This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 331-340 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2009
"We stayed three nights and had a tent/chalet higher up the hillside - guests staying 1 night often get the tents lower down we were told. The location is stunning and we had a great view from our tent. There are some wonderful walks, either guided or self-guided. Good walking shoes are required for the climbs up the rocks/boulders.

In two full days we did two guided walks, a nature drive and two self-guided walks. All of these were very interesting. Activities seem to be on a first come, first served basis and on our second day the nature drive was over-subscribed. The guides were very good.

The food is delicious and plentiful. Breakfast was particularly good, but frequently interrupted by love birds and other colourful birds. Dinner was frequently interrupted by porcupines!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"Wonderful location and a great place to chill. Walks excellent.
Sundowner drive a little disappointing based upon the cost.

Food was varied and of high quality.
Staff was extremely helpful and personable." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Notts

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"The place I didn't want to leave - highlight of the trip for me.

After over 7 hours in a car, I think we would have appreciated almost anywhere but Erongo was just a piece of paradise, hidden away up an awesome track and with animals right up to the door. Dassies everywhere - pure entertainment for hours just in front of our patio.

The way the camp is laid out gave a real sense of everyone being hidden away in their own private space, and the restaurant at the top of the hill gave a wonderful view out over the valley and appeared to be a magnet for such a huge variety of birds that my camera had to come to every meal. The waterhole lit up at night made sitting out with a drink or coffee an important part of the evening, even if it meant warm jackets and gloves.

Charlie, the guide for our 'flat, short walk before breakfast', was an absolute delight. He just loves his job and his enthusiasm and interest made it a wonderful experience, even though it certainly wasn't flat and we were back so late they had almost decided to move from breakfast to lunch. We would have loved an extra day here just to go exploring with him again.

The evening trip to the caves to see the rock art gave the feeling that we were the only people in this huge wilderness and again our guide was excellent, finding us troupes of baboons, klipspringers and amazing eagles and hawks - so difficult to spot in this landscape that it feels so rewarding when you do." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2009
"Lots of character again, and very striking location" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chelmsford

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"We were uncertain what to expect at Erongo, but like everywhere we visited in Namibia it surpassed our expectations. The setting is stunning, surrounded by wonderful mountain scenery which can be explored with an expert and friendly (no surprise here, every single Namibian we met was friendly!) guide. The "tents" are large and well equipped, all individually and privately sited. The birdlife is superb and we met small antelopes and a large troop of baboons on our walks. We also heard a leopard a few hundred metres from the site but didn't see one. We also found black rhino tracks but again no other signs. It's worth visiting for the sunsets alone." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2009
"I think that Erongo does not compare well with the other private lodges and on hindsight it would have been better for us not to stay there. This is mainly because of the tented accomodation and because it is about 3 hours from Windhoek airport.... We had a midday flight the next day, and had to leave early in the morning but they seemed unprepared for us to check out before 7am and this made us a little embarrassed..., it would have been impossible for us to make the flight if it had been earlier and I would suggest politely that EA take heed of this..... The last night would have been better in Windhoek then we could have enjoyed Erongo a little more.

The scenery was outstanding... Apart from that the other problem was that ,being winter,it was quite cold in the tents and because the bathroom was open to the elements, it was quite an achivement to have a shower first thing in the morning.

We opted for an afternoon nature drive on arrival and although the sundowner was in a wonderful spot, we did not see much apart from the occasional dik dik antelope and far off wildlife.

Overall, this place was a little too basic for us.." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr A & Ms B
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2009
"Erongo Wilderness Lodge was a great place to finish out trip. The staff were really friendly and interesting to talk to about namibia. The food was good with a varied selection both nights.

We opted to not go on a guided walk instead choosing to go on one of the excellently way marked walks offered from the lodge and visiting Omaruru an interesting town about 20minutes drive away.

The tented rooms were a bit cold overnight." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z & Mrs O
NL

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2009
"Beautiful tents, with bathrooms build in the mountains surrounding the lodge. Very tasteful! Excellent staff, very friendly! Food was also great and the porcupines and lovebirds in the vicinity of the main building were also a nice attraction.

The guided morning walk through the Erongo Mountains was great as well. The guide was a pleasant guy and the views from the Erongo mountains and the klipspringers we saw, were very much appreciated.

However all places we have stayed were excellent in their own way, this was possibly the nicest place we have stayed during our trip to Namibia." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2009
"Because of Namibian Airways terminating our originally booked return flight to Gatwick we ended up only having one night here instead of the two we intended and one night was certainly not enough. We really liked the location and the rooms and food and service were all excellent.

Because of our shortage of time we weren't able to do any of the guided or self-guided walks which we would have liked to do and which were included in the cost of our stay. We would certainly recommend this Lodge to others especially if you enjoy self-guided walks and would suggest 3 nights would not be too long if it fitted one's schedule." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Langley

"Hiking at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2009
"After extensive game viewing in Etosha Park, Erongo Wilderness Lodge offers a pleasant change of pace with a chance to go on guided or self hikes through some fascinating rock formations.

The multi course dinners were excellent, among the best we had in Africa.

The sundowner walk is not for those fearful of heights or those unable to do some uphill hiking. How much and when to tip guides was a bit confusing as we had more than one guide over the two days." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 331-340 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa