This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Norfolk

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2009
"Sacha and Tam were delightful and managed everything so well. A superb swimming pool.

We will return." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs.

"Wonderful stay at Beho Beho safari lodge"

4 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2009
"The whole experience was wonderful. The accommodation was excellent, everything had been thought of such as mosquito repellent, a torch for the evenings, a complimentary kanga for the pool, washing powder for the ladies to wash their smalls.
The food was excellent and we particularly enjoyed their custom of laying lunch and dinner at a different place for each meal with different table settings.

We thought the guiding was very good indeed (although we had nothing to compare it with) and were pleased to be there for Sean and Kim Lues' last week there - they have now moved to Dar - they were delightful and extremely knowledgeable hosts. We also thoroughly enjoyed the other 3 guides too. Their knowledge seemed limitless.

We were lucky to be the only guests for the first 3 nights - very spoiling." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr H
London

"Beho Beho Brilliance"

4 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2008
"An entirely perfect way to start our honeymoon. The staff at Beho Beho give you an incredibly personal service (particularly when you're the only people in camp as was the case for the majority of our stay!).

The guiding was fantastic - for our driving safaris, Onesmo and Salum had very different styles, but both took us on fantastic journeys and were able to answer all our questions and more - they are both extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the bush and the wildlife. Getting stuck just added to the excitement of the experience! Sacha took us on some fantastic walks and again is amazingly knowledgeable and passionate about his subject. Watching two elephants play fighting from a vantage point in the rocks when they didn't know we were there was a real highlight.

The camp itself is beautifully located and being able to watch game from our bedroom and during mealtimes was fantastic - it was hard to remember when we moved on that we weren't going to spot a family of elephants from our breakfast table. The food was great and the service impeccable.

Bush Camp was a really special experience - we'll remember sharing our shower with an elephant for the rest of our lives and dining under the stars was perfect. The trip to Lake Tagalala was also brilliant - with the lakeside fry up a perfect surprise. All in all a great experience. Massive thanks to Onesmo, Salum, Sacha, Tam, Kim and all the rest of the staff." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Complete luxury"

4 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2008
"Beho Beho was fantastic and a real treat. To have such luxury in the middle of the bush was amazing. We were made very welcome by Tamlyn and Sacha who were great hosts. Our introduction to life in camp was rudely interrupted by Joseph, the semi-resident elephant, who was most put out that he wasn't allowed to eat our cake! We were very impressed by Sacha and Sean's handling of an elephant's tantrum because they made sure that we were well out of the way and we felt safe.

Guiding: Sean and Salum were our guides on different days for drives. They showed us a great variety of wildlife and birds. We will never forget Sean almost running down the path to get us at 6:15am to tell us, very excitedly, that the wild dogs were near the airstrip. We spent the best part of 2 hours with the pack and felt very privileged. The guides' enthusiasm was infectious! We also went out walking which was great and allowed us to see a different side of the bush. Sean and Sacha were extremely knowledgeable and we learnt a lot.

People: The people in camp were great - you could not ask for a nicer and more friendly group of people. Everyone was really helpful and we were treated so well. The service was seemless and there was never a time when we waited for anything (there was always someone asking if we would like drinks/refreshments and generally making sure we were ok). The camp offered some of the best service we've experienced anywhere.

Accommodation: Our cottage was stunning and the views were wonderful. We loved having the "curtains" open so that the cottage was open to the views all the time. Housekeeping was of a very high standard and the laundry service was efficient.

Food: The food was amazing - sitting under the stars eating barbequed lobster on our first night whilst watching the wild dogs at the pool was such an experience. The quality and variety of food was fantastic, beautifully presented and freshly prepared. There is so much to eat that we would have been very fat had we stayed longer (cakes and desserts were my particular highlights!)" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms A
UK

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2008
"Absolutely incredible experience.

Beautifully fitted-out bandas with a wonderful panorama of the valley below. Lovely toiletries & linen.

Amazing food - including the surprise breakfast with the hippos & crocs at Lake Tagalala. Sun-downers in stunning locations were a highlight of each day.

The hosting by Tamlyn & Sacha was incredible - warm and inclusive, they are experts of their profession - ensuring a wonderful atmosphere at the camp. It felt like holidaying with good friends!

Guiding was of an excellent standard and density of wildlife was stunning. Sacha's interest in birds and plant-life added an extra dimension to the safari experience - a welcome change from just 'big game' spotting which was especially noticeable during the walking safaris.

Went to both Ruaha & Selous - and enjoyed the contrast of the two. Was glad to have gone to Ruaha first and had an authentic camping safari experience in a really dry environment. However, after the lakes and lush-ness of Selous area, the fantastic numbers of birds & wildlife, as well as the lux of Beho Beho, it is pretty hard to contemplate anywhere else.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr J
London

"excellence everywhere at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2008
"You just can't fault this place. The guiding was knowledgeable, sensitive and the guides soon picked up on what interested us and made the whole experience great fun even though we never found the wild dogs.

The rooms were spectacular, the food was excellent and althogether we were loathe to leave.

We didn't really need/want the level of luxury but the ethos of the management and guides made it worth every penny." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
E Sussex

"Beho Beho a luxuary home from home"

5 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"Tamlyn and Kim made us most welcome and they created a lovely atmosphere with all the guests.
Guides Sean, Sacha and Onesmo very knowledgeable and made every drive, walk and boat trip really interesting even the trainee guide, Salum, gave us some wonderful sightings.

Large pack of wild dogs including 9 puppies were a highlight.

They expect to produce a bird and animal checklist in the near future." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"Great atmosphere at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"Luxurious and well apppointed, the lodge has a great atmosphere. Friendly staff who go out of their way to help. Guiding very good although could benefit further from having a separate driver and guide like in Mwagusi. Lovely location although at times when water is short it is a long drive to the water holes.

Its unfortunate that Selous has so many Tsetse flies.

Overall we had a great time." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2008
"An expensive and distinctive camp - a real treat at the end of a trip. Great attention to detail both in the accommodation and the smooth running of the place. More like staying in someone's African retreat than a regular camp. But this is simple, not gold-plated, luxury. The stone and thatch bandas have amazing open terraces with a cinemascope view over the hills and a welcome breeze.

The food is great and the managers are adept at engaging their guests and bringing them together.

The walking is good here, especially out to the First World War battlefield of Beho Beho where Selous was killed. The guiding has a very good reputation, although we were surprised that a number of guides had only completed their training relatively recently.

Vehicles have a single guide who is also the driver - not common practice elsewhere. That said the game is good, particularly lion and elephant. The trip to Lake Tagalala and the Hot Springs makes a great day out." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Porky
Perth

"Beho Beho is a must visit!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2008
"Beho Beho is simply first class. It is excellently appointed in all respects and the views from its hillltop location are excellent. The lodges are beautifully appointed with excellent furnishing and some "deadly" comfortable lounge chairs and sofas which can quickly turn a comfortable "rest" into a "nap".

The drives in Selous are great because there is nobody else around. The animal sightings are excellent. I was there at a time of very heavy rains. This made it hardy to do game drives and the lush vegetation made it easier for the animals to be invisible. However, the guides were excellent in every respect and dealt with the difficult conditions with great competence. Even getting bogged to the axles was great fun ....... especially as hyenas and vultures gathered!

The only hiccup was a lack of warm/hot water into Lodge 5. On most days it wouldn't matter but on a wet miserable day with lots of mud it would have been handy." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 141-150 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa