This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka
Ikuka

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

81% success

Cheetah

21% success

Wild dog

5% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

85% success

Eland

68% success

Buffalo

68% success

Spotted Hyena

36% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

18% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Basingstoke

"Astonishing view"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Accommodation: Good with an outstanding view down from the ridge to the plain. Not quite as well designed as some as the bathroom area is outside the zipped tent - that together with change of levels (small steps up and down) across the sitting, bed, bathroom and deck areas made moving around a little tricky at times.

Food and drink: The food was super - but requires some self control not to overdo it. Wines were also good.

Staff generally: Slightly less good than Siwandu on attendance in the room, but generally more refined in the dining area. Staff were friendly and absolutely charming - a real pleasure to chat with.

Guiding: Our guide Geofrey was exceptionally knowledgeable and very good at predicting what the wildlife was likely to do next, meaning we were often uniquely well placed to view.

Vehicles and game drives: Very good - the vehicle was more comfortable and the roads much better than in Selous so that longer drives were quite possible.

Game viewing: Really excellent for elephant and lions as well as several very good sightings with leopards and a young serval. Geofrey's skill meant we were in position to see lions and leopard hunting. Although not great birders, there were some spectacular and colourful birds especially around the river environment. Some wonderful vistas with mixed herds of impala, water buck, zebra and elephant which created a marvellous atmosphere." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

R&K
Frisco CO

"Incredible guides, location, service in Ruaha"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2019
"We stayed at Ikuka mid-July 2019 for 3 nights. We loved Ruaha for the uncrowded wildlife viewing it offered, and Ikuka knows how to make that happen. We had a phenomenal guide (Festo, aka "professor" by other guides) who grew up in the Ruaha bush and knows it.

The location of the lodge on an escarpment makes for incredible views from beautiful huts, each very private, all handbuilt by Mark and Chloe the owners. Their presence - and lack of big business - are clearly felt throughout.

The location with its view is about 20 min from the riverbed, but the drive back and forth did not get tiring. The large population of baobob trees add depth to the landscape. We will likely return in February just to see the area green. If you go, do take a walking safari for a half-day with Mark or one of the guides." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

H family
Surrey

"Amazing place"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Ikuka is a wonderful place - the camp is beautiful - the rooms very large, luxurious and secluded - the staff brilliant - food great

The wildlife is very good (lions, leopards, hippos, many elephants etc - no hippo in Ruaha) - not as many animals as the serengeti but much quieter" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lee H
Briarcliff, NY

"Wonderful, just wonderful!"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"All the people - the owner, the managers, the guides, and all the staff were super helpful, friendly, welcoming, and everyone had good English.

The bungalows are very private, very large and light, very well appointed. Zero complaints.

Our guide was so good (knowledgeable, very good English, very nice guy)! We had 8 safaris in 4 days, and we had a great time on every trip.

Some of the excellence of the safaris is due to Ruaha Park, of course. We saw 3 groups of lions, a leopard, many elephants and giraffes, so many birds (our guide was an excellent spotter, too)." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr PC
SE London

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2019
"Mark and his team were very good and extremely friendly.

The food was plentiful but a bit stodgy.

We were disappointed that there were no walking safaris because of the onset of the wet season.

Our guide, Festo, was most knowledgeable and with help we spotted 70 different species of birds.

A really great location" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Exceptional Safari at Ikuka"

4 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2019
"From the moment the plane landed and we were welcomed by Festo, our guide, with chocolate biscuits and a huge smile, we knew we were in safe and knowledgeable hands.We had a hugely enjoyable drive to the lodge seeing lots of birds and game en route. The long green grasses and baobab trees looked beautiful and it was a perfect temperature.

Mark and his team work really well together and there is a very happy atmosphere. We loved being welcomed on return from game drives by the team smiling and waving. The pool was wonderfully cool but does have a funny smell.

Some nights were chilly and we were glad of hot water bottles. The laundry were brilliant as all my husbands clothes were soaking wet as his suitcase had been left in the rain at Dar es Salaam airport. All meals were excellent, we had to ask for smaller portions as three huge course and cake for tea was too much for us!
Our room was good with stunning views, but we found being zipped in overnight as opposed to mosquito nets was a bore as whoever went to the loo in the night woke the other up!

Festo, our guide throughout, was excellent. We would stay at Ikuka again to be with Festo. He has great knowledge and experience and is also a brilliant mimic, birds, animals and Italian guests! Wonderful Great eagle owls and pale spotted owls very special. We are considering returning to Ikuka next February." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr A & Mrs V
London

"Ikuka Review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2019
"Amazing location, game drives with Festo were perfect, the people wonderful and the food super yummi." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S.
Abergavenny

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"A spectacular location with a wonderful dining and bar area and great attention to detail with a friendly and attentive staff. The food was generally good.

Whilst the rooms were well appointed the design of the bathrooms outside the enclosed tented area at night was both inconvenient and also meant that visits to the bathroom during the night and in the morning were fraught with bat droppings/insects of various sizes everywhere.

We had a first class guide in Festo who enhanced our safari drives with both his natural wit and extensive knowledge of all aspects of the Ruaha." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N.
Watford

"A bit of luxury and stunning views at Ikuka"

5 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2019
"From the moment I saw the view when I first arrived at Ikuka Safari Camp, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay. The camp has a stylish, yet very natural and rustic look to it, and its location looking out across Ruaha National Park was absolutely stunning. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully designed, and the veranda also has great views across Ruaha.

The staff at Ikuka were all incredibly friendly, and went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed. The managers Mark and Tanya were also very friendly and attentive, and always had dinner with the guests in the evening. All of the food was delicious, and there was always a special vegetarian option waiting for me, which was much appreciated!

Our safari guide Habibo was very knowledgeable, and led us to some amazing views of two separate leopards, hundreds of elephants and plenty of beautiful birds. He also found some lovely spots for us to enjoy our sundowners and to take in the sights and sounds of Ruaha.

I had been wanting to visit Ruaha for several years prior to my trip, and wasn't disappointed. It really had a rugged beauty to it. Being the green season, the wildlife was rather spread out, but we still saw plenty, especially elephants. I have never seen so many in my life! The birdlife was outstanding too. I hope to visit again someday!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"Another remarkable property in an unbelievable location. We loved our guide Reuben, who went out of his way to show us different parts of the park and the wonders of wildlife.

I still had a cold so I stayed at the camp one morning. The staff was quite kind and solicitous.

This was the perfect place to finish our safari adventure." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Showing 11-20 of 38
97%
38 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa