This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Homestead Outpost
Desert Homestead Outpost
Desert Homestead Outpost
Desert Homestead Outpost
Desert Homestead Outpost
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost


24°37’20.7"S 15°53’54.1"E

Reviews of Desert H-stead Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert H-stead Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert H-stead Outpost.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

29% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Wildebeest

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L
Leicestershire

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"Everything perfect.

Had a great and interesting visit to the dunes with their guide Johannes.

Nothing to do with Desert Homestead but the toilets out at the dried up lake at the dunes were absolutely disgusting." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mike
Oxford

"A Real Outpost!!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"What an amazing place! Driving the 7km along the approach road with nothing in sight until you turned the last corner as a couple of Oryx wandered past was magical. The accommodation was spectacular with expansive views towards the distant mountains.

With two outdoor sitting areas including a lovely private deck it was just a pity not to have more time to simply sit and take in the view. Keeping cars well away from the accommodation is excellent, but it does mean quite a bit of walking - which didn't worry us!!

Food was excellent and the staff very friendly and happy. Dining out under the stars with just solar lamps was a lovely experience.

Being located some distance from Sesriem and Sossusvlei did mean a 06.30 departure but we still had a good day out in the dunes. Climbing Dune 45 was quite an experience." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Desert Homestead Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2019
"Our view: 9/10. A wonderfully isolated place overlooking an enormous plain with large hills behind. An interesting ‘sundowner’ platform but a steep path to get to it and very windy at the top. Very good room, a good size, modern, well appointed. Dim lighting in room. Pool area was very nice and food very good. Service was very good. Good WiFi but only at reception. Bed too hard. Best so far, and there was only us and another couple staying! We were there in March." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Desert Homestead Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2018
"This is a fantastic desert camp near Sesriem (40 minutes drive to the national park gate). 7km off the road in a stunning location.

The tents were beautifully and luxuriously decorated with fantastic views from the two decks and outdoor shower (there is an indoor shower too). The lodge and pool were beautifully designed and relaxing.

Food was excellent and the staff were lovely. We had oryx walking past our tents. A convenient place to visit Sossuvlei.

We also did an evening sunset drive to see the scenery on site." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

5 sightings

Mr A
Somerset

"Desert Homestead Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"A WONDERFUL LOCATION WITH AMAZING VIEWS" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A and A
Cossington

"Great base to go to Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Desert Homestead outpost is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner spot, and a nice dinner and breakfast.

The lodge do a trip to the dunes which we only took to let someone else do the driving, but the guide was knowledgeable and had full access to all the various locations. Recommended.

We had a couple of problems while we were there - a slow puncture which they reinflated before we had noticed it ourselves and then guided us to the nearest repair centre, and we left a Kindle behind which they sent on to us, having contacted the local agents to get our itinerary. Great service!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"A hidden gem"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"This was our favourite lodge. The publicity says it enjoys a stunning location, and this is absolutely true. It is 7.5 km from the nearest road out of sight of all other signs of human habitation, looking across to attractive distant hills. We thought we couldn't get further away from 'civilisation'; where we could almost ‘hear’ the silence, and see the stars in all their nighttime glory.

The wonderful location is backed by the superb level of service, friendly, helpful, well thought out. We appreciated too, the way that the individual chalets blended into the landscape and maximised one’s enjoyment of the view and, also, how the management have sought to impose as little damage on the environment as possible with virtually all the electricity coming from solar panels with battery back up, and all hot water from solar radiators.

It is 40 km to the park entrance to visit Sossusvlei which opens at sunrise and where, for an hour or so afterwards, the dunes look their most impressive. We had anticipated driving there ourselves but were pleased we chose to go. with 7 others. with the tour offered by the lodge, and got to the gate in plenty of time. We wish Chris and Lauren every success. A wonderful place." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Cheltenham

"Fabulous place and in easy reach of the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2018
"Such an incredible place. We LOVED it. Such a peaceful setting and within easy reach of the dunes but a wonderful haven to return to. We wish we could have stayed longer.

The couple managing here were genuine and very helpful. We did have a problem with the windows in one of the rooms which was a shame. They were waiting for material to replace them but it meant that the window was fixed closed which stopped the air flow. The manager sadly thought he'd mended it but it was the wrong room!

We did the trip to Sussessvlei from here with Simon. He was very knowledgable, pointing out lots we would have missed if we'd tried to do the trip on our own and we were very well looked after. The trip even included a picnic on a table at the dunes.

We also went to Desert Homestead to do a sundowner ride. (We were glad we chose "Outpost" even though it was a 7km drive off the main road). The horses were well looked after and the guides who accompanied us good fun. We were glad we chose to do the riding here, as the scenery was lovely and we wouldn't have had the opportunity later in our stay. It did mean we had a busy day, Sussessvlei early and a late ride!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr M
Wakefield

"Tranquil location"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2018
"A beautiful property but the location was a bit too far from Sossusvlei for my taste. It was a very long drive to get to the dunes.

We were in Chalet 8. The view was great but it had limited clothes storage facilities and was quite a walk from the main building.

Breakfast was good but the service was slow and on the second morning was a bit slapdash. For example the woman who opened up (slightly late) for breakfast didn't say anything, she didn't leave any milk with the cereals and I had to plug in the toaster myself. Small points I know but telling ones for the quality of accommodation it promotes itself as being." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Amsterdam

"Desert Homestead Outpost, Superior Unit stay"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2018
"Wonderful stay in the Superior Unit: spacious, very private, felt like our own desert palace, at quite a distance from the main lodge however.

We choose the all in package which included all meals and drinks and two private excursions: a sundowner and a day tour to Sossusvlei.

Our guide Simon did an excellent job on both occasions and shared a wealth of knowledge about life in the dessert, showing us little details about plants and animals that really make you understand how special this area is." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 19
97%
19 reviews of Desert H-stead Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
16
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa