This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 71-78 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Royal Albatross
UK

"Part of the Family at Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2008
"We stayed 2 nights at Wolwedans - our first introduction to the real Safari experience. The views are spectacular, the staff are really welcoming and friendly and the food was good. We met some lovely fellow guests which made the group dining very pleasant. We felt very special and looked after by everyone, which was a splendid experience.

We did a full day and a half day drive on the Reserve with Hans - both were very informative and relaxing - with a surprising amount of wildlife to be seen - something we had not expected, and which they Guides are keen to point out are not guaranteed! Good picnic lunch on the full day drive.

It is worth noting that there is no ability to power electrical items in the rooms, nor any cellphone coverage - which might make it ideal for some people, but if you want to be contactable, it can be a bit worrying.

When we first arrived, it was not clear where the Lodge accommodation was (you arrive at 'base camp' where you leave your car) and cannot see the Lodge. It only emerged as we were transferred by Wolwedans vehicle where things were. A bit more up front explanation might help people get oriented." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Artist
Connecticut

"extraoridnary setting with wonderful staff"

3 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2008
"the lodge was leaking heavily in a major rain storm. inexcusable at that price per night ....lousy details in the bedroomlodge. l deck lounge chair covers all in shreds,ceiling not attractive, dirt and a magazine under the bed from previous guests....not up to standard.
they will remodel. we were told .....but until then one should know...

inspite all those complaints it was my favorite place of the whole trip and the one lodge i truly want to return. the views from the rooms,bar /sitting room and dining are truly spectacular and change at all our of day.michil and his staff could not be more charming and the presence of herman made it unforgettable.

the rainstorms were so dramatic we were literally scared from all the thunder and lightning. would not have wanted to miss a minute of the whole stay inspite of the drama of the leaking bedroom" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Photographer
IOM

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2008
"Food rather pretentious - we know it is difficult running a restaurant here as all the food comes from Windhoek.

More simple better quality meals would have been more appreciated.

Activities were good and well organised." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs C
Berkshire

"Christmas at Wolvedans"

2 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2007
"This camp was a little disappointing for all of us. We arrived on xmas afternoon (after a wonderful xmas send off from Kulala Wilderness camp) and not one person said 'merry xmas' to us unless we said it first! The rooms were certainly not as good as they look in the brochure (although the views are simply stunning) and we found the staff a little indifferent.

We had had an early start the morning of our arrival (up at 4.30am to go to Soussosvlei) and asked what time dinner would be. It was explained to us that dinner wouldn't be served until all guests were present. We asked if perhaps our main courses could be served a little earlier as our children were beginning to tire but when we hadn't had the main course by 10.20pm we gave up waiting and went to bed!

Of the courses we did eat the asparagus soup was inedible - extremely thick and very salty! Our guide either lacked the knowledge or enthusiasm to make our 'game drive' the following morning interesting. Whilst we weren't expecting tons of game we werent expecting to feel bored by the experience either! The sundowner drive was better, as we were taken to Chateau Plains which was simply stunning and the guide did make a wicked G&T.

We requested packed lunches on our day of departure but when we opened them I noticed that the yogurts they had provided were past the sell by date - 2 were dated 'use by 26th Dec' and 2 'use by 7th Dec' - we left the camp on the 27th December!!!! I think this is unacceptable service from any camp let alone one advertising itself as one of the best in Namibia.

I think this camp is in need of an overhaul. Our experience indicated that it perhaps relies on its reputation but didn't deliver the goods or live up to expectations on this occassion." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"wolwedans - perfect place to end a holiday"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"WOW! Coming over the crest of the dune and seeing the stunning lodge was a treat. The architecture here is fantastic, really well designed, the canopy sides to the chalet were fantastic and i loved the walkways. Also was really impressed with the thought to the environment with shower water going straight to the acacia trees and cutting off if too much was used! The food was really well presented and delicious and i hope that the scheme to train young people here continues.

Again our guides were excellent, ben and john, and we learnt a lot about the flora and fauna with them. Finally i cant imagine a more stunning setting for a swimming pool! I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who asked." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
St Paul

"Incredible food in an incredible setting"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"A wonderful lodge in a spectacular location." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
UK

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2007
"Our guide changed twice after our arrival and on our main outing our guide did not have the background and experience to answer all of our questions." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Excellent location , best of the holiday"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2007
"Stunning location and accommodation. The setting and staff were the best of the holiday. The manager Francis ,was superb and our guide Stefan was very knowledgeable and a character. The food was of good quality but often only just warm when we got it.

The drive up to the lodge in a 2wd was quite hard in parts but got better further from the gate. The hot water bottle at night were a nice touch as it is cold. The mountains were dramatic and the dunes very photogenic.

Reading out the menu each night in english and in the native nama language was a very nice touch. I even managed to get some of the clicks right!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-78 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa