This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 341-350 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S & Mr L
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"A lovely location and not too far away from Windhoek for use as a first or a last stop.

We took advantage of a 'short' walk in the morning with a guide - short walk didn't really mean the amble we thought it was going to be; but never the less it was lovely. Our guide was so eager to impart lots of information on the local flora & fauna.

Again, as with most of the lodges, we would be more than happy to return. It's a lovely place to chill out before travelling home." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs G
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"This was my favourite lodge on our 2 week trip. The tented rooms were lovely, very well equiped with mini-bar, kettle for tea etc. and their homemade mosquito repellent was excellent. The stone bathroom was huge.

The guides, and in fact all the staff, are what made it so special for us. We did walks with Kulis, Charlie and Charles and they were all so friendly, helpful, interesting and very knowledgable. They explain everything along the way about the trees, plants, geology, animal etc. and they were all really good fun to spend time with.

The food was also lovely, the serving staff were really lovely and friendly.

A wonderful place to stay, I would highly recommend it and was sad to leave." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2009
"we were sad we only had one night here as it is in a stunning setting!

the food was lovely and the service excellent!! you really are in the wilderness here and sleep was a bit hard to achieve with the baboons and other animals running about!

having a mini bar was an excellent change from doro nawas and kulala!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J & Mr D
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2009
"The guides on the walks were very knowledgable.

The food was exceptional.

This resort really did tick all of the boxes, however if being separated from nature by canvass is too close for comfort this is not the place for you." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J x 2
Birmingham

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2009
"Wonderful! Definitely felt in the 'wilderness', surrounded by rocks, lots of birds and small animals. The tented accommodation was carefully sited so that you weren't aware of other tents and was very comfortable. In fact the layout of the Lodge was very well thought out.

The trip to Paula's Cave was outstanding - great guide and wonderful rock art." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms G
Aberdeen

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2009
"This is a delightful Lodge in a lovely location. We were given a very warm welcome and the lodge and facilities were described to us. The individual tented chalets are widely spread and so very private and secluded - our luggage had miraculously been deliverd to our tent before we arrived.

The tented chalets were very comfortable with both electric and candle lighting and minibar (we ended up with one of the two honeymoon chalets with a big double bed and a private terrace with a cold water tub). Wonderful open air shower and we enjoyed going to sleep with bright moonlight flooding in to our tent as we couldn't bear to close the "curtains"!

Lots of smaller wildlife around to see. This lodge is somewhat unusual in that a lot of guided walks are included in the DBB rate which is great. Excellent guides and wonderful sundowner walk where we saw baboons clambering over the rocks. Good early morning nature walk too followed by a great breakfast with weaver birds flying through the restaurant and lovebirds queuing up to be photographed just outside the wide, floor length open windows.

Main lodge area very comfortable and lots of nice touches (sculptures, small swimming pool with seats and towels on hand etc). Dinner good, only interrupted by watching porcupines shuffling just outside the open windows.

We would definately return here with a minimum 2 night stay (unfortunately, we only had one). Also very convenient for Windhoek airport (3.5 h)." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Jersey

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2009
"Unfortunately we drew the short straw with regard to the accommodation being the only tent/lodge with no view.

Experienced problems with no hot water despite assurances that this would be resolved.

Sun downer drinks venue and food excellent though." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Bury

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2009
"Although we were only there for one night we managed to get a good feel for the place.

Its a good place for walking, guided or unguided.

The accommodation is in luxury tents which are comfortable but whilst we were there the rock dassies were incredibly noisy at night which we saw as part of the experience but which some people may see as a problem if you were hoping for a quiet nights sleep .

The young manager and manageress were very friendly and welcoming.

The food was excellent.

Overall we had a good time here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Mar 2009
"We had a beautiful tented room here with a gorgeous view over the mountains.

Our only regret is that we only got to say one night, so weren't able to enjoy some of the activites on offer, but we did enjoy a sun-downer walk up to a look out point and a lovely sunset." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs M
Portugal

"Unusual bathrooms at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2009
"The accommodation is superb with large verandahs and quirky open air bathrooms built into the rock behind the tent/rooms.

You need to be fit here as the restaurant is a short but arduous walk from the rooms.

Excellent food and staff." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 341-350 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa