This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Brighton

"Amazing place"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2017
"This was an amazing place to stay in terms of location and helpful friendly staff. Tabitha our guide deserves a special mention for her friendly welcome and trips to see the sunset and tracking animals in the desert. It felt good to stay somewhere where they are doing good work and are part of a community.
My only negative comment was that the hot water system broke and I couldn't have a wash one day!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D & Mrs C
Kent

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"Fantastic place and "Terrible Thelma" an outstanding hostess.

Rather too much food in such hot conditions.

Limited activities so perfect just for two nights" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms AC
SW London

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"Spectacular in every way!

My children are still talking about the sun-downers and all the fun they had rolling down endless sand dunes and trying to find white lady spiders. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Dulwich

"A place in a million"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"A place like nowhere else on earth; perched on top of the sand dunes.
We slept under canvas but it was definitely 5 star. My boys preferred it to Sossuvlei.
We found hot water bottles in our bed at night and were woken by stunning sunrises that we could see from our 4 poster bed.
Selma was great and our guide David absolutely fantastic. All the staff were great and there was a very special atmosphere.
The pool area was lovely too." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2016
"Arrived mid afternoon, long drive in (24km) welcomed by David at reception, then driven to Lodge Camp. Helena gave us Rock Shandies, fantastic.

Room 7 has an amazing position as do the rest. Went for Sundowner with guide Bravo, we drank whilst he changed a tyre!! Good 5 course dinner seated with other guests. Breakfast good.

All day game drive with Bravo (120km) not much to see for first hour but numbers of Oryx, Springbok, Giraffe & Ostrich grew from then on. Wonderful views across the plain. Picnic lunch and back by 5.00pm. Pool lovely and cool. Laundry well ironed but had to pay N$95? Very good dinner and breakfast.

Great place to stay in stunning location. Photographers dream." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
I&C
UK

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"Excellent location and food." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
UK

"Wolwedans. Over-rated."

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"Over-rated. Food OK, rooms OK, location good - but that goes for many places in Namibia. Service too intense. Don't bother with the 'sundowner'

The two San guides on the morning walk with the bushmen were both really good.

Tents a bit 'slack' which does not help sleep.

The fixed dinner at 2000hrs was not. By the time everyone arrived and we sat through a comic introduction to the chef it was easily after 2100hrs. Too late.

Wouldn't recommend or return" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr N
Hagley

"Views, accommodation and food excellent"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"As above activities were OK" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Aberdeen

"Luxury desert lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2015
"We really appreciated the excellent layout of both the main area and rooms. The main area spans several zones and has plenty of places to sit, so there was always somewhere to sit regardless of the time of day, desired view or degree of desired privacy. Our room was beautiful and also had many places to sit, both within itor on its wrap around deck. Early in the morning they left a tea and coffee tray so we could have a hot drink whilst watching the sunrise.

The food here was very excellent, and the evening meals were particularly impressive, with five courses! There were many very tasty breakfast options (excepting the toast- not the best bread we had in Nambibia) but these had to be ordered from a menu, rather than a buffet, which may not be everyone's preferred way of doing things in the morning. The tea and coffee station was accompanied by a particularly noteworthy cheesecake..yum.

We paid for a massage and facial and the masseuse visited our room to carry this out, which was very nice. Although many guests stay here on 'all inclusive' basis, a visitor should be aware that several activities available would need to paid for - e.g. not surprising that hot air ballooning and flights are not included, but also horse riding is not included. So, depending on what you plan to do, going all inclusive may not be great value.

Each guest is assigned a host/guide. This is designed to allow personalised service but for us this was not very satisfactory. We did not really feel we had much choice of activities - basically we were offered a choice between an all day drive or 2 half day drives. Our guide was also assigned to another (very nice) couple and - as he told us several times - it can be difficult for him if we want to do different things. The guide seemed to spend a lot of time telling us about the various activities and accommodation options at Wolwedans, and tipping arrangements, rather than telling us about the features of the animals, plants and landscape around us. Also, he repeatedly addressed only one of us - the husband - and never asked questions of the other - the wife. Perhaps this was just because he could only remember one of our names, but it became quite annoying for the wife! At one point, when one of us asked a question, he scolded us for not listening to what he told us earlier.. when in fact he had not listened to us and misunderstood my question. Some of our gripes might relate to communication problems - our guide's English was not perfect - but we did not have this problem with any other guides we encountered during our trip in Namibia, and we expected a better at Wolwedans." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa