This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Stunning Landscape"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2017
"An amazing place with much more comfort than you'd expect. Great guided birdwatching.

General evening drive well worth the extra payment. Lots of trails to walk on your own. Great desserts.

Thank you for recommending this one!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss S
UK

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"Possibly our favourite place and wished we had stayed longer.

Lovely tented rooms with loads of space and generous outdoor decks/seating. Guided walks were free and well staffed. Very good food. The whole design and ambience of the camp is superb - we were welcomed by Dhow (manager?) who was an excellent host.

A really nice place." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Wonderful experience amongst the granite boul"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"This property is well camouflaged amongst the hills and boulders of this area and the chalets are well designed and equipped but enable you to feel you have had an authentic experience. We were in No 10 which was extremely quiet at the periphery of the property and enjoyed wonderful views and breathtaking sunsets.

The baboons pass a short distance away from this chalet at dawn and are quite a feature of this whole property. There are self guided walks which were a relief from all the driving. Most places during our trip advised against walking alone for all sorts of reasons (animals, scorpions and snakes and just getting lost).

We had some of the most consistently good food at this venue and a very good wine list. The local town is popular with craftspeople and artisans but sadly we didn't have time to explore.

This is a very good option to shorten the drive back to Windhoek but if you are driving straight to the airport for a midday flight then you will have to leave very early as the roadworks on the outskirts of the capital are a problem." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Gabriola Island

"great finish to our trip at Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2017
"This is a truly wonderful camp, amazing location.

The focus is on hiking and the tours were well planned." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Canmore

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2017
"The short guided hikes were enjoyable.

We went on one hike on our own and were not advised that the return portion of the trail had not been cleared of 3 foot high grass. The directional markers were on stones on the ground and could not be seen.

We were never lost but to bushwhacked for 3 km to get back to the lodge." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr B & Mrs C
Glasgow

"The free guided walks were superb."

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"Wonderful big tent set in the huge boulders . Free guided walk - to top of baboon kopje - was very interesting . Guide excellent with stories of growing up in Namibia at frequent rest stops!

Superb game for moonlight dinner on deck . Staff friendly . Breakfast tray brought to table was a full continental - cold meat , cheese , home made bread , yoghurts . Dassies ( Rock Hyrax?) , lovebirds , baboons and loads of lizards!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Seattle

"What a wonderful way to end our trip!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"We truly enjoyed our two night stay at the Erongo Wilderness Lodge. We were fortunate enough to get the "honeymoon suite", which is worth the longer walk from the reception area. The lodge as a whole is set up beautifully within the rocky wilderness. We had a 2WD SUV vehicle (Ford Everest) and were able to get up to the main area without that much difficulty.

The dining area provides a picturesque setting to go with the delicious food. The meals were up there with the best that we had on the trip, particularly the breakfasts. I'm still thinking about those savory and sweet pancakes!

The highlight of staying at the Erongo Wilderness Lodge for us was the guided activities. We loved our long walk in the morning with Kulis. He was very knowledgeable of the area and quite entertaining. His love of the area where he grew up is evident when you spend time with him on these walks. We also went on an afternoon drive to Paula's Cave, which was an enjoyable way to wrap up our day after a long walk in the morning. During both excursions, we saw different birds and wildlife, though no leopards this time around.

Overall, we highly recommend this lovely lodge and be sure to utilize the guided activities while there!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mikel
USA

"Finally, you can walk and hike here!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"After spending most of the week at reserves closer to Etosha and the park itself, we were really happy to be able to go for walks and hikes on our own (we could not in the others due to the carnivores). There are some hills you can climb and good hiking trails. The service and food is excellent. The tent cabins are really nice and the bathrooms quite interesting. The tents do get really hot during the day while the sun is out, way too hot to rest in, even with the fans at full blast. However, the lodge has a nice setting on top of a rock and having a straw roof is much much cooler. The pool is small but very refreshing. This was a great place to recuperate on our feet after spending way too much time in the car around Etosha." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"wonderful tented cabins amongst the rocks"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2017
"The tented chalets were a highlight and we loved sitting on various terraces looking at the views. The staff were uniformly helpful and welcoming.

Our guided nature walk was a treat and we leant a great deal.Great for birds.

Food was excellent, the pool was lovely." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C-J
BC

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2017
"The personal welcome and amazing uninterrupted view from our tent perched on the side of a kopje made us so disappointed we were staying only one night.

We thoroughly enjoyed all we could while there. The pool was refreshing, the natural bird bath, strategically placed just beside the restaurant, was a gift to birdwatchers, and the location for Sundowners, which was a physical challenge to attain, atop a kopje, was rewarding.

Our morning guided nature walk before we left was filled with new information and reasons to return. We followed the trail of an ardvark hoping to see him, and had the landscape, flora and fauna explained.

This Lodge is close to Windhoek and we have advised our friends there to make sure they visit." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa