This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A
Calgary, Canada

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2012
"I flew straight through to Beho Beho - it's a great place to recover from jet lag! The room was lovely -right on up there with the best I have seen/enjoyed. Food superb; fabulous guides. great game viewing. best was the company, and meeting the characters, including the owners - getting the story behind the scenes.

I am just sorry I was so tired, and still had to tie up some loose work ends remotely, but at least that was expedited by the setting, and internet connections." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"Beho Beho -The Very Best"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2012
"This was our second visit to Beho Beho and it was just as wonderful as last year. Everyone made us feel so welcome, our banda was fabulous and we really enjoyed the bath! Karin's food was delicious - lobster, fillet steak, duck, prawns to name just a few of the fantastic meals we had in various locations in the camp and the Bush breakfasts and dinner were so exciting.

Onesmo, Heribert and Walter are superb guides, not only sharing their great knowledge but also making games drives and walks such fun.

Our very close encounter with a wonderfully peaceful elephant will never be forgotten, nor the swarm of Carmine Bee Eaters flying around us as we drove along and our sighting of a large pack of wild dogs. Only a small example of the incredible amount of wildlife we saw." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
France

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"This has to be the highlight of our trip.

We expected a lot after reading the rave reviews on Beho Beho, and all our expectations were met and actually exceeded! We were looked after like royalties by management, guides and staff alike. The rooms, food/drinks, facilties and guiding were simply outstanding and we can only praise the efforts the Beho Beho staff made to please and surprise us all the time.

The Selous is a beautiful game reserve, teeming with wild life - we even got to see a pack of wild dogs and their pups! This was one of our best stays ever and we bring back with us wonderful memories.

Almost two weeks later, my husband and I are still raving about it...!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Richmond

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"A really fun place to stay. Plenty of choice on activities and so well organised. Food was superb - breakfasts cooked out on safari, delicious teas, and evening meals really special - even lobster thermidor! Sundowners served in beautiful spots watching sunsets and appreciating the scenery.

Pool is small with little space to sit - not a problem when we were there but if more wanted to use this facility there wasn't really a large enough area. We understand this may form part of their forthcoming expansion plans." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms H
Kent

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"We loved it!

The outstanding thing for us was the quality of the guiding. We felt that we had moved up to another level, with all guides extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We also really liked having different guides for different activities. This enabled us to experience their different interests and characters. Why don't other camps do this?

The rooms were large with period furniture and the views were amazing.

The range of activities was excellent, with wonderful walking as well as drives and a great day trip to the lake and hot springs." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Norfolk

"Extraordinary luxury in the wilderness"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Fabulous accommodation, carefully thought out, beautifully decorated and complete with every detail, down to the telescope on the verandah, and wooden boxes to protect anything that might appeal to the thieving squirrels!

The food was quite exceptional and very abundant. The service was meticulous, unobtrusive and extremely efficient. We much appreciated the different locations for dinner every night, in different parts of the camp and its environs, and one evening out in the bush. The same for the sundowners which just happened to appear by magic at the end of our afternoon game walks, and still managed to give the impression that it was accidental! Always, the tables were set quite beautifully, with a Masai blanket over each chair in case the evening became chilly. So much real thought has gone into the whole enterprise.

Bush camp was an extraordinary experience: coming upon the lanterns in the clearing at the end of our walk, the sundowners again, the log fire, the sumptuous tents with a Moroccan flavour, the hot showers, the flush loo - and again, the outstanding dinner - produced on site and served, as ever, in great style, apparently from behind a bush! Similarly the extensive breakfast by the lake: again, produced from behind a bush!

We appreciated the flexibility of the place: each day you could walk or drive to see game. Or both. The walks are totally brilliant - quite different from a drive. We found ourselves increasingly alert, observant, and aware of the slightest movement. Our ability to spot game improved dramatically over our stay. On a walk it is essential to feel totally confident in the guide and we did. We walked with both Walter and Onesmo and felt entirely safe with both. They were competent, informed, interesting and entirely professional all the time we walked, and relaxed and entertaining when we had finished. Clearly, they do the same walks, the same drives, week after week with different guests, and yet at no time did they ever give an impression of routine or boredom. They seemed as energised and interested as we were.

This was an outstanding experience and we loved it." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Dr F
San Fran

"Lions, lions, lions and great guides"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Extraordinary camp with a delightful staff and an abundance of animals.

The guides were even better than those we had in Botswana. Our frequent up-close experiences with lions and our success at tracking down the wild dogs really stood out. Can't recommend the walking safari highly enough.

To learn to walk around a breeding herd of elephants by constantly testing the air currents and remaining downwind was thrilling. The Selous is still being discovered and it feels more isolated and wild than the parks on the main safari circuits." See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Ashbourne

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"Very friendly and helpful. I loved the walking safaris finishing with sundowner drinks in the bush. Fantastic views from our room and public areas.

Few ants in room, otherwise clean and luxurious." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Birghton

"Amazing hospitality at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2011
"We had an amazing 5 days at Beho Beho, with one night in the Bush Camp as a special surprise for my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary. The rooms and setting here are spectacular, but what really sets this place apart are the wonderful staff and incredibly generous hospitality. The food was delicious and varied, and meals were enjoyed in several well-positioned settings in and around the lodge.

There was great flexibility on where and when you could walk or drive, so it was possible to drive in the morning and walk in the afternoon, or vice versa. Often on the drives you had the jeep and guide to yourself so it was very personalised and the guides' knowledge was second to none.

The bush camp is spectacular and makes for a very memorable experience. Ian, Kimberley, and the whole team went out of their way to keep the surprise a secret and everything was expertly and attentively arranged. It is rare to go somewhere where the people, the food and the service are equally impeccable and I would not hesitate to recommend this very special place." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N Bledlow
UK

"Beho Beho is the best!"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2011
"BehoBeho was a very special experience.

The team worked as a whole to make sure that we had the best time and were very flexible in adapting to changes of plan if requested. They made each outing new and exciting and were fun to be with. We felt the personal involvement of all the guides not only in the safari programme but also in the social side of the camp was outstanding as was the attention of all the staff.

The accommodation and food were superb and the extra surprises and treats (bush dinner etc.) were a real bonus. Altogether a very memorable experience - thank you so much!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa