This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
namibia
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"All the staff and the manager were very friendly at Erongo. We did however feel it was showing its age.

I did not like the outside bathroom and toilet area. This area was part open to the elements, and I did get bitten a number of times at night. There was a lack of mosquito netting with the tents. There was no mosquito netting on the main glass door to the deck area, which would have been useful to have open for through put of air.

Although we informed the guide of a vertigo issue before a walk, we still ended up on a steep climb on the walk." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
New Forest

"Magical sundowner mountain"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Having read that guests were transported up to the lodge, we were surprised to be told to 'follow me'! In reality it is quite a short and easy drive - but you do need a 4x4.

As walkers, we really enjoyed the ability to give our legs a good stretch and thoroughly enjoyed one morning walk and two sundowner climbs with Gelasius who taught us so much about Namibian customs and culture along the way.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed some of the best food of our whole trip here. The dining terrace is hard to beat.

If you are leaving early to get to the airport, we can recommend the packed breakfast!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Gurinder & Jill
UK

"Sensational mountain retreat"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Loved it! Tent No 1 - wonderful, loved the ambience and the bathroom and the little visitors on the rocks each day (Cassies). Ranger walks were excellent, as was the game drive to see the cave art - like going back in time. Exceptional. The owner dropped in to say hello too and this was a nice touch. Service overall VG indeed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"An absolute joy in every way. Spectacular location, lovely rooms, good food, great staff and the freedom to walk alone or with a guide. If you want to stretch your legs and not spend too long in a vehicle then do visit this camp. Two days should be a minimum stay.

Beautifully scenic landscape and the drive up is not that bad, and perfectly easy in a 4*4, but don’t do it if you are a nervous driver! Do take the guided walks if you are reasonably fit; the guiding is great and views spectacular. It’s an easy walk to Laura’s cave to see the bushman paintings and that should not be missed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"Did the early morning walk, nice walk but our guide not really very informative.

Great view from restaurant of birds and we saw a rock python at breakfast on our last morning." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Fleet

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"A wonderful location hidden in a canyon. The final approach road is a challenge which you don't need to take. Very welcome small rock pool to cool off in. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom very simple but well designed and practical. The sundowner drive was quite gently - seeing the rock art was a highlight." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Could have stayed for a week"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2017
"A brilliant place to relax for a day or two and break up the endless action! Really warm welcome and great staff and guides throughout.

Stayed in a single family tent - effectively segregated into two 'rooms' by a drop-down canvas curtain. Spectacular setting amongst the rocks. Plenty of dassies and geckos around. A few baboon spiders to make the kids squeal!

Large flocks of birds around communal areas - including hundreds of lovebirds. Nice small pool.

Guided walks available each morning and at sunset. Very interesting in spectacular setting. Kids really enjoyed. Guides very knowledgable.

Very high quality food. Good kids menu if ordered in advance. It seems a shame to identify one of the kids' highlights of a country like Namibia as a meal - but breakfast was just that!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

"Fabulous location in Erongo Mountains..."

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2017
"A wonderful location to end a wonderful trip.

Doe and his wife provide a fabulous welcome to an amazing camp.

My wife and I had the 'honeymoon' lodge. Far from the centre of the camp with amazing views and many places to sit and watch the sun rise and set. The tented chalets were just perfect. We cannot understand a comment on Trip Advisor where people complain of gaps between wooden floorboards. This is a mountain region of Africa and there will be insects - not that we saw any!. It is not and never should be a sterile unnatural environment.

All food and wine was excellent and it is nice to get recommendations from Doe himself and understand a little about wine in Namibia. The dining room and small pool are in fabulous location and it was such a pleasure to use the facilities accompanied by a wide variety of birdlife.

This is a very special place. We hope it remains so. Do take the trip to Paula's cave. It's a highlight especially when coupled with a sun-downer. All staff and guides are wonderful - especially the fun sense that the guides bring to what they do whilst still being informative; special mention for Halacious (spelling?) who was tremendous fun and very informative..." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Kilburn

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge - great walking"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"We enjoyed our two night stay here en route to Etosha. We could happily have stayed an extra night. We really enjoyed being able to do our own walks and there are several excellent and well-marked routes. The walks are a brilliant way to start the day and getting to a high viewing spot for sunrise was magical. As well as the stunning scenery, we actually had some very interesting wildlife sightings on our walk as well. We chose to do the evening guided sundowner walk on both days which we also enjoyed - it was a nice way to meet the other guests.

The rooms and the setting of the camp are lovely. We did find our bed very uncomfortable though (much too hard for us).

We loved how they have a bird bath area visible from the restaurant. The meals were all excellent and delicious. Whilst we found the service at dinner both nights charming, it really was painfully slow." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
J Family
Washington

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"This was the best lodge of our trip. Its setting, nestled among and around huge granite boulders in the hills, is stunning and the entire construction of the place is a real work of love. Each cabin is individually sited among the boulders and trees and they are connected by swiss family robinson kind of walkways. It is very private and marvelously integrated with nature and the landscape. The bathrooms were literally built into the rocks adjacent to the tent chalets and you had a great sense of showering in private but half outdoors.

On top of that, the food was superb -- among the very best of our trip -- and the manager (Doe) was friendly, funny, welcoming and informative. His advice about a newly graded D road to Twyfelfontain was on the mark and probably saved us close to two hours of driving. As a general piece of advice to travellors, I would always recommend consulting with lodges about the best onward route -- we found that the best routes were often not those highlighted on the EA provided map. (That map, by the way, was a great resource. We had bought two other road maps and the EA one was consistently the most up to date and accurate).

Because we had only booked one night, we just had time for a morning hike on the Eagle Trail, which took us up a nearby mesa for some great 360 degree views and was one of the best hikes of our trip. Staff was also welcoming and friendly. If we were redoing our trip, the only significant change we would make would be to add a night at Erongo and reduce Twyfelfontain from 2 nights to 1.

Omaruru is a charming small town and there is a fantastic outdoor art garden if you can find a contact to let you in. Our lunch at the Main Street Cafe, run by a photographer and expat from Boston was excellent and highly recommended." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa