This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 91-100 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Dr B
Richmond

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2010
"We liked Swakopmund very much after the initial heartsink of being back in the land of alarmed gates, etc. Sam's Giardino is not central but within easy walking distance of the centre of town. However, we decided to eat at the hotel both nights as we were not sure if it would be OK to walk back after dark (it probably would have been). Sam friendly and hospitable. Food good though use of tinned fruit surprising.

The tour of Sandwich Bay which you arranged for us was wonderful." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sam's and felt that he gave the place a really personal touch. Sam was very helpful and provided us with information and tips for making the most of our stay in Swakopmund. We really enjoyed hearing about how he moved to Namibia and built up his business.

We stayed two nights and had dinner at Sam's the first night. Although we arrived at 5:30 pm, Sam was able to accommodate us for dinner and to alter the menu for me (non-fish eater). The food was delicious. The second night we went to The Tug and really regretted our choice. The food isn't a patch on Sam's. The restaurant is crowded and I had staff and other customers constantly brushing the back of my chair, as we were seated beside the main thoroughfare through the restaurant. We left straight after the main course - couldn't leave fast enough, really.

We were surprised to see that it is possible to go on skiing excursions in the dunes around Swakopmund. As keen cross-country skiers, we would have loved to try this, but ran out of time. A good excuse to return?

As part of their trip, we organised some Kayaking at Pelican Point for these travellers. They commented:

We both thoroughly enjoyed our kayaking trip with Jeanne. My husband is keen on water sports and had kayaked previously, so was very much looking forward to the trip. As I have an aversion for water sports, I was more apprehensive. We had a double kayak. Kayaking around the lagoon itself was very calm and we also went out to sea to see the dolphins. The trip felt completely safe throughout and is an enjoyable experience even if you are not a water sports enthusiast.

Whilst on the trip we saw seal and dolphins, as well as lots of birds, including flamingos. Jeanne also took us to see a family of jackals living on the point. Jeanne provided lots of information about the local wildlife.

We arrived home to an email from Jeanne with photos of our trip. As all of our photos showed what we were seeing from our kayak, it was great to have some photos of the two us in the kayak, as well as some fantastic additional wildlife shots.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our morning kayaking with Jeanne." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2010
"This is an goodt place to stay while in town. It is quiet and secure but within walking distance of the centre.

Sam is an attentive host who is enthusiastic about the quality he provides. Cuisine is superb but if you eat two nights running you may repeat some courses on the menu.

He could not be more helpful with information and even supplemented his superb breakfast with the offer of a sandwich for our journey.

Sea kayaking on Walvis Bay Lagoon: Jeanne was not around but the young man who stood in for her did a great job. He was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and provided a safe but interesting experience.

There is plenty of opportunity to get close to the seals and pelicans although it gets a bit crowded when the motor launches come in." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Sam's secret garden!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"A perfect and cosy spot tucked off the main drags. Sam was very hospitable and welcoming and his garden delightful.

The map could be a bit better . Normally north is at the top of the map! Rhode Allee should be shown - it appears on the detailed map but actually does not bend round into Anton Lubowski unless we were doing something stupid.

Great having free internet to catch up with the family after being out in the wilderness for a few days. Sam was helpful in booking restaurants and a boat trip.

We discovered one of the boat companies did free pick ups from Swakopmund Laramon - which gave us a day off the driving which was a good idea. However the minibuses were filled to capacity and the two last seats (the ones we had to take) were not particularly comfortable - one seat was partly broken and one was not a proper seat). The captain Dougie was excellent and we had a very enjoyable day out." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs J & daughters
UK

"Great dinner at Le Tug"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"Sam was helpfulness itself and his cooking is excellent. I think the star of the house is Beethoven his young Pyrennean Mountain dog.

We arrived in a most impressive sandstorm but the next day was beautiful, and I very much enjoyed my last minute tour to Sandwich Bay although the time in the actual bay was very limited as the tide was against us." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The T family
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"Sam was a tremendous host, and nothing was too much for him. He provides a set menu for evening meal (if you want it) at N$200 per person. Unfortunately there was always something on the menu which a member of our party did not like, so we did not eat dinner there.

Sam was however happy to recommend and book a table at a local restaurant. Both places that he chose for us were excellent and relatively good value. We were able to walk into the centre of Swakopmund from Sam's in about 10 minutes. Breakfast was very good with freshly cooked egg and bacon, with a wide selection of cereals, fruits, breads, cheeses and cold meats, and the largest selection of jams, toppings and sauces that I have ever seen.

Sam provided advice on travelling, and on our last morning suggested that we make up a packed lunch from the breakfast tables - at no extra cost. Our only slight niggle was that Beethoven, Sam's St Bernard, was overly friendly to the guests. The rooms we had did not have a personal safe, although Sam did have them in a room downstairs ready to be installed. He was happy for us to use the house safe.


Whilst staying at Sam's these travellers went on a day trip along the coast, arranged by Expert Africa, and had the following comments:

A great day out. All went very well, and Ernest, our guide, was excellent.

Did not see as many birds as I had hoped, and in fact Sandwhich Harbour was somewhat devoid of life - a few pelicans, and jackals and some other small birds. Perhaps it was the wrong time of year.

The lunch in the sand dunes was great - the best lasagne I have tasted for a long time." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M
North London

"A little piece of Switzerland"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2010
"Sam 's is a 10 - 15 minute easy stroll from the centre of town. The main building and rooms are alongside a beauitiful garden, with resident friendly large dog.

The room was light and comfortable with a newly decorated bathroom. The main building was a cosy warren of rooms including the dining area, TV room and computer room with tea and coffee always available and free internet access. The general atmospher was very relaxed and friendly.

We didn't take advantage of Sam's 5 course dinners but the breakfasts were good, particularly the home made muesli!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Wine tasting extraordinaire"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Superb! A real treat, Sam is a character and made us so welcome. Swakupmund may have been wet and cold but Sam's Giardino was warm and welcoming. Wine tasting with Sam was entertaining and educational.....we went on to sample several of the bottles from his cellar during our stay.

The first night we had dinner in the "cave" which was cosy and intimate. Dinner was delicious and service excellent. Very comfortable rooms overlooking the garden. Excellent breakfasts with vast array of cereals, preserves, bread etc. and fantastic cooked breakfast to start the day's activities. Beethoven was a hit with our party.

Excellent choice for a stay by the sea and so close to town." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Scotland

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Central location for easy access to town centre. Sam was a very friendly host along with his St Bernard 'Beethoven'. Great time was had by all at the wine tasting - excellent food - so much so that we dined in twice during our stay.

We did kayaking at Walvis Bay with Jeanne from 'Eco Marine Kayak Tours' of which a highlight was being so close to the dolphins and seals.

The next day, we did a trip to Sandwich harbour with our guide Ernst whose enthusiasm and knowledge made it a day to remember." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
NL

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"Sam's Giardino was my favorite location, the hosts were very interesting & genuine including Beethoven.

The food & the atmosphere were very enjoyable" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (225 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa