stay at Asha Cottage"

7 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2013
"We had a very enjoyable stay at Asha Cottage despite it being quiet in the Diani Beach area whilst we were there. The food was good and there was plenty of it and the 3 guys serving it all were very friendly. It is a very picturesque boutique location with a pool, a hammock and a beach front bar/dining area that is great for relaxing.

The only drawback whilst we were there was the number of beach boys trying to sell key rings etc. They are mostly polite and very chatty but when the beach is quiet as it was when we were there then it can get very annoying being hassled every time you want to walk along the beach or go into the sea.

The beach itself is stunning and it has a coral reef and Asha use a local boatman to organise snorkelling trips who seemed like he would be great fund although we didn't use that service as I am not keen on snorkelling.
" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-7 of 7
94%
7 reviews of Diani Blue by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kenya Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort

Pinewood Beach Resort is a relaxed resort-style hotel at the far south end of Diani Beach - an area known as Galu Beach.


87% (11 reviews)
Kinondo Kwetu

Kinondo Kwetu

Kinondo Kwetu is a small, owner-run, all-inclusive boutique lodge of exceptional quality situated on a remote stretch of beach south of the busier Diani Beach area.


96% (9 reviews)
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad is a good-value, laidback, family friendly resort with lots of Swahili character.


80% (5 reviews)
Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

The low-key and long-established Driftwood is a family-friendly, owner-managed, bungalow-style beach hotel on a beautiful stretch of sands just south of Malindi town.


87% (3 reviews)
Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas

Alfajiri Villas is an exclusive, owner-run, hideaway property consisting of three unique villas in a central part of the north end of Diani Beach.


100% (2 reviews)
Peponi

Peponi

Peponi is a long-established beach hotel, renowned for its good food, located in the village of Shela on the south side of Lamu island.


100% (2 reviews)
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

The Mnarari Club is located towards the seaward end of the beautiful Killifi Creek, and is an enduring favourite on the Kenya coast.


100% (2 reviews)
Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports

Ocean Sports is long-established and popular beach hotel right on one of Watamu's famous and beautiful bays.


90% (2 reviews)
AfroChic

AfroChic

Afro-Chic is a modern, Mediterranean-style ten-room boutique hotel on Diani Beach, with good food and a pleasant pool.


100% (1 review)
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge is a picturesque tree-hotel overlooking a forest waterhole in Shimba Hills National Park, with an aerial walkway and abundant wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort

Serena Beach Resort is a large beach hotel on Shanzu Beach, north of Mombasa town, on Kenya's Indian Ocean coast.


100% (1 review)
Kutazama

Kutazama

Kutazama is an owner-managed, boutique luxury lodge in the Shimba Hills in a stunning location overlooking the Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary.


100% (1 review)
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

Long-established resort hotel with a strong British following and a good reputation for deep-sea fishing.


80% (1 review)
The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island

The Sands at Chale Island is a beach resort offering plenty of activities and beautiful flora and fauna all around.


80% (1 review)
Kizingo

Kizingo

Kizingo is an owner-managed, rustic, barefoot beach lodge on the southwest tip of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Tamarind Village

Tamarind Village

Tamaarind Village is a well managed apartment complex close to Mombasa city, with excellent restaurants, pools and visitor services.


No reviews yet
Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer

Kipungani Explorer is a relatively large rustic beach lodge on the west coast of Lamu island.


No reviews yet
Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday's Mida Cove

Manfriday’s Mida Cove is a stylish beach lodge, suited to those who are sociable and will enjoy the engaging hosts and the convivial atmosphere they create.


No reviews yet
Che Shale

Che Shale

Che Shale is sand-and-palm-tree beach lodge of rustic bandas, dedicated to kitesurfing and chilling out, located on a remote and beautiful bay half an hour’s drive north of Malindi Airport.


No reviews yet
Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village

Diamond Beach Village is a rustic, owner-built, owner-run beach lodge, with simple rooms made from local materials, located where Lamu Creek meets the Indian Ocean.


No reviews yet
Manda Bay

Manda Bay

Manda Bay is a luxury beach hideaway in a remote corner of an island in the Lamu archipelago, on Kenya's northern coast. It has a huge range of water sports on offer.


No reviews yet
The Majlis

The Majlis

The Majlis is a modern 27-room resort hotel on the beachfront of Manda island.


No reviews yet
Water Lovers Beach Resort

Water Lovers

Water Lovers is a popular, low-key beach hotel in a central location on Diani Beach on the south coast of Kenya.


No reviews yet
Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach

Swahili Beach is one of the biggest resort hotels on Diani Beach, with a spectacular lobby and cascading swimming pool.


No reviews yet
House on the Beach

House on the Beach

House on the Beach is a comfortable family-size, private beach house with a large pool set by a cave complex, and a delightful garden leading down to the beach, in a secluded spot on Tiwi Beach.


No reviews yet
Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House

Msambweni Beach House is a secluded and luxurious boutique hotel on the southern Kenya coast, south of Diani Beach.


No reviews yet
Lamu House

Lamu House

Lamu House is a boutique hotel on the waterfront in Lamu town, with a swimming pool, bar and terrace restaurant.


No reviews yet
The Maji

The Maji

The Maji is a small, well managed beach hotel on the northern stretch of Diani Beach in southern Kenya.


No reviews yet
Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys

Funzi Keys is a remote beach property on its own private island on the far south coast of Kenya. Rustic in style, it will suit you if you cherish exclusivity over modern design.


No reviews yet
Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach

Tijara Beach is one of the smallest and quietest beach properties on Kenya’s coast, with a focus on rest and relaxation away from other tourists.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa