This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Etosha Aoba
Onguma Etosha Aoba
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Reviews of Onguma Etosha Aoba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Etosha Aoba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Etosha Aoba.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

50% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Brown Hyena

50% success

Eland

50% success

Elephant

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"A more traditional and older place than those in which we had stayed previously, and as such, the rooms seemed small. However, objectively, they were perfectly spacious and the facilities were good with a very fine pool. T

he welcome from staff and management was very friendly and the food excellent. There were walking routes recommended for unguided strolls and a hide available overlooking a waterhole some distance from the main complex as well as one near the bar/restaurant area.

The whole aura was one of relaxation and calmness, with none of the 'corporate' and 'health and safety' focus of the contract run lodges. After the evening meal, with which there was an excellent choice of wines, the female staff performed several songs with evident pride and enjoyment, which were well received.

Overall an excellent stopover." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2009
"The accommodation was very servicable, the people welcoming and charming, the wine good (they had an extensive well priced list), Good food was served for everyone, at the same time, in the open air - blankets provided if needed. The swimming pool looked very welcoming.

It might be better for the staff to perfom their welcome after the meal, as those of us who had spent the day in Etosha were ready to eat at 7.00.

There are 2 entrances to the lodge, both have a drive of about 10ks - we managed to mis the one just outside the Etosha gate on the right as the name of the 'company' is more prominent than the name of the lodge." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr R & Dr M
UK

"a nice lodge even though outside park!"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2009
"we didn't do much in our one night here....having just left Etosha at the last possible minute.....but I must say the rooms and hospitality were excellent.

eating outside in the wood at night was memorable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr Z & Mrs O
NL

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2009
"The Etosha Aoba Lodge is situated quite close to the east entrance of Etosha National Park, however the drive through the bush from the main road is quite a long drive. The location, however, is beautiful.

The lodges are spread through the forest and breakfast and dinner are served on a nice, peaceful place behind the welcoming main building.

It is a convenient place to use as a base for game driving in the Etosha National Park, as well as an excellent place to relax after all your experiences in Etosha." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr M,P&Mrs L&H
UK

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"This was a lovely quiet camp, the right location for visiting etosha and very friendly staff, especially Elizabeth who cooked lovely meals and also sang with other staff, whilst we ate our evening meal. Lovely rooms very quaint and had every thing we needed.

A nice water hole in which impala came by early morning whilst we were eating breakfast." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Epsom

"Excellent Venue"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2009
"This was one of the highlights - we stayed 2 nights, one either side of 2 nights at Halali, I wish we had stayed longer. The bungalowas are excellent, as is the bar & dining area, and facilities generally. A perfect spot to relax for a couple of days after a busy time tracking around Etosha." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Bury

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2009
"From the minute you arrive at this camp you are made to feel at home. The young host and hostess work very hard to make everything perfect for your stay.

The food was wonderful and all the staff sing for you before you eat your evening meal its magical.

Its position just outside Etosha is perfect." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Damara Dik Diks
UK

"Superb lodge set deep in wooded area"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"Arrvied at dusk, feeling excited as we had spotted a cheetah on the drive to the lodge. It is a VERY LONG DRIVE too! But arriving when we did, added to the ambience! We were greeted very warmly and offered cool drinks and the dim lighting and sitting in the amazing thatched room, was all very memorable.

Our rooms in thatched "cottage-bomas" were perfect. For us, it was different to be in such a wooded, enclosed environment. Quite a change! Our sons were desperate to spot animals (even though they had seen many in Etosha!) and so headed off to the waterhole next morning at dawn. None seen bar various deer but they were after cat sightings! Lovely eating area at this lodge close to another waterhole where various animals came. It was lovley to eat outside and to have fires lit outside too. The food was really excellent and we wanted this to be passed onto the local cooks. Also much appreciated the staff singing - as at Kulala this made it more personal for us and we liked this. More of this would be good.

We took a sundowner drive with Sam(?) and it was very good. We had spent a lot of time in Etosha so didn't need to return there. Our sons loved the animals there but we all needed to rest a bit . Etosha Aoba was a wonderful place - cool, dark interiors and very helpful staff and a setting so different to the other lodges and a personal feel to it. Not like it was part of a big group. It would be interesting to have the story of how it became a lodge written down for guests to read. We always wanted to find out the history of a lodge, how it began life, who ran it and if the local Namibians worked there and how they felt. So notes on each lodge at each lodge might be worth suggesting!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Water dikkops
Calgary

"GREAT"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2008
"This stop was another of your suggestions Tracey. We loved it! GREAT ambiance!!!

The "dining" room in particular was great!

The sunset drive was also great! However, I would suggest they move the sunset viewing spot to somewhere where there are some interesting trees to include in your sunset photos that we all scampered to take. Where we were there was only a fence and flat horizon to include in your shot.

Poo spitting was fun!
Excellent guides!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Caracal party
London

"Very well run lodge near Etosha"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2008
"Etosha Aoba Lodge is lovely (and we saw a Caracal on the way into the lodge in late afternoon), very well run by a young German couple who manage the place.

the food was excellent and they were very helpful (gave me internet access for a reasonable cost), we had a Kudu join us at the waterhole for breakfast.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 32
89%
32 reviews of Onguma Etosha Aoba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
6
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa