This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 151-160 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Miss & Mr D
UK

"Loved staying at Erongo"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2015
"Loved our stay at Erongo - possibly the best place we stayed. Walking activities - sundowner and morning hike (included) were really really good and made our stay.

Loved the outdoor but sheltered bathroom and the huge balcony but room was fully secure and felt safe. Enjoyed the drive from the parking area which you definitely needed a 4x4 for!

Food and restaurant was nice, staff welcoming and helpful - if anything we would have loved to stay an extra night here." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Where was the lift?!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2015
"A stunning location and a perfect end to our holiday. Not for the even more infirm as the slopes were steep and the walking could be challenging at times but the bird life was dramatic as was the scenery.

We really enjoyed Paula's Cave - thank you Eclesias! You were great fun and helped give my "engine and suspension" a good workout - you may even have deflated a spare tyre or two!

Thanks for the birthday cake for our son!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
backwoods!

"Magical Erongo"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"We only had one night here before driving to the airport for our flight home and we wish we'd had more!. The luxury tents are spread-out across a boulder strewn hillside and linked by wooden walkways, the whole thing is magically lit up at night. We even had boulders outcropping in our shower!

We independently walked over a kopje in the afternoon climbing high above the camp for amazing views of the landscape of pink granite. Dinner in the wooden dining room was served with care and prepared with skill.

We were up early for the drive to Windhoek and staff prepared a breakfast pack for us to eat on the way." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2015
"On our previous trip we visited Erongo for only one night, so we were looking forward to spending more time there with a two night stay. The tents had been refurbished since the previous trip and are now even better quality, with more space and ours had a big covered deck alongside.

We found the self-guided trail (Baboon rocks) impossible to follow but went on a guided walk the following morning and realised where we'd gone wrong - apparently the baboons move the rocks from the cairns. A fantastic walk through wonderful country with great views. We set off before dawn and so we could could appreciate the sky getting lighter and the sun rise above the distant hills.

We did the sundowner walk (as on our previous visit) and again appreciated the extensive views and the wonderful setting. A great place to round off the trip.

Open air dining was excellent." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The Keens
Connecticut

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2015
"The Erongo Wilderness Lodge was another fabulous place to stay. We regret that we only had one night there.

Huge rocks are scattered around the hills and the lodge giving it an "other-worldly" look. The tents are luxurious and the view stunning. They have great, scenic trails and a chance to see baboons and another animals near the lodge.

The staff was very helpful. We had to depart early in the morning to get to the airport and they made sure we have a bag breakfast and a ride to our car even though it was before their normal working hours. We want to go back there." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hungary

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2015
"The place is beautiful, the lodge is trendy, we really liked the design and we had an extremely spacious family room, that we really liked." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
C+M
Zürich

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"One of our best stays"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2014
"Well what a transformation has taken place here since our last visit (a few years ago) the new tents are very spacious with good outside areas,our tent even had a splash pool complete with shower unit.

The lack of many animals is more than compensated by the surrounding scenery , there are a few visitors to the waterhole other than baboons. Many different birds seen around the restaurant.

The staff here are very friendly from the manager to all of the staff without exception and the birthday greetings and cake for Maureen was much appreciated especially the vegetarian options. The food here was first class, altogether one of best stays, well done ERONGO!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Lanarkshir

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"Great place.

A unique setting and the tents and main buildings etc use the setting very well. Knowledgable guides and the emphasis on walks was just right for the location. All the staff wanted to share the place, the environment and any interesting happenings with guests and so would point out animals at the waterhole, talk about the stars, make comment about history or answer any other question with a proper conversation." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Wish we had stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"Beautiful setting without too much gravel road to reach it! Comfortable accommodation and good food in a lovely setting overlooking its own waterhole.

Sundowner walk is gentle, but very pleasant. Early morning walks worth doing and tailored to your needs." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 151-160 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (72 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


88% (12 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa