This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R
UAE

"Wolvedans Dune Lodge - remote luxury"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2011
"Wolvedans lived up to its reputation. It is an incredible place to stay. Food was lovely, staff was friendly and the rooms were out of this world.

Wolvedans encourages mingling among the guests, including sitting at a large family-style table for evening meals and participating in group activities. Opting out of some of these group activities is possible but not readily offered by Wolvedans. If you wish to have a quiet evening meal on your terrace, you must ask for it." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"What an absolutely superb Lodge- we loved it!

You drive in to the main centre and are then transported up to the Lodge. Your car is left securely behind in the main parking lot.

The lounge area and dining area are beautifully organised, furnished and decorated. Our room was luxurious and having the canvas down to enjoy the sunrise and the night noises was delightful.

The food was delicious and the evening presentation of it memorable.

Our excursions were all wonderful and our driver entertaining and knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AP
NW London

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2011
"Our experience at Wolwedans was absolutely amazing! We were staying at the Mountain View Suite, where the setting is breathtaking. Having our own chef and guide also added to the overall positive of the stay, especially as we had a 2-year old child: it gave us a lot of flexibility and peace of mind.

Our guide Usko was great, and so were our chefs-waitresses Ushi and Tabea, they all went out of their ways to make our stay a great one and to accommodate for the presence of a young child.

The scenery on the reserve is incredible, and a sunrise at the MVS is out of this world.

Overall, this was undoubtedly the highlight of our Namibia trip.

NB: the "good" ranking for the facilities only refers to the swimming pool, which often had insects in it and could have been cleaned more often (or maybe it was and there are just too many insects...)" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"Absolutely Memorable"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"We spent 3 nights at the Dune Lodge at the beginning of our trip. The location and landscape is on an epic scale and in retrospect the accommodation was our favourite overall (and that was a very difficult decision based on the quality we enjoyed throughout).

The rooms are individual widely-spaced 'cabins'. Ours had 2 bedrooms, masses of space and was at the end of a line set in the sand starting at the public rooms. The walls are canvas which can be rolled up to create the nearest thing you'll get to sleeping outside while keeping a roof over your head - it was magic to feel the breeze while lying in bed and waking to a view of the sun rising over the desert. Highly recommended.

Management, service and guide excellent. The only aspects we thought could be improved is to (a) create a boardwalk through the sand to the public rooms from the cabin as it does get tiresome trudging through it several times a day and (b) offer a choice of main course at dinner." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Nottingham

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2010
"Stunning setting especially flying into the camp,sunrise and sunset. Had a memorable massage on the deck.

Perhaps not enough enquiry re. our wildlife interests.But great attention to detail." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B x 2
Kaiseraugust

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"Absolutely wonderful setting...Lodge was secluded and elegant. The MVS suite was superb. The guide (Usko) was very knowlegable and engaging. A laid back pace, but very efficient. Great kitchen and chef and dining ambiance along with a killer common area for pre-dinner cocktails. Pool area was very chic and again elegant. Could have easily spent another day or more here.

Staff was very friendly. Mid-day drive with lunch could be up-grade with better food and wine selection along with a white table cloth and more comfortable chairs....but this is a pick.

Met the owner/custodian (Stefan) on the morning of departure and receive and excellent history and overview of the lodge and its commitment to the environment....very classy set-up." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DR
N London

"Paradise under a sienna sun!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2010
"What a place to start our African Adventure. The colours and the landscape will be forever etched on our minds. The vastness, variety and colours of the landscape are beyond desccription and every sense and emotion is bombarded. Our Mountain View Suite was amazing with views that defied belief and it was almost impossible to absorb the level of luxury and comfort that surrounded us. All travel weariness had disappeared!

With our own private chef and guide we definitely felt like VIP's. Our guide, Progress, was wonderful and was both passionate and knowledgable and was a pleasure to spend time with.

The food was ok although we would have preferred a few more options and most definitely did not need a 5 course meal on our first night and we did request only 3 courses on our second night. Breakfast and lunch on our private terrace was superb.

We would definitely recommend staying both at Dune Lodge and Boulders Camp as the terrain is quite different and 2 nights was definitely not enough." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"Stunning location, beautiful rooms and great food. Friendly staff. The first 'sociable' lodge we stayed at, with communal eating, and it was very nice.

One slight downside to the canvas tent nature of the rooms is that in stormy weather (which we had on our first night) it is impossibly noisy and we only got couple of hours sleep. But the next night was still.

It's great waking in the night and being able to just look out, through the screen 'walls', and see the night sky. We also got to see a full rainbow, which was lovely in the red desert setting." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Fantastic place"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"This lodge is gorgeous! Could not fault anything to do with the lodge itself.

My only comment would be that the full day drive that is included was too long, I would have preferred a couple of hours less, but Italy our guide was great." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"Excellent day trips with knowledgable guides." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa