This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 161-170 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"An unexpected gem"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"We loved this lodge in a beautiful location, the sundowner walk, an excellent dinner under the stars and the early morning walk with Petros." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Great walking base, lovely staff"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"We chose Erongo for the hiking opportunities. These were very good - excellent guides and scenery. After early morning hikes we enjoyed lazing around the large comfortable lounge area. Food was very good and they were very accommodating for vegetarians (looking up recipes on the internet to discuss with us!).

Management were fantastic and lovely people . Their staff were truly delightful and the atmosphere was very special because of that .

Easy access for self drive - fast quiet tarmac from Windhoek then 10 k gravel road (leave your car at entrance if you have a 2 wheel drive and let them drive you up to the lodge). Onoruru pleasant town a short trip away." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Great start after 24 hours of travel"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Informed guide and well worth the stopover en route to Etosha. Bonus of an excellent morning walk before breakfast.

Best gift shop - value for money and range of goods on offer." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Erongo Wilderness lodge - a tent with a view"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2014
"We were worried that perhaps our final stay in Namibia should have been Okonjima, which was going to be such a hard act to follow, but no - what a delight. Erongo provided yet another fantastic location with yet another type of scenery that Namibia continued to surprise and delight us with. Our tent was lovely, very comfortable, and with a stunning view.

We enjoyed the pleasant little sundowner walk and the following morning thoroughly enjoyed being able to get up early and do all 3 of the walking circuits from the lodge independently. The sundowner drive including the trip to the cave paintings was excellent and we finally saw our remaining antelope, the klipspringer. A fitting end to an excellent holiday." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Midlothian

"Lovely - but you need to be fit!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"This was the perfect place to spend our last 2 nights in Namibia. After the excitement on Etosha and Okonjima, it was lovely to relax and enjoy this special place in amazing surroundings among the boulders. You need to have fitness here! Our fantastic tented room was set up the hillside, very private, spacious and well equipped. Lovely terrace.

The bar/dining area is up another set of steps and has lovely views of the spectacular scenery. Dinner was under stars on a terrace both nights and although it looked pretty with little lamps, it was too dark. And it limited conversation with other tables because you just couldn't see them! That's my only criticism really, better lighting over dinner outside.

The food was very good, a choice of options for the vegetarian and the chef even willing to cook something that G would like. Their breakfast stuffed pancakes were amazing.

We did the sundowner walk up the hill and a 40 minute walk was rewarded with the most amazing views and a cold beer and snacks carried by the guide.

Next morning we did the 3 hour morning trek, saw the sunrise, watched baboons, explored the massive boulder landscape and just before heading back for breakfast our guide brought out juice & snacks - an unexpected nice touch. Later that same day we did the sundowner drive which included a walk up to a cave with paintings - worth it but not for those scared of steep rock faces!

Really enjoyed our time here - wonderful food & service and the only other comment I would make is that you do need to have a good level of fitness and a sense of adventure as everything is on rock faces or hills." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"beautiful location and views, food very good" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Bristol

"Our favourite lodge."

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"The lodge is situated in a strange area of the Erongo mountains which resemble huge mounds of pebbles. Again, because we only had a 2-wheel drive vehicle, we had to leave our car at the foot of the mountains and be transported by safari truck up to our accommodation. We loved our 'tented' chalet which was large and luxurious and with an open-air bathroom.

The main building is built in a rustic style and decorated with local artefacts. There is a large bar area with a well-stocked bar and the terraced restaurant has views over a small water-hole as well as over the surrounding mountains with huge rocks seemingly poised to fall at any moment. But the piece de resistance is the cuisine! We had fantastic meals splendidly served on tables lit only by solar-powered lamps which allowed us to appreciate the marvellous sunsets.

We spent the day wandering round the surrounding area which is marked out in various walks. We could have gone on some walks with an experienced guide but the idea of scaling some of the surrounding peaks did not appeal to us!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Erongo wilderness lodge, life on the rocks!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"Such a fabulous setting it is always a pleasure to return, the tents are great , the food delicious and hospitality good.it is an easy and relaxed place to stay, the staff and guides are very informative.

Would have been nice if there had been an alternate morning walk available on our second day,for one not so able to scale the rocks though!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"This is a nicely situated camp, with the rooms located high up in the rocks. The rooms themselves are nice and comfortable, but the mosquito nets do not draw shut and there are mosquitoes in the camp, and in your own open-air shower.

The food here is excellent, among the best we had, and the staff are really lovely, in the restaurant and the guides. The scenery is similar to Damaraland, beautiful but not a revelation if you've already been up north. There isn't a great deal to do here, to be honest - there is practically no game, and the drive in the park is badged (accurately) as more of a nature drive than a game drive. - but we did see dik dik (quite tame), and a klipspringer or two high up in the rocks. There is a nice cave to visit with interesting early paintings.

The early morning hill climb is quite strenuous but a nice way to work up an appetite for the fabulous breakfast on your return to camp at 9.30 am. There are large numbers of rosy-faced lovebirds just outside the dining area. Dinner is taken outside on the terrace, at separate tables, and is great fun. Retire afterwards to the enormous boma for drinks with your fellow guests. If you're flying out of windhoek in the later afternoon or evening, it should be possible to stay just one night here and fit in both evening and morning activities.

Overall, this is a really nice camp, one of the best, and it was so nice for once to find a management team who were present, took an interest in their guests, and helped manage your stay. This style of active management was absent from all other camps on our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs S
Hants.

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Enjoyed our stay here very much, interesting environment ,good walks ,good guiding an excellant food.

Could easily have spent 3 nights here. Very cold at night but good warm duvets." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 161-170 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa