This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs I
Suffolk

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2011
"The most amazing holiday we have ever had, the staff were courtious, efficient and friendly managing to pre guess our every need, but still managed to create a relaxed and welcoming environment, we really felt part of a big family. We were made to feel very special as if we were the only guests they had to entertain, requesting what we would like to do each day and ensuring wish lists were fulfilled...we also felt very secure the rangers are very professional and make one feel able to put your own safety in their capable hands. We did several 'on foot' safaris and never felt at risk or vulnerable at any time.
The waiting staff at the camp were conspicuous by their abscence,however offered service of the very highest standard at all times and always with a smile, they appeared from nowhere at sundowners on the plains during our walking safari and even thought to park the jeep some distance from the directors chairs so we would not notice....they know how to do it perfectly at this camp!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"Another great camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2011
"We received a very warm welcome from all at Beho Beho - this is one of the best camps we have ever stayed at.

The room was enormous, superb vista and it was great to have the front open to enjoy the breezes - even at night. Food was wonderful, Tamlyn has a great menu, lobster, prawns, steaks, swahli food etc etc and fantastic salads. We really enjoyed it all. Our guides, Onesma, Heribert and Sallum were great fun and the drive to the lake and the hot spings, with breakfast was memorable - it MUST be experienced (I will say no more so as not to spoil the surprises!).

We enjoyed our bush walks - something I thought I would never attempt! We really can't speak too highly of Beho Beho and I will be submitting photographs for the competition in the hope of winning a return visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Beho Beho - A fabulous birthday venue"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2011
"Out of the relative cool of Ruaha we arrived back in the Selous to another empty camp - apart from us and the wonderful staff! 5 fabulous days as the single focus of the entire staff. Birthdays do not get much better!

Fabulous thatched bandas with a wash basin each and fans to ward off the continuing heat and humidity. If that was not enough, there was always the swimming pool to relax in with an ice cold Tusker or G&T! Sacha, Tamlyn, Mr Simba, Clarence and the dynamic guiding duo of Onesmo and Heribert proved to be a perfect formula for a perfect safari holiday.

We saw all that was available, including lion having a 'domestic', tiny cubs and with Heribert, we found the wild dog pack that had been 'missing' for some time. The birds were awesome with great sightings of carmine bee eaters and a huge number of eagles and other raptors. The 5 hour walk in the heat on my birthday was an experience never to be forgotten.

Beho Beho may seem to be over the top to some but despite being the lap of luxury it still delivers a real safari experience. We loved it and were fortunate to meet Charlie Bayley the larger than life owner out from the UK to supervise the off season improvements. Meeting Charlie explains how Beho Beho can combine all the ingredients of safari without pointless discomfort. A truly sensational end to our holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Bath

"Superb experience at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2010
"This is a five star camp with a superb positiion and outstanding romms and facilities. Tamlyn was an excellent hostess and our guide, Heribert, was very very good. He found us some very special sightings (eg wild dogs and lion cubs) and had very deep knowledge of the wildlife and also of conservation issues.

We had wanted to include another boat safari on the lake on our fourth day. That could have been fitted in before another couple went on one (in practice well after we would have been finished. We felt the arrangements were not always as flexible as they could have been." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G & G
Glasgow

"Dog days at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"We were a bit apprehensive before going to Beho Beho since it seemed a bit luxurious compared to our normal choices but Expert Africa rated it very highly and it was within our budget so we were persuaded and rightly so.

The camp sits on a hillside with wonderful views and allows the breeze to flow through - very welcome at the hottest times of year. It also sits in an area of the Game Reserve away from most other camps so has a feel of a private concession with very few other vehicles about. Sacha and Tam run a slick and high-quality operation where the food is akin to that you expect in city restaurant rather than in the bush. Other nice touches are the small swimming pool and the illuminated water hole where guests can watch animals coming to drink while having one themselves.

The camp does take families with children 12+ and there were three teenagers also resident on our first day who we felt were at odds with the overall communal but adult feel of the camp - one day didn't matter but if it had been all four then that could have become an issue for us.

An unusual aspect of Beho Beho is that you are not assigned to a single guide for your stay but rather spend time with different guides depending on what activity you want to do - game drives and boating were excellent but the real highlight for us was the walking.

Watching wild dog playing, being chased by elephant, losing a pack member and reuniting again whilst on foot when you can appreciate all the sounds and smells of the action is the stuff of an old hand's dream and we were so lucky to be there to experience it all with Sacha's expert guiding. Altogether brilliant!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr S
London

"Perfect safari at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Tam and Sacha have created a fabulous safari experience. The facilities are luxurious yet cosy, the staff are wonderful but what sets it apart is the personalities of the guides. They are all genuinely interested in the flora and fauna around them, they convey that enthusiasm in everything that they do. The mix of walking, driving and boat trips means that you are never bored. We were never crowded or hurried and there was no problem if we wanted to stop and look at a bird or what often turned out to be a bit of bush!

The accomodation and the service was fantastic. The rooms were perfect, and the little touches like the size and quality of the towels, made all the difference. The food was wonderful, the only thing I had to worry about was how much weight I had put on by the end of the week! The staff could not have been nicer.

We went fly camping. I had never been camping before and If this is camping I can do it again!

I would like to mention tam and Julia in particular. i had lots of fum with the girls discussing a whole variety of topics and it just made the experience feel like a very hot and exotic trip with friends.

We also thorughly enjoyed general chat with the guides and our fellow guests. We will be back but next time to see Beho in a different season." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"We chose to visit Beho Beho on the recommendatoin of a friend. Having just come from a fabulous experience at Sand Rivers, we were wondering if it could possibly match up. From the point at which we handed over at the hot springs, it became clear that we would have a wonderful time at Beho Beho.

The site of the camp, high up on a hill, gives fabulous views over the surrounding landscape. Our room, at the far end of the camp, was lovely. The team were welcoming, friendly and hospitable at every level. Having been to Zimbabwe several times, we discovered acquaintances in common with Tam and Sasha which was a real delight.

The highlight of the camp had to be seeing a civet wandering around late at night; a visit during dinner one evening from Bond, a regular elephant visitor; and encountering a mother elephant and her youngsters one morning munching their way through the trees, shrubs and flower beds.

The food at Beho Beho is out of this world - how do they do it?" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs RW
NW London

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2010
"We started at Mwagusi, so Beho Beho had a lot to live up to. It was of course a wonderful experience, but felt just a little over the top at times. The food was not as good as at Mwagusi, but that was a matter of taste as much as anything.

If we had not been to Mwagusi, the bush camp at Beho Beho might have felt like a more spectacular experience than it was. Again, a little over the top." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Yorks

"Great safari at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"We could find no fault with Beho Beho, the camp and location were stunning, our room had a bath as well as shower, and was very spacious with a view over the plains.

The guides were very knowledgeable, the combination of walks and game drives was an excellent way to see the animals up close, the full day out to lake Tagalala was very special.

The highlight was the bush night, the tent was delightful as was the surprise bottle of champagne, from the staff to celebrate my birthday. Our walking guide Ian made us feel safe and really enjoy being in the bush thanks to his knowledge, he looked after us extremely well.

We thought it particularly good that we all had meals together, guides, hostess and guests, it was more like a house party with friends, and a great way to get to know people." See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Beho Beho - a luxury home on safari"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"Beho Beho was very special ; luxury and comfort
but with the personal touches of a much loved
home . A quality experience in every detail and
charming hosts .
Excellent game viewing and varied terrain with
top calibre guides . Could have stayed longer
and hope to return ." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa