This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 171-180 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"Incredible place"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"Wow. One isn't quite sure what to expect as you pull up at the bottom of the hill to be met and transported up to the lodge but what an incredible place awaits you. the lodge manager gives you a personal welcome and talks you through the set up and other activities.

The rooms are simply incredible. Huge tented chalets with excellent appointments, big balconies and even a day bed outside. The view from each chalet is wonderful.

Meals are taken in the main building, from which the view is also amazing. We dined outside with a view across to a floodlit waterhole and had a superb meal accompanied by first class wine and service to match. It was a shame we only stayed here one night." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Maidstone

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Main differentiator here is the early morning walks (with Kules) to see mainly birds and also wildlife eg locusts, mongoose, dassies but no game.

Restaurant service here was excellent.

Not the best place to stay if you have trouble climbing up and down steps and slopes to your room and to the restaurant." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Erongo was as spectacular as we had hoped"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"We had a lovely welcome and all the staff and guides were excellent, friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic with a view of the mountains, all the activities and walks were well organised and very interesting.

Highlights were the sun downer walk and the visit to the cave paintings. All the food was of a very high standard and eating dinner out under the stars by the fire pit was memorable.

Overall a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G B & Ms F S
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"Possibly our favourite! Absolutely stunning location, amazing bungalows and main building, friendly staff, good food.

I would have sacrificed one night in Etosha to allow an extra night here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Top range lodge located in a stunning setting"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"The lodge is beautifully built into the surrounding mountains. The chalets were comfortable and spacious with large terraces. The staff were polite and friendly. The meals were delicious and the breakfast was served in a very customer friendly manner. The lodge is very much worth a visit.

The only issue was that as this was our last overnight stop before the return flight, we did not get to enjoy the fantastic location and the facilities as much as we would have wished. We did not take part in any activities organized by the lodge for the same reason.

We also felt that the lodge is too far from the airport to be a last stop in any itinerary." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"I think this was our favourite camp overall.
We loved the location and views from the three different seating areas that we had at our tent. The elevated position of the tents with none overlooking another was great.
Food was superb and staff very cheerful and helpful. Dining area and bar deck are in a great elevated position overlooking hills, bird feeder and waterhole.

Guided walks were good with knowledgable guides and a good pace.

Self guided 'map' very poor. Needs to be improved with more information on length of each walk and how they are way marked. We abandoned one as could not find pointers and made up our own walk on obvious trails.

Minor point; linen was looking shabby with small holes in bed sheets and towels but they were clean." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A, Ms S& family
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"We thoroughly recommend Erongo Wilderness Lodge. The drive up to the camp was part of the adventure as the 4x4 took on the steep climb to the foot of the lodges. Other guests without a 4x4 can leave their car parked safely at the bottom and are taken by the staff to the lodges.

This is a truly amazing place to stay with a swimming pool and restaurant built into the mountain. The lodges are a permanent tent each built into a mountain recess, each has it's own private space, an outside shower as well as a bathroom that is built from rock. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and offered choice for the vegetarians amongst us.

We went on the free sundown walk which was a highlight of our stay. You do need to be reasonably flexible as there is a little bit of scrambling to get to the top but it is well worth the effort. At the top you can drink your pre ordered drink (G&T seemed appropriate) as the sun set over the mountain range in the distance." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

The B family
Glasgow

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"Both the camp and surrounding scenery at Erongo are jaw dropping beautiful. All aspects of the camp are well thought out and the family room that we stayed in was enormous with a outdoor sitting area overlooking the mountains.

Walking in the surrounding area is well worthwhile whether with the guides or by yourself. Although the walks are short by combining them and walking or running them at different times of the day you can easily spend a few days here without leaving the camp. Many people that we met here were staying in Erongo for their last night in Namibia but personally the driving time to the airport is significant and it might be worth staying in or near Windhoek for the last night" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C & Mr R
Bristol

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"We spent 2 nights here. We chose to stay here as it was a convenient stop between the coast and Etosha rather than because it was somewhere we specifically wanted to visit. It turned out to be a great choice.

The scenery was very different to other areas we visited and we enjoyed the camp location on the side of a hill with great views. We did the sundown walk and an afternoon nature drive the following day both of which we enjoyed. Petrus and Koolas (?) were interesting and knowledgeable guides.. The rest of the staff were also very good, particularly Santos, with his knowledge of astronomy." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr
USA

"Spectacular location"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"What a great camp! Spectacular setting for both rooms and lodge.

Excellent guides that were very knowledgeable and excited to show us the area. Very, very good food" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 171-180 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa