This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

Reviews: City & Genocide Memorial Tour

Below are independent comments from 17 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 17
Date
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Great to learn about the city and its history"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 4 Nov 2019
"It was such a great experience to explore the different areas of Kigali and learn more about its history.

Going to the Genocide Memorial is a must for anyone visiting Kigali.

It is very well made and makes you appreciate how far this amazing country has come since the last 25 years." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"City tourCity & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 19 Aug 2019
"The Genocide memorial is well done and very sobering. It drives home what an amazing recovery has taken place in Rwanda" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms. K
Laramie

"Great Trip"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 6 Aug 2019
"The city tour was great. It was neat to see the entire city and the landscape.

The Genocide Memorial Tour is an absolute must if you are in Kigali. We spent almost 3 hours in the Memorial, and could have easily spent 3 more hours. Although it is heart-wrenching, I think it is absolutely important to experience this and honor those who lost their lives." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr K
New York

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Hotel des Mille Collines on 30 Jun 2019
"Very thought provoking.

Rwanda is a place where you need to pay your respects to the dead." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
ERinSTL
Saint Louis

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 30 Jun 2019
"Sula, our excellent driver/guide, started out with a driving tour of some of the important areas of the city, and finished at Kigali Genocide Memorial. We took longer than expected going through the very affecting exhibits, but Sula was perfectly OK waiting as long as we needed. The KGL was a very worthwhile stop. Learning more about the genocide makes the current peaceful condition that much more amazing.

We expected lunch at Hotel Mille Collines (the original “Hotel Rwanda”) and were a bit disappointed to be redirected to a different hotel. Lunch was lunch, but the fame of Mille Collines was an attraction that we were looking forward to. I understand the reason for the change, but Mille Collines should not have been promised in the itinerary." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms & Mr P
USA

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

17 May 2019
"The memorial is a poignant reminder of a tragic event; definitely worth a visit!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Kigali Marriott Hotel on 1 Feb 2019
"Must go when you travel to Rwanda. Very moving and impressive.

Gives good background on the issue, with enough nuance on a very delicate and complicated matter." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Interesting "

Based at Heaven Boutique Hotel on 18 Jan 2019
"The museum is very interesting and we learned a lot, the staff was very helpful" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms A
Wareham

"City Tour"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 30 Nov 2018
"Moving and very educational memorial.
Water features not in operation, however whole experience was fitting rememberance site.
Children’s section was very moving." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jenny
Faversham

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

Based at Kigali Serena Hotel on 25 Sep 2018
"I had already done a city tour by the time I met Safari, so we went straight to the genocide museum. The museum is very well done; the content is harrowing. The gardens are peaceful and encourage reflection.

It was interesting to hear from Safari, and to have him answer my questions." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
94%
17 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
13
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team