This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Alaro

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2018
"sensational - one of the most incredible places ever" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & E
UK

"Our favorite stay of the trip "

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2017
"Just a wonderful relaxed place with great service." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2017
"Still excellent [Ed: See their review below]" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2017
"Wonderful. Beautiful location, lovely accommodation, great food, amazing staff who we all felt were like real friends by the time we left. They all went the extra mile for us and made us feel very special.

We loved all the dancing and singing. Our guide, who had 11 sisters was absolutely amazing and very knowledgable and fun ,coped very well with the 4grannies!!

We would all love to return." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr N
October

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Absolutely fantastic lodge - location, ambience, architecture. Lovely staff.

Tabita was an excellent guide.

We had one issue which we took up directly with the resort manager, Jack, and would like to understand whether things got resolved - would you be able to get his email address please?" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Horsham

"Wolwedans lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"A good lodge on top of a sand dune which made walking around a bit more difficult as you crossed the sand

Staff were helpful and considerate. Food was good with staff singing before the meal. This would be better after eating as when you are ready to eat you want to get on and eat" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Desert Luxury.."

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Regrettably we were only able to spend one night at Wolwedans Dune Lodge, but that allowed us sufficient time to ascertain that there is little not to like and enjoy there. The location, design, furnishings are stunning and in harmony with the location especially the communal areas. We could have stayed for three nights and not tired of simply sitting and absorbing the magnificent surroundings.

Our one night was an all inclusive package and on arrival we were very warmly greeted by our guide Tabitha who was enthusiastic and anxious to show us all that she could in the short time that we had. She accompanied us to sundowners and also a short drive the following morning before we sadly departed.

They focus heavily on conservation which is understandable and whilst requests like limiting bathing water usage can prove a little frustrating its understandable under the circumstances.

Dinner was a set time and a little later might have allowed for some more relaxing time after sundowners, but again in the location I can understand the ease and practicality of all guests dining at the same time. We were served cold vegetables which we were not expecting given the reviews we had read about their focus on food, but we will forgive them this oversight as the overall experience was wonderful.
Since we did not eat lunch on our day of arrival, they had noted that we would be provided with a packed lunch the following day, but this did not happen and we also forgot to ask, plus we were not driving so far so it was not a hinderance.

It was our wedding anniversary during our trip to Namibia, although not on this particular day, and we were touched by the acknowledgment of the lodge by placing a basket of treats and a card in our room.

Many thanks to all the staff for a superb experience. Wolwedans has created what we feel is a wonderful atmosphere and we felt priviledged to be able to share in it." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Location and activities"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2017
"Stunning location with the most amazing views. The activities were top class, our guide was excellent.

Disappointed by the quality of the meals and some problems in our room (there was no hot water and they did not solve it), we took our showers in the next room." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms K
Brisbane

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2017
"This place is extraordinarily fantastic. We were happy to just sit and soak up the ambience. Can recommend the massage and just sitting and enjoying the view. We did a morning drive on the day we departed - nice to have a look around but not many animals if that is what you are looking for, great scenery tho.The only negative was that the staff seemed incapable of booking scenic flights or balloon flights - there are brochures advertising these activities but it seemed impossible to organise either." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Wow! What a setting."

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2017
"This was another of Maruska's recommendations and we spent a long time hesitating at the expense. But we are so glad we took her guidance. It was an absolute highlight of our holiday.

The chalets are no more luxurious than other lodges, but the communal areas - dining room, lounge room, bar and pool are all stunningly located, designed, built and furnished. The meals were excellent, the staff friendly and attentive.

Our two game drives with our guide,Sam, were fantastic. The landscape is superb and the sundowners each day were in magical settings." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa