This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"The Perfect Finale at Wolwedans"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"A spectacular location, excellent guides, high quality of service and food and good choice of activities. 5* all round and an excellent finale to our amazing trip.

More wildlife than we were expecting, many oryx sightings from the room and jackal, cape fox and polecat all seen whilst walking to the main lodge! We recommend the day drive to experience the different aspects of the Namib Rand, the walk with San guides and horse- riding for a different way to experience this unique environment; all included." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2019
"Although we (slightly) preferred the Dunes Camp this was an excellent lodge too.

Amazing elevated setting with lovely public areas." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs F.
Paris

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2019
"the suite was marvellous but...no WIFI...and the butler didn't do his job about private swiming pool ...not clean at all...the cooker was perfect and the guide also" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr D.
Egham

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We arrived relatively late on our first day, but the personal greeting at reception was very welcome after 500km of driving.

The location of the lodge is incredible and the views and colours have to be seen to be truly appreciated. Everything was as described and the guide we had was excellent. The service and the food was all good and it is difficult to fault any part of our stay.

The evening drive through the southern part of the Namib Rand nature reserve was a real highlight, finished by a spectacular sunset. The lodge is expensive, and you don't get fantastic facilities but the location is what you are paying for here and in our view it was worth it.

It does get cold at night so if you want the sides of the unit rolled up at night so you can watch the sun rise, be prepared!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr J.
London

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Unfortunately our stay was severely affected by very cold weather and our room was not up to coping with it. I'm sure it's a very nice place to stay if the weather is warmer but with cold weather, we couldn't have the tent flaps open and consequently our room felt very gloomy.

Wolwedans area was very attractive but (not their fault) the weather made a huge difference to our experience there. Our sundowner on the first day was really quite an unpleasant experience, both waiting for the sun to go down and the drive back to the lodge. -Freezing. Two nights would have been sufficient.

The included white wine was poor." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

T & T
woodside

"Super awesome!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2018
"This place is a bunch of superlatives. The setting with the orange dunes is spectacular. Just the drive in is interesting as we saw Oryx, Ostriches and Jackal.

We parked and were welcomed and got a ride up the hill to the lodge. We had our own cabin/tent which opened up on a spectacular view. Meals are communal, very tasty, and with excellent company to chat with. Due to the odd stormy weather the nights were intense with incredible thunderclaps and wind, but by morning it would always clear.

We went out an excellent excursion, saw zebras and red hartebeast and oryx and Springbok. The landscape is iso incredible with the blue-green grass, the camelthorn trees and the red sand. In the evening we did the sundowner and became fascinated by some unusual flowers. The storm had caused a sudden greening of the landscape. Just an excellent experience -- the setting, the activities, the accommodations and the staff.

One has to have a ton of respect for Albi Brueckner -- and his vision both for this place and for Namibia. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs T
Reading

"Stunning introduction to Namibia"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2018
"We were bowled over by the incredible location of this place.
I could have stayed for weeks.
All staff were super friendly and totally on mission to make sure we had the best possible stay.

Only comment I would make is ditch the tea cups and saucers and serve a decent mugful of tea or coffee!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr F
Amsterdam

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2018
"What a special place and spectacular setting. The silence of the desert is overwhelming. The room makes you really connect with the surroundings, we left some of the canvas walls open during the night to catch the fresh breeze. It's not about top luxury here, to some the rooms may feel a bit too rustic for that, but it's all about being part of a landscape.

We were a bit spoiled by the excellent guiding at Desert Homestead Outpost where we already learnt a lot about desert life, so the excursions at Wolwedans did not add so much in terms of new information. But we still enjoyed driving through the breathtaking landscape and the kindness and hospitality of our guide Jason.

The communal dining table works well, we had wonderful conversations with fellow guests while enjoying great service and good food. There was always an option for a private table however.

We can easily imagine ourselves going back to Wolwedans in the future, just doing nothing, soaking up the landscape, contemplating, like a retreat.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

2 sightings

Linda & Paul
UK

"Memorable location"

2 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2018
"The location of this lodge is truly memorable and the rooms were wonderful too.

One member of the party who has stayed here before commented that the lodge was not of the same highest standard as it used to be.

Additionally, our guide during our stay was not very informative and did not take us to particularly good photographic locations." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Rolling Crones
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2018
"What a place and what a location. We were the only guests for both nights and the staff really went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We loved the singing prior to dinner as well as the introduction of the menu. The drives were excellently done very informative" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa