This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 151-160 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
D & S
Shenfield Essex

"Beho Beho"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2008
"Still cannot be faulted - the best camp ever! Welcoming and friendly staff make a great atmosphere." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Coucal
Herts

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2008
"Probably our most memorable overall camp experience anywhere in Africa. The location and facilities are stunning, and the camp succeeds brilliantly in conveying the feeling of being a guest at a house party, rather than just a "customer". Guiding is excellent, with - to us - the ideal balance of professionalism and personal relationship. We were lucky enough to bump into our splendid guide Onno on the plane flying into the Selous, so we had a chance to get to know him early.

We visited at a time when the wet season was arriving a bit early, so the whole area was beautifully green and the animals were fat and happy - a highly recommended experience if you've only ever experienced the dry season before. Getting around does become more difficult though, so be prepared to get stuck in the mud a few times!

Game viewing was very good overall, with particularly good bird sightings. Above all else we visited Beho Beho (hopefully) to see wild dogs, and we were lucky enough to have two extended sightings of a large and relaxed pack - wonderful. Highly recommended.

One final comment - the food was utterly outstanding - when you sit down to lobster on your first night in camp you know you're in good hands! Oh, and one final final comment - my snooker record was played 2, won 2, so Augustine needs to keep practising!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Bee-eater
UK

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2008
"Truely an outstanding and memorable experience. Without a doubt the best lodge we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Just about everything was perfect from the quality of the guides, the accommodation, the food, the wildlife, sundowners, the management and the overall ambience.

It's everything you would expect from a top quality safari lodge from the initial impressions / personal greetings on arrival right through to the day we had to reluncantly leave. The guides are some of the best we have ever experienced and the walking safaris exceptional.

We were very sorry to leave and if we had a critisism it would be that 4 nights was not long enough and we could eaisly stayed for another couple of nights.

Thank you Expert Africa for recommending the Beho Beho lodge to us." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LC
SW London

"Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2007
"Accommodation was fabulous, particularly loved having coffee at dawn watching the bush before a game drive.
I found the food excellent, Mark said it was good - he doesn't like mixed foods or self service (for lunch).
We wanted for nothing. Best Christmas I have had as an adult (despite having a virus (from England).
Didn't get time to use the swimming pool.
Thought all the staff were brilliant. Everyone so friendly. Very easy to relax.
Excellent knowledge of local animals, plants, birds etc etc.
Chalets were exceptional, attention to detail amazing.
Animals in abundance, spolit for choice.
I'm speachless, actually!! Can't think of anything negative." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Purple Rollers
UK

"The Begho Beho five star hotel."

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"The level of service, the ambience and the sheer goodwill of all the staff was superb. The whole place was maintained to the point that it was possible to think that it was completed yesterday.

The guides on the game drives were patient, knowledgeable and good company and the vehicles were even washed between drives!

We had a wonderful time that we will never forget." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs Guineafowl
UK

"Paradise at Beho Beho"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"Flying in to the private airport was a wonderful way to begin - the welcome we got from Tamlyn was gorgeous. We felt at home immediately. She made us feel as though we were the first visitors that year! Our individual rooms were a wow factor - we all swooned over the extreme comfort and coolness of them and could have spent a lot moire time in them very easily.

However, we were there to see the animals as well as indulging ourselves. We loved the house party atmosphere and having dinner in so many different places was a real treat. The food was excellent and the service was superb - we left feeling like royalty.

The game drives were interesting - we had to really look for animals - Onno certainly found the ones that were there for us - we had a ball with him - so thank you Onno for a very amusing few days. In particular, we loved the dry river drive where we saw the bee-eaters catching all the swallowtails and other insects and diving into their little holes in the riverbank. The Tagalala Lake day was extremely enjoyable - we'll never have such a surprise breakfast again, I'm sure.

The highlight of our Beho Beho visit were the two walks we did with Sacha and Sean. The walk with Sean on our last evening when we walked with the elephants and a hippo was breathtaking. I think it is a great shame that walking was not "pushed" more - perhaps from you in London. Walks there did not seem to be as hot as expected - at Mwagusi it was really hot and our ranger was not nearly so informative - so we had been slightly put off walking there! Walking with Sacha and Sean was a wonderful experience and we really regret that we did not do more at Beho Beho." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F
Islington

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2007
"Beho Beho was truly amazing! From the hospitality to the views, the food to the luxury of the rooms one could not find a fault.

It is well-worth the cost, a once in a life time experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Kent

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2007
"We had the most fantastic time, staff could not have been more friendly & helpful our rooms were Fantastic with a real wow factor,our guide was brilliant{Onesmo top man}. he made sure we saw all the animals we wanted & more. breakfast by the lake & swimming in the hot springs were a wonderfull surprise, all in all we had a brilliant time & wished we had had more time there." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms B
London

"BehoBeho"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2007
"An absolutely amazing experience, wonderful.

Great place, great food, great staff." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms-C & Mr-T
UK

"1st class guiding & hospitaliity at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2007
"The guided walks led by Sean and Sacha are one of our best safari experiences yet. The game drives led by Onno are also excellent. They have great expertise in their knowledge of the plants and animals, and also in judging their guests appetite for adventure and stamina. Tracking (or avoiding) elephant on foot requires a huge amount of trust in your guide but is an unforgetable experience.

Beho Beho's hosptality is excellent too. The quality and variety of food was the best we have had at any safari lodge. Dinner has a lovely houseparty atmosphere, aided by generous servings of drinks and comfortable squashy sofas for pre and post dinner relaxing. Housekeeping is faultless and seems to happen by magic. Not once did we see a cleaner but our room was always immaculate." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 151-160 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa