This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp


18°42’8.0"S 17°2’36.2"E

Reviews of Onguma Tree Top Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tree Top Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tree Top Camp.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

55% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Giraffe

85% success

Eland

45% success

Elephant

45% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

20% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Wonderful tree house"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2016
"The accommodation here is wonderful with the open, well appointed room overlooking a well frequented waterhole. Lying in bed listening to the night bush sounds is the most magical experience and this camp is perfect for it.

All the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food cooked in front of you is excellent and imaginatively presented. The ambience of the common areas and the communal dining table makes for a great opportunity for sharing stories and conversation with other guests

We did both a night drive (not advertised or recommended by the camp, but at our request), and an excellent sun-downer drive (shared with 4 guests from tented camp), and Justin the guide on both occasions was both friendly and very knowledgeable.

Whilst there is no swimming pool at Tree Top, we were invited to use the facilities at the nearby Tented Camp where we also had an excellent lunch.

This was the second time we had stayed at this camp. It was our favourite on the first trip and remained so on this. Our only regret was that we only stayed 2 nights this time." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Romsey

"A little piece of paradise"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"Fantastic peaceful location - the rooms overlook a beautiful setting.

The food by Erasmus was wonderful. The lunch that we had was simply superb. I could not fault it.

All the staff at the camp were attentive. The morning of the day we arrived a lionness had killed a baby giraffe outside our tree top chalet. She had dragged it away from the lodge, but she was still visible from two of the chalets while she was sleeping. One member of staff had spotted her sleeping and came to fetch us so we could go look at her.

We did the morning bush walk which enabled us to get close to a giraffe and we learnt a lot about termites. We did feel we could have learnt about more varied things on the walk. We also did the sundowner tour which was nice..

The rooms are beautifully done and the outdoor shower worked well. It was nice to eat round a big table with all the other couples at dinner time and get to know them.

A lovely little camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Charming small camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"A lovely small camp. The tents overlook a waterhole which was fairly quiet while we were there but an attractive view. At night we could sleep with the front completely open so could look out and see the stars. Hot water bottles were provided which nicely kept our feet warm. The tents are very comfortable. Staff were charming and service was excellent.

Food was superb! The best we had on the whole trip. Erasmus, the chef, prepared meals worthy of a high end restaurant.

We only took one activity: a walk one morning which was good. The rest of the time we did our own game drives into Etosha." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Hereford

"Onguma Tree top - exceptional"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"A wonderful experience - just loved watching the comings and goings at the waterhole from our tree top room - no need to go anywhere. Service was excellent, as were the meals served up by chef Isak.

Took 2 tours - night tour and sunset tour. Tours very dependent on guide - night tour disappointing but sunset tour was excellent because the guide Eric was so knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Sweden

"Very relaxing"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Quiet and intimate place and very nice to relax in your own armchair or in bed with a waterhole view.

Not much wildlife, but that doesn't matter as Etosha is nearby.

Maybe the bungalows are a bit to close to each other, but if you have quiet neighbors you don't hear them." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Halifax

"On stilts by the water hole"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2014
"Small camp on stilts right next to a waterhole, where we saw giraffes, hyenas, gazelle to name just some of the wildlife.

Excellent company at dinner - just 8 guests in total here.

Good bush walk with guide Peter, who pointed out not just the larger sights, but smaller things that might go unnoticed e.g. 'Sand Lions' - we found a couple of ants and fed them to the Sand Lions in thier tiny desert homes. Also learned more about the termite mounds which are numerous in this area." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms A
Australia

"Ah, Onguma"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"Onguma was our little flutter of more upmarket lodge and it did not disappoint and we loved it. From our check in to departure it was fantastic. The 4 safari tents only hold 8 people and are beautifully positioned in front of a waterhole. They can be left open at night with the canvas flaps up or you can lay in your bed which has been turned down and warmed by a hot water bottle and gaze onto the waterhole with a brilliant full moon. Gorgeous.

Some people were nervous of the open tent but you are well above the ground and there is no problem in my opinion. A little more rustic than the Tented camp which looks really lovely.

A small but fantastic staff with David, Simon and another man who met us first and his name has deserted me but it did start with Skl - - - I have not mentioned Erasmus ,the Chef yet. The food would would have graced ANY 5 star restaurant anywhere. Every meal was magnificent as were the packed lunches we took into Etosha. We loved the pre and post dinner by the fire chatting to our fellow guests We did all our own drives into Etosha so did not use their activities." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Sydney

"Onguma Tree Top review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"Wow what a treat !!! this was by far a touch of luxury and a wonderful place to stay. It provided another level to the great mix we had of camps.All camps had unique personalities and this one was outstanding.The setting was gorgeous, a little scary at first with open tent over waterhole but we left the flap up on night one and didnt put it down even when the lion was roaring!!!! Great experience, the sunrise from bed was unforgettable.

the bungalows are well appointed, clean great linen and warm during the chilly nights, the outdoor shower was fun once we worked out the hot water supply!

highlight of this camp along with many was the food and staff the three men were absolutely amazing, service was tops and Erasimus in the kitchen is a legend. I wanted to bundle him into my suitcase and bring him home to my kitchen!!! Access to Etosha excellent and we enjoyed the whole experience." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Although the camp itself is in a beautiful location, it is isolated, and if you have already visited Etosha, which we had, it is difficult to think of further activities.

However, the staff were excellent, as was the food." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs V
Avon

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"We had a private transfer from Andersson's camp to Treetops. The vehical was an open 4x4, which made for a long very dusty drive ( not too good for somebody with breathing problems). However, even though it was a transfer, the driver went out of his way to make sure we saw more animals as we passed through Estosha. Apart from the dust ( and driver did his best to minimise the dust) we enjoyed this transfer more that the previous day's activity in Etosha.

The bugalows were as anticpated and well equiped.

David and the chef at Tree Tops were very attentive, welcoming and good hosts. One evening we had a bbq where it seemed an exceptional quanitity was cooked. However it was all very good. Choices were available at other meals all of which was cooked well and presented nicely. There was a very good choice for breakfast and the chef was happy to cook a variety of options for each of the guests.

Given that we had spent the previous days in Etosha we only did one activity (the Rinho drive) and spent the rest of the time relaxing. If you do not have a car the actual activities are somewhat restrictive." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 42
97%
42 reviews of Onguma Tree Top Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
4
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa