This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sam's Giardino

Reviews of Sam's Giardino

Wildlife sightings and reviews

173 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sam's Giardino and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 71-80 of 173
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D
New York

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2012
"Charming hotel with a great common area, very decent food and great wine selection. Rooms comfortable but no frills. We had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and Sam was very helpful. A little far from downtown Swankopmund." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms P & Mr R
Pasadena

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2012
"Good service. Helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
O Family
Vancouver

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2012
"Sam is a lovely individual. His recommendation of Sandboarding was a highlight of the trip. We definitely recommend sandboarding. One other thing to note, is that Swakop was a ghost town during our stay. We arrived on a Saturday and left on Monday morning. The town was very very quiet. A summer visit might be more fun. The TUG restaurant was a highlight." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 8n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Kiwis in
London

"A garden oasis"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2012
"Sam is a great host." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr M x 4
UK

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"Sam is a great host.

Being slightly further from the centre of town means that it may be necessary to drive for an evening meal out.

The 5-course dinner is worth it.

Internet access very helpful.

It would be useful to have a safe in the room.

The garden is a delight and we could sit around when ever not busy doing other things.

They were very helpful organising sand-boarding, though unfortunately high winds meant it was cancelled" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
IOM

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2012
"Sam's b & b was very nice and he was an attentive and helpful host. We had evening meal and wine at the property for two nights and enjoyed it very much. It was a pity more guests didn't choose to dine in.

Rooms were pleasant and overlooked the garden which was lovely for relaxation with water features and nice planting. Short walk into town and its attractions and Sam provided us with a map." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Friendly atmosphere at Sams"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2012
"Sams Giardino is in a handy location just outside of town in a quiet area of Swakopmund. Sam is ready to help with any excursion ideas on the local area, with lots of reference books being available.

We didn't eat there but he was happy to suggest places to eat and book us a table. Beethoven, a huge Bernise mountain dog, was very friendly and barked a welcome as you came into the tranquil garden via the outside gate. Breakfast was a casual affair with a good choice and Sam on hand to discuss your plans for the day. The rooms were adequate and functional.

Expert Africa organised for these travellers a day-trip to Sandwich Harbor; they commented:

Ernst our driver and tour guide for the day trip was great he was very knowledgeable and passionate about the environment and wildlife and a very experienced 4x4 driver. The trip was a full day and included a lovely two course lunch at a great location on the edge of the dunes overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The time in Sandwich Harbour is governed by the tide and unfortunately we didn't get much time there to explore however there was lots else to see.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Welcome return to Sam's Giardino"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2012
"We were so pleased to return to Sam's. He is a great character and charming host. We were the only guests and he really put himself out to make us welcome and to spend time with us.

We enjoyed his wine-tasting, he is so well-informed and enthusiastic. His dog, of course, was on form as co-host, and the beautiful garden was a haven of rest after a hard day's shopping." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
J, A, D & M
UK

"Sams Garden oif Eden."

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2012
"Superb garden to relax in after a busy day. Sam very useful advising and booking tours. We ate in his 'wine cellar' each night and food and wine excellent. Accomodation good.

A high-light of our stay was the catamaran trip in Walvis Bay. Seals on the boat, large dolphins chasing the boat and further out of the bay there were hundreds of small dusky dolphins which apparently only appear two or three times a year. How lucky were we! We even saw several huge sun fish. All this and sparkling wine and fresh oysters.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"This was our second stay at Sam's and we enjoyed a comfortable stay in a familiar environment. Sam looked after us well, confirming our tour bookings and making a dinner reservation for us at The Wreck. On our last day, Sam suggested that make up a lunch to take with us from the breakfast bar - a suggestion that we appreciated all the more as the food options on the way to Damarland weren't that great.

We felt like a more casual meal one evening and had great pizza at the 3 N'amigos Pizzeria on Daniel Tjongarero Street (next Hansa Bakerei and near Nathaniel Maxuilili Street).

During our stay, we went cross-country sand skiing with Henrik May from Ski Namibia. We'd picked up a flyer at Sam's on our previous visit and organised the tour independently with Henrik via email from the UK. Using conventional cross-country ski equipment (but shorter poles), we followed a route that took us over the tops of the dunes behind Swakopmund. It is amazing how much easier it is to traverse the dunes on skis than on foot and we soon reached the top with a view of the sea. Henrik also offers downhill sand skiing and telemark. If you are keen skier and want to try something different, this excursion is well worth booking. He also sells Ski Namibia t-shirts, a very novel souvenir from a trip to a country renowned for its desert landscape!

Whilst here, we organised a Day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

This was a lovely day out and it was refreshing to spend a day by the sea after a week in the desert. Our guide gave us an interesting tour of the coast, Sandwich Harbour and the nearby dunes. Lunch was very nice. We also enjoyed the chance to meet other Expert Africa customers on the tour and the hear about their experiences in Namibia.

Only one issue: our feet were badly sunburnt at the end of the day, as we didn't think to put suncreen on them when we took our shoes off to walk around Sandwich Harbour! It might be a good idea for Turnstone to warn people about this before they head off on their walk around the harbour.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 173
88%
173 reviews of Sam's Giardino by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
88
71
13
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa