This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 371-380 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr V
Netherlands

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2008
"This beautifully located lodge is a little paradise. Very friendly and enthousiastic staff (hosts, guides, drivers as well as the staff in the restaurant !) and a wonderful area to stay.

Very beautiful nature! We saw for example porcupines here, and very big lizzards, many different species of antilopes and lots of 'dassies'.

The little pool near the 'breakfastroom' is also very nice: many species of birds can be found here, like the grey hornbill and many lovebirds. Very special too are the rockpaintings in a cave in the area." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Hall

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2008
"We only stayed one night and I wish we had stayed longer, about 2.5 - 3 hours from Windhoek it is a good place to start or finish, the views from the accomodation are superb, the trip to see the nearby rock paintings and the sun set over the mountains was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"This is a very beautiful place with excellent rooms. Friendly staff, particularly the guides who we always cheerful and thoroughly enjoyed their job. They were also very knowledgable. A good place to stop if you enjoy wildlife, particlarly birds and walking. The floodllight water holes provided alot of entertainment, as did the rock dassies. It was nice to see porcipines. Food was excellent with a choice of main." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Goshawk
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"scenery spectacular but would be a better place if more game was to be seen." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Pygmy Falcons
UK

"Excellent finish to holiday at Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"To finish our stay in Namibia we had 2 nights at Erongo. This was an excellent idea, the location was very good, in a montainous area of Namibia and we used the 4-wheel drive for the first time to get to the lodge.

Our room was very secluded, if a little cold with its outside washroom and shower, especially on the first windy evening. We went on one guided early morning walk, which was a little bit slow for us, and one excellent walk on our own to the top of the adjacent hill as the sun faded.

The welcome from Brian and Adele was excellent, and they, and all their staff, were very helpful. Birdlife was very good. A beautiful and peaceful end to our holiday." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Jacana family
Bristol

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"A pleasant wind-down to the holiday in a simple lodge with good walking in the area. The small mammals in the area included rock hyrax, dassie rats and porcupine, while there was a profusion of birds and (interesting) insects. Cute animals by day, but noisy at night and some visitors resorted to ear plugs to avoid nocturnal disturbance from the nearby hyrax.

Rooms simple and tents older than elsewhere on trip. For no apparent reason, a lavatory cistern cracked in one room during one evening and this was efficiently replaced the next day. Good walking with fascinating geology in area; eagle walk to top of nearby hill particularly worthwhile. Early morning guided tour pleasurable with guide offering a fascinating insight into local trees and plants." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Pelican family
UK

"Beatiful spot to end our trip"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"Lovely location and great facilities. Food first class.

Felt more like camping than any of our other stops - not a problem at all, except a strong wind and rather aging velcro meant a rather cold night with a lot of flapping canvas.

Strongly recommend the afternoon nature drive and cave visit, followed by a sundowner in a beautiful spot - stunning scenery and another excellent guide. We would have liked more time her to enjoy one of the longer morning walks." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Hyena
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"We were very pleased with our short stay here.

The walk we had on the morning of the day we left was not tailored to our (mainly birdwatching) needs as one of the guides who could have come with us was on transfer duty. So we were with people who mainly just wanted a walk. Our guide did his best as he was a birder so it turned out not too bad" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Aardwolves
Middlesex

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"We wish we had stayed 2 nights here - nothing can prepare you for the peace the outlook staff and location.

We loved the "tents" with the Dassi looking in.

Excellent guided walk and the staff were so friendly." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Suricate family
Hale

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2008
"Delightful "tents" and public spaces, the whole in a wonderful location but a fair amount of suppleness and energy needed just to get around the lodge!

The "easy" sundowner scramble stretched our older members to their limit, - tho' a G & T sitting in the " throne" made it more than worthwhile!

The guides were informed, patient and helpful and the overall operation thoroughly professional and friendly. We very much enjoyed our last overnight stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 371-380 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa