This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T & Mrs M
Co Dur.

"Wonderful safari at Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2011
"Beho Beho exceeded all of our expectations. From the moment the light aircraft touched down on the airstrip and we met Walter we felt as though we were part of the Beho Beho family. We received a really warm welcome from everybody we met and found the accommodation and service outstanding in every repect.

Our Banda(number 5) was fabulous. It was all that we had read about and more besides. The room was luxurious with pieces of antique furniture and extremely comfortable chairs to relax in. The outside bath was an added bonus especially when bathing under the stars with animals close by. The views from the verandah were breathtaking and we saw many animals while sitting there.

Mealtimes were always friendly and shared with good company and much storytelling and laughter. The seating arrangements and locations where we ate changed on a daily basis which added more interest to mealtimes. The food was of a very high standard and where plated were just a little to generous for us. The day started at 0545 with delicious coffee in our Banda, however actual breakfast was always taken out in the bush at around 1000 but on a personal note we would have liked to start the day with a little toast, cereal or a light breakfast with our coffee. In hindsight we feel had we asked then that would have been provided.

The guides at Beho Beho without exception were friendly, skilled, professional and highly knowledgeable. No question was too much trouble or left unanswered. Every activity always felt like a lesson in bushcraft. We both thorougly enjoyed being out in the bush with experts and during our stay we saw many animals and birds.

Overall the safari at Beho Beho was a once in a life time experience.

Thank you everyone at Beho Beho. We loved every minute of it." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The T family
Woking

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2011
"Difficult, if not impossible to fault." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss B & Mr R
UK

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2011
"Beho Beho far exceeded our expectations - superb Safari experience, friendly guides/staff and the food was amazing. The location is beautiful, the camp overall is of a very high standard." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms W
Redhill

"Beho Beho review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2011
"The only thoughts we had on how to improve the stay would be to make more of local food and produce for the meals and to show more on how sustainable the camp is and how it helps the local community as it's always interesting to know about those types of things" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms W
Redhill

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2011
"We had an excellent stay at Beho Beho and would recommend it to others thinking of staying here.

The rooms were beautiful and the food was as you would expect from a top quality restaurant.

The quality of the guiding was also excellent and we has some very interesting and thrilling walks and drives where it was often just the two of us with the guide which was brilliant." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The D family
Devon

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2011
"The setting ,the lodges and the hotel are breathtaking. Has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed in. Guides are brilliant, despite a somewhat unnerving incident on a walking safari !

The manager and staff work really hard at creating an inclusive house party atmosphere. It would be a shame if it became a ghetto for honeymoon couples though ." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Ms H
UK

"Exceptional camp in an amazing setting"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2011
"Beho Beho is in a class of its own, the lodge itself is beautifully done, the individual rooms are stunning with the most wonderful views over the park and the setting is awe inspiring.

The part of the Selous park which Beho Beho is located is amazing, such a diversity of habitats, from forests, to vast plains to lakes. Also the amount of game there is very impressive and the guides were extremely knowledgable, enthusiastic and good fun.

The hospitality in general was first rate and we had great fun with the guides in the evenings and enjoyed the communal approach they took to meal times and drinks. The food was also excellent and the variety of surprise lunches and dinners etc in the bush was great.

I would recommend Beho Beho to anyone wishing to go on safari, it is a very special place." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Oakham

"Beho Beho for 5 nights"

5 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2011
"Beho Beho is more like a 5* hotel than a safari camp in some respects - antique furniture and rugs in the bandas, unlimited electricity and hot water and plenty of powerpoints for charging batteries etc. But despite that the animals still wander in and around the camp to its small watering hole and around the bandas.

All the staff were attentive and great company, from Ian and Kimberley, the managers, Karin in charge of catering, Heribert and Walter, our extremely informative guides, to Simba, the ever-smiling barman who set up drinks in the most spectacular sundown spots.

We undertook game drives, walks and a boat trip on Lake Tagala. The landscape is very beautiful and when we visited was still quite green. While this meant that there were many flowers and butterflies, but it did make finding animals more of a challenge. We found the wild dogs in lovely early morning light, but big cats were in short supply, although they were heard most nights. Were it not for a few fresh footprints, we would have driven straight past 3 lionesses and their cubs, so well were they concealed under a bush. Sundowners and breakfasts in the bush were much appreciated." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2011
"Yet another dream stay but we and others were disappointed that Sacha and Tam had already departed. Ian and staff were brilliant and we wish them well in the future." See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Cambs.

"Beho Beho - perfection in the bush"

5 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2011
"A truly magical place - views from bandas amazing & really enjoyed the "open" aspect of the verandah & shower. Bandas are very well designed & equipped with everything you need & offer extreme comfort. The location of the lodge on the hillside allowed the breeze to cool the rooms & loved being able to enjoy the views & hear the animals close by. Hospitality from Management & staff was outstanding & within no time it felt like a friendly house-party atmosphere.

Loved the flexibility of the game drives & having "bush breakfast" allowed us to be out in the mornings for 5 hours. Ian, Onesmo & Salum were excellent hosts & their individual personalities added greatly to our enjoyment of our safari. Our game drives were exciting & really enjoyed the day at the Lake with the "surprise" bush breakfast.

The food at Beho was outstanding & really enjoyed having lunch & dinner in a different location each day - it was a nice surprise each evening - especially our last night having dinner out in the bush alongside the International Airport!

We were delayed leaving Beho due to Dar airport being closed after the bombing - but life at Beho carried on as normal - Onesmo took us on another game drive where we found the dogs !! & lunch was provided before our plane arrived later that afternoon. Beho is a very special place - we were very lucky to be the only guests - 4 - on our 1st night & only 6 people for our whole stay which made the experience even more special & added greatly to the wonderful atmosphere.

Beho is doing everything right & we cant wait to return again in the future - BEHO should stand for Best at Everything - Hospitality Outstanding !" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-110 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (69 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa