This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

81% success

Cheetah

21% success

Wild dog

5% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

85% success

Eland

68% success

Buffalo

68% success

Spotted Hyena

36% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

18% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & MS L
Connecticut

"Luxurious with a great view - but one downsid"

4 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2019
"The camp accommodations are absolutely luxurious and the food was excellent. We enjoyed our guide very much and the service and hostess were wonderful.

The only downside to this camp is its location. Although in some ways the location is fantastic (sunrise over the plains from an elevated position), you are on a high escarpment. It's a long 20-minute drive just to get off the escarpment and into the game area - and that 20 minute drive is repeated 4 times a day." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

CC.
Porto Alegre

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2019
"What can we say about Ikuka?

It was one of the best experiences in our life. Ikuka was better than any dream.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Our guide, Festo, was the best guide that we could ever had. The food at the camp is better than a lot of five starts hotel restaurants.

Everything is perfect at Ikuka. I can remeber any hotel/lodge in the world with a service as good as at Ikuka.

Congratulations to Mark, Jack and Lilly." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

J&B
Wirral

"Fabulous"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"Ikuka is an excellent camp in a great location – the views are wonderful. When we visited in early November, there had been very little rain – a big (and good) contrast from the Selous where we had come from. Ruaha was hot and dry, but thankfully with few mosquitoes and Tsetse flies. Our request for a room away from the central area was granted with room 6 – the 200m walk was our only exercise during our 4 nights at Ikuka, and was very welcome. Festo, our guide for the 4 days, is truly exceptional. His knowledge of animals, birds, flora and insects is first class, and he is a funny guy so it made for a great few days. Thanks to Festo and his attention to detail – for example positioning the jeep in just the right place to view/photograph animals and birds in the best light. We saw our first ever Leopard, Ostrich and Serval Cat. Elephant and Giraffe were especially plentiful, and we had a number of Lion sightings – all of them up close.

The Camp is beautiful very well appointed – not that we spent much time there other than to eat and sleep! Dinner was a communal affair which we really enjoyed and the food was excellent.

Ikuka really go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay. On our departure day the zip on my travel bag broke. Jake kindly organised for a the camp tailor to fit a new zip. Thanks both! Also, since our flight was not until 1pm, we were able to go on the morning game drive, and were met at noon by Luca and taken to the air strip via a few animal sightings, complete with a packed lunch for the flight.

Many thanks to Mark, Jake, Lillie and all the wonderful staff at Ikuka – we had a fantastic time. Anyone planning a trip to Ruaha would do well to put Ikuka at the top of their list.

Our only suggestion would be to put WIFI in the rooms – perhaps at the expense of the current WIFI in the communal area only…… just to encourage conversation over working on phones/computers in the communal areas." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Luxury lodge"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2019
"We spent four nights at Ikuka. This is a well organised and run camp and maybe a bit more formal than others we have been to.

All staff were helpful and friendly and I was well looked after when I had to spend a day in bed with a tummy upset.

Our 'room' was the family lodge and was awesome. Huge, open and beautifully furnished and with a plunge pool, it felt very indulgent. The food was of a very high standard. Lunch at separate tables with a communal table in the evenings was a good formula.

We were unfortunate to experience some problems with the vehicle we were in. Three out our first four drives were spoiled by these problems. We took it in good heart on our first breakdown where we had to wait one and a half hours for help to arrive and get it fixed however by the third time we were a bit fed up with it. The manager did apologise and we were given a bottle of bubbly but it did detract from our overall experience of the camp. Perhaps this contributed to our slight disappointment in our wildlife viewing. While we are happy to soak in the landscape and were very interested in the many birds we saw we seemed to be unlucky with few sightings, although we did have a lovely viewing of a leopard in a tree, a large herd of buffalo and many sightings of elephant. The highlight of our drives was at Hippo Lake a beautiful area and well worth the journey.

Although I was aware at the time of booking that Ikuka was a twenty minute drive from the main wildlife area I had not fully appreciated that this adds up to eighty minutes per day. So although the views from camp are amazing they come at a cost. The last part of the drive to camp is particularly steep and bumpy.

Overall we were happy with Ikuka but I would probably book a camp nearer to the main wildlife area if I was returning to Ruaha." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs JP
London

"Faultless stay at Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2019
"A beautiful intimate owner-run camp situated on an escarpment with wonderful views across the plains of Ruaha.
The rooms/tents are high quality, with expansive tented sleeping area (beds are vast and super comfortable) and open seating area. We had our our private plunge pool (no. 6) but it was a little cold so preferred the communal pool.
The food is immaculate - imaginative, fresh, light, delicious flavours and well presented (apparently the menu was re-vamped in July 2019). Dinners are communal and it was nice to swap stories of each days' events with fellow guests.
The game drives were superb and generous (5-6 hours in the morning and another 2.5-3 hours in the evening). The guides are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We were lucky to see lions on all 7 of our drives and leopard twice plus plenty of elephants, giraffes, cape buffalo, zebra, kudu, impala, ostrich, and the occasional waterbuck and jackal..
The service from all the staff (esp. Jake, Lilli, Davis) is completely on-point and there is nothing we could fault.
We highly recommend this camp and game park with its stunning landscape and which is more or less devoid of tourists. We hardly saw any other vehicles on all our drives. The only downside are the tetse flies (the ones here are not sleeping sickness carriers) but they do give quite a nip (even biting through clothing!)." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr I
Abergavenny

"Ikuka at Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"The location of the camp afforded fantastic views of the valley, however, it was 45 minutes from the airstrip. More importantly, each drive required a 30 minute journey through sparsely populated areas before any sightings could be expected. This extended the already long safari time, especially on the morning drive.

It should be made clear to travellers that they can expect to share game drives with one or even two other couples as the norm with no consideration of shared interests or stage of their stay. We had a bad experience in this regard but when queried with the manager, he was quick to resolve it. Furthermore, there was a huge difference in the two guides we experienced, though both were very knowledgeable, one was very passive, almost disinterested, whereas the other was passionate and engaging." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S
france

"Amazing Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"Fabulous location on top of an escarpment with stunning, far-reaching views from both communal and private spaces. Great, open design means the regular breeze keeps spaces cool. Accommodation was very spacious and comfortable and of a high standard. I would have liked part of the bathroom (sinks and toilet) to be included in the tented area to avoid the constant zipping and unzipping at night when getting ready for bed, but that’s splitting hairs!

Service was great, the staff are very friendly and open, and encouraged to chat and banter with guests which we found charming. As well as the manager Jake, and the owner Mark when he’s on site, The guides took turns to join the communal dinner which was a nice touch, and made for entertaining evenings.

The food was wonderful, fresh and innovative at every meal. Lunch comprised of a chilled soup, a buffet style main with lots of salads, and a light dessert, whilst dinner was a starter, main (which I found a little on the large side) and dessert. Everything was beautifully presented and very tasty. Ikuka also offered us a glass of juice retuning from our morning drive, and an Amarula returning from the afternoon drive...a lovely touch!

Activities were excellent, our guide Festo was brilliant, very friendly, open and extremely knowledgeable. Ruaha has such a variety of landscapes and terrains that there’s always something new to see, and we had excellent game sightings. We also did a walking safari with Mustapha, covering about 7km so we felt we’d had some exercise as well as learning a lot about the flora and fauna (and poop!) of our surroundings. And a fab bush breakfast to finish." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs J
Taunton

"Perfect"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Great people.

Brilliant rooms: great views, spacious, good facilities, hot water and still feels fresh and new.

Food was imaginative and very well presented." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"High on a hill"

5 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"We were thrilled to be met at the airstrip by our favorite guide, Festo. He had been our guide 5 years ago at a different camp. We love his vast knowledge and passion for the wildlife, as well as his humor. We headed up the hill to spectacular views from the lodge and our room.

The banda was spacious and had plenty of storage, and the deck offered complete privacy. There was a deep plunge pool, but found it a little too chilly to enjoy. The lighting wasn't bright enough in the evening for reading, but we kept so busy that there really wasn't time to read. While the banda was fully open during the day, at night they zip down a tent around the bed. To use the bathroom at night, one had to unzip the tent opening and navigate a step to reach it.

Food was good and plentiful. Lunch was a buffet of delicious salads and hot entrees. The communal dinner was served plated, and a manager and at least one guide joined the guests each evening. The open bar had a list of interesting craft cocktails available.

Wildlife sightings were memorable! We watched elephants chasing lions, a leopard trapped in a tree with his impala kill by a group of lions waiting on the ground below, lions feasting on zebra, buffalo, and giraffe. Birders would enjoy the sightings of Giant Eagle owls that our guide found several times.

This was our second visit to Ruaha, and we enjoy it because of the lack of crowds and great wildlife." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

T & S
North Carolina

"Ikuka - Ruaha National Park - Magnificant"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"Quite a change from our last camp, Beho Beho, but it only gets better with the variety. High up on a ridge and a more casual atmosphere, Mark, the owner, and staff will greet you and make sure any accessory you didn’t contemplate you might need is at hand. Staff and guides join you which was wonderful. Lilly (Lillian) a true goddess who makes Ikuka conform to the laws of physics and humans, including knowing exactly when we needed a cold Zero Coke! And don't try to carry anything back to your cottage - you are certainly allowed to have it there, just not to carry it by yourself! Staff appear out of nowhere to accompany you.

Our guide, Festo, was a master of his guide craft for large animals and bird life. Respect that knowledge and if you have questions ask him, not your seatmate. Cats abound here and watching a young leopard move from one tree to the next to pull out his stashed kill was astonishing. We spent another morning watching a serval and the next day more leopards. Mongoose everywhere, baboons, vervet monkey, eland, serval, ostrich, buffalo, giraffe, including nursing babies, hyrax, zebra, including nursing babies, hyena, elephant, including nursing babies, black backed jackal, oribi, kudu, tiny dik dik that look like dogs and so many baobab trees (unlike Selous.) Apparently the history of low numbers of elephants allowed the baobab seeds to sprout and grow

A bush walk with Mark and his expertise is a life experience you will never forget. You can tell your friends how exciting it was even if you don’t run into a pack of starving lions; and you will be rewarded with a great bush breakfast at the end.

The food is fantastic in quantities that overwhelm. Lunch is buffet and dinner is sit down with everyone at a long table, inclusive of guests, staff and guides. (Should you prefer to eat any meal in your cottage, you only have to mention it.) We met a family from Britain that was so much fun, so intelligent, witty and diverse we wanted to adopt them!

The accommodations are huge tent - cottages overlooking the hill. The bed areas enclose at night separate from the bathroom/shower areas, patios and sitting room. Hot water bottles warm the beds and tea and coffee arrive at dawn. Taking an early morning or after dinner shower is not for the faint hearted as the breeze blows in off the ridge and makes it a bit if a challenge. “Bush Baby” hot water bottles are handed to you for your morning drives to keep you warm. There is a pool by the bar and dining area and a “loo with a view.”

We never wanted for anything at Ikuka except for more time to stay." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 38
97%
38 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa