This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp


18°42’8.0"S 17°2’36.2"E

Reviews of Onguma Tree Top Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tree Top Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tree Top Camp.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

55% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Giraffe

85% success

Eland

45% success

Elephant

45% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Roan antelope

30% success

Black Rhino

20% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D & Ms F
London

"One word: Perfect"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2013
"The concept is great, the camp very small and the food amazing for such a remote location.

We stayed only one night but it is well worth staying longer should you want to take a few days to rest." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs KP & Mr P
Dorset

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"Lovely, felt cut off and peaceful. Food good. Ate at big table, like a dinner party. Very good food.

The night drive was a bit pointless - saw one serval cat - but we did go over to the tented camp to see a lioness and her cubs who had taken up residence." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Tree top in Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2013
"This place is just wonderful - a real bush experience. The tree house was brilliantly constructed and room facilities terrific. Overlooking the waterhole (complete with a pair of sleeping lions for much of the stay) we could sit on the deck for much of the day just watching the animals and birds, with periodic wanderings along the walkway to the lovely lounge/bar/restaurant area for a drink or light lunch.

The staff here were brilliant too. Very personal and attentive service, food beautifully cooked in the open kitchen and presented personally by the chef. Nothing too much trouble for them.

We went on both a night drive and a sundowner drive here, and both were excellent. The guide was great and the variety of animals (and snakes!) spotted impressive.

Sleeping in the tree house with the front open and the sounds of the night was awesome. Being woken by lions roaring or hyenas cackling was a terrific experience. Our only regret was that we didn't spend longer here." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hants

"Amazing bush experience at Onguma Tree Top"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2012
"We had very high hopes for this camp and weren't disappointed. The rooms are fabulous - quite small but perfectly formed and the ability to just sleep under a mosquito net with the front of the tent open listening to the sounds of the bush is definitely an experience not to be missed. We were able to watch a variety of animals including warthog, impala, zebras, wildebeest, kudu and even a lone giraffe from our bed, terrace and shower. We were advised by the staff that a close encounter with a snake on the terrace was nothing to worry about!

Rooms are not overlooked and the camp is well designed so that all can see the waterhole but are only a short walk from the dining and communal areas. Staff were friendly and welcoming and on our first night food was cooked over the Braai in front of us and we were lucky enough to have the camp to ourselves on the second night.

Although the camp is located in a private game reserve, it was clear from the views of the guide that Etosha is still the big attraction in the area. We had a very pleasant sundowner drive around the reserve but wildlife viewing was limited although the sunset and G&Ts were spectacular. We also took the morning drive back into eastern Etosha and despite a slow start were ultimately rewarded with a fantastic close encounter with an Elephant and views of a lioness hunting warthog and kudu (unsuccessfully!).

All in all this place is as a must do!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs K
UK

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2012
"A wonderful relaxing location for the latter stages of our trip.

The cook was excellent, but in comparison to Ongava the place lacked a bit of professionalism. We couldn't fault the enthusiasm, but - the cooking apart - we found the staff a little amateur. We did a game drive, which was not of the standard of others we did in Namibia - guide very difficult to understand." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Sidcup

"Great staff at Onguma Tree Top"

3 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2011
"We were the only guests at the camp and the staff were very anxious to please. We had a great time on the drives and probably saw more game in the local area around the camp than we saw in the Etosha.

The food was very good and our tent had a wonderful view of the water hole." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Wales

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"The entrance to this camp is vitually directly outside Von Lindequist Gate on the left. Wonderful welcome from MarKus, who was a genial host throughout. Only 4 rooms, uniquely built among the trees with a wonderful view of a waterhole. Great food and service.

We did an afternoon, morning a night drive with an excellent guide, Justin." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"A lost battery and a leopard kill."

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"This is a very specail camp with a friendly atmosphere, excellent staff and beautiful rooms. The food is stunning and the view equally so.

Our time here was a little hectic as one of us had to drive back to Ongava (350 Km round trip) to retrieve a lost battery charger - a fantastic days drive that took 8 hours owing to the time spent at the excellent waterhole activity in Etosha.

The others were treated to a leopold killing an impala, so a pretty good day alround. The activities at Onguma are varied and the staff very enthusiastic - certainly aplace I would like to re-visit." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs K
UK

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Lovely setting. Nice place to relax after driving round Etosha.
Staff very friendly and food excellent.

Guide knowledgable, but not good at judging his audience. In drive round the private reserve, there were too many stops and his explanations were far too detailed.

A few doubts about the operation of the reserve. They've bought in some black wildebeeste, but they haven't thrived. We were told later that they also had problems with a rhino, which had to be sold on." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & family
USA

"Onguma Tree Top review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2010
"We had a short one night stay at Onguma en route to Etosha. Our night game drive was an excellent experience, particularly tracking a group of lions in their courtship ritual, as well as sightings of many other smaller carnivores.

The elevated tents are excellent, well designed and highly functional, with an excellent view of a large active waterhole.

We enjoyed our meals very much but unfortunately arrived relatively late and left quite early to continue into Etosha so could not sample the reserve's daytime activities." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 42
97%
42 reviews of Onguma Tree Top Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
4
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa