This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Epsom

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"A great location and very friendly and helpful staff who worked hard to make us feel welcome

Great scenery and drives" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Bristol

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"The lodge was in an amazing location with terrific views. The tented chalets bar and restaurant were luxuriously appointed.

We appreciated the hot water bottles each night because it was cold in the evenings. Food was very european in style but excellent.

We enjoyed sitting around the log fire wrapped in blankets talking to other guests before and after dinner each evening." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Great Wake

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 29 May 2013
"Wonderful camp and the scenery is just breathtaking. Come here for wide, open spaces and a real feeling of peace.

Excellent, Knowledgeable guide who taught us a lot." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms J
UK

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2013
"It would be hard to find a more perfect location for a camp, the peacefulness of it is mesmerising. This was our last stay out of the capital and we wanted to end on a highlight and it was lovely.

The only thing that let it down for us was the food, we were expecting something amazing but to be honest it was a little disappointing, our first lunch was superb but after that it did not seem to match the quality of the surroundings." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"lives up to expectations"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2012
"A beautiful lodge, great staff and a very very good guide.

The food here was astounding. The flavours were just so fresh and you can see how the legacy of running their own chef's school is paying off. The kitchen always seems full of laughter and we loved the way they announced the menu in two different languages each night. Eating at the one table meant great conversations happened between the group each night.

Always amazes you how much lives in the harsh surroundings, lots to see on the morning drives and then the colours in the evening are beautiful. A very peaceful place and seeing the desert from the hot air balloon was another wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss S
Cambridgeshire

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2012
"Breathtaking location, gorgeous room ( although very hot and could have done with a fan), service and food excellent. Very relaxing place." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Staffs

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2012
"Great location and rooms lovely but some way from restaurant and bar with limited wooden walkways. These need extending and raising to make it easier to keep sand out of shoes. Rooms were very hot with only very thick duvets (and hot water bottles!!). Need thinner quilts or blankets as an alternative. The food and staff were excellent despite them claiming they had not been advised in advance of one vegetarian. No cold beers available.

Drives were good but somewhat limited in finding different things to see.
Perhaps a good idea to warn visitors that no electric points are available in the lodges.
By no means the best one we stayed in." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs O
Lechdale

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2012
"Great experience & although relatively close to Kulala a completely different environment & set of activities. The scenery was breathtaking & our guide (Alpha) was excellent in showing it to us.

Damaged my back on the 3rd day, however, the staff were very helpful, attentive & caring (e.g. dinner in the tent).
Fascinated by their "Eco" efforts & their garden.

Food was excellent, however, meat dishes need to be more varied rather than just various types of steak." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J C
London

"Wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2012
"This was the best lodge that I stayed at on my trip.

The food was excellent, the best that I had in Namibia, my room and its view was wonderful, the staff were charming and helpful, the guide was intersting and extremely well informed, and the location wonderful as well.

My only critical comment is as to the state of the access track from the road. This was terrible in places, and for such a wonderful and high class lodge, I think they should do something about it." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Brussels

"Great!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2012
"Wolwedans is a fantastic place. It's a fantastic eating experience (all three meals).

The rooms are very, very comfortable and waking up to the views of the valley in front of you and the mountain on the other side is just out of this world.

Here, there is not that much animals to see (I mean this only when compared to Etosha or other fantastic game reserves), but we still managed to see giraffes, jackals, and plenty of zebras and oryxs. We did a very nice balloon flight, which was the highlight in terms of activities, and by this point we were more in the mood of good wining and dining, of which you have plenty to get satisfied in this lodge.

Expert Africa arranged a morning's ballooning trip for these travellers. They commented:

A big reason why I went to Namibia...

Amazing. We REALLY wanted to do this. The view of the red dunes from the sky is really amazing.
Be carefull with your planning to give yourselves some flexibility when scheduling this as you may not be able to take off on occassion due to wind and weather conditions. We were lucky enough to be able to reschedule it because our originally scheduled flight had to be cancelled.

Other than that, just incredibly relaxing and breathtaking. Watching the oryxs stare back at you from below is just fantastic.
And the champagne breakfast is very good!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa