This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr N
Canterbury

"Return to Beho Beho, excellent"

5 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2018
"This was our second time to Beho Beho and it was just as good as before. The Managers have changed but the guides were the same as before.

The game drives were excellent, hospitality unbeatable and the Banda was all that was needed and more.

Saw good amount of game highlighted by a pack of dogs enjoying a kill. Not enormous amount of varied game but most of what we wanted to see.

The standard of the food was truly amazing and the location of eating places at the lodge were many and varied....we all sat on a communal table with some of the guides." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs M
Mexico

"Luxury camp great game viewing fantastic food"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"Definitely a cut above the other camps in terms of quality of accommodation, service and food. The game viewing was also fantastic.

They have a policy of allocating a different guide to you each day. A highlight is a boat trip on a lake with about 400 hippos. We dined communally in a different location around the camp each evening. Food superb and wines outstanding. Staff wonderful.

The suites are completely open at the front overlooking a water hole and you have to be prepared for the roaring of the hippos and the lions and other animals, sometimes all night!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"Luxury camp - great guiding"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"This was our second visit to Beho Beho which obviously means we rate it! The camp itself is extremely comfortable but not formal. Set on an escarpment, the bandhas are incredibly spacious and open to the bush. There is also a small swimming pool affording a wonderful view of the world below.

The staff do all they can to ensure you have a good time and, unlike other camps where you are assigned one guide, you go out with all the guides at different times. I really like this system, as you get a different slant as everyone stamps his own personality on his game drives. We saw plenty of game - including wild dogs hunting and had a good day out on Lake Tagalala.

A warm and friendly camp with excellent guiding - thoroughly enjoyable." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Safari addict
UK

"One of the best"

4 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2018
"I have stayed in a number of camps in Africa and Beho Beho is definately in the top league from every point of view.

The accommodation is excellent with your own personal view of the Selous. The guiding is of the highest quality. The food would past muster against the best city restaurants. The particular highlight of Beho Beho is the hospitality and general ambience, you almost feel like part of the camp 'family'. Yes, it is more expensive than the alternatives, but if ever there was a case of you get what you pay for, it is here.

I did travel off season and found it rather hot, and the insects when on game drives were a nuisance, however, this meant that there was no other traffic and there were plenty of young animals. As Beho Beho is on a hill there were cooling breezes and, with the in-room fans, it was no problem sleeping at night (after getting used to the animal sounds, particularly the hippos).

Hopefully I will have the chance to visit again during the dry season." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr S
USA

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2017
"This place is pure luxury! It felt like "home" from the start. The staff was very friendly and extremely welcoming. I really liked their "family-style" of doing things: all the guests and guides ate all the meals together, and they rotated the guides so that we could get a chance with other guests and other guides.

We stayed over Christmas, and they gave us gifts on our pillows every night. Also, because my husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon, on our last evening, we were surprised with a candlit bubble bath with champagne. The little surprises and touches were neverending. It was so hard to leave because we wanted to stay and stay and stay forever.
The room was beautiful with an incredible view.

The kitchen was extremely accommodating to my vegetarian diet. I actually felt like I ate better than my fellow meat-eating guests. They made meals for me specially and they were so delicious.

I enjoyed the remoteness of Beho Beho, as well. It felt, at times, like the whole world was at our feet. I would love to return." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Guildford

"The luxury Camp......Beho,Beho."

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2017
"As a finsl stop on our three week safari we could not have asked for a better camp. Beautiful bandas, great views, incredible food ( how do you produce great lobster for supper in the bush ?), attentive staff, excellent guides and good game viewing.

Lions parading through the camp and the gardener, a big bull tusker ! It simply could not have been better...............the lake trip with endless Hippo and Crocs, the Brunch ashore courtesy of the brilliant chefs and the last night supper up in the house which was simply the icing on the cake.

Many thanks to Phil, Trish and especially Mama B ! " See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B
Seattle

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"A perfect camp to end a trip. I think if I started here, I would have been disappointed with the other camps, which were all great in different ways. Felt totally pampered and happy to skip a safari to enjoy staying in camp. The food was excellent - like going to a fine restaurant in any city. I appreciated all the effort for this, but personally, I would have been happier with less heavy, more simple, maybe healthier/local choices. It felt a little fussy and formal as we are sitting outside in such an amazing place. Excellent staff - everyone. Cannot recommend it highly enough - as a conclusion to an amazing time to Tanzania. " See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"3rd time at Beho Beho"

6 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2017
"This is still our favourite lodge in Africa and we have experienced quite a few over the years, We received a very warm welcome from Phil and Tricia the managers and all the staff who remembered us from previous visits. It was like returning home.

The Selous was glorious. It had recently rained and everywhere was green and dotted with flowers. Clouds of butterflies took off around every corner. It was our first time at that time of the year and the contrast with the dry season was what we had hoped for. We expected to see less game as there was water everywhere but with our expert guides we saw so much. The highlight was a pack of Wild Dogs on our penultimate morning. They had been seen in the area the previous week but proved elusive until that day. They came streaming over the hill in the morning sunlight with blood on their muzzles. What a sight. We were thrilled after thirty years of looking !!

We went out with all the guides in turn who are first class. They each have their own specialities and interests but their general knowledge is excellent. We had two lovey trips out on Lake Tagalala which made a good contrast to the game drives

We love the family atmosphere at Beho Beho. Everyone drinks and eats together to discuss the day`s events and exchange experiences. A rumour was doing the rounds that at Beho Beho "they dress for dinner"!! This is not true. However we always showered and put on different clothes after the evening game drive as did most others.

Standards of food and accommodation remain as high as ever under Tricia`s watchful eye and she and Phil run a very efficient and professional lodge.

We love it and hope to return.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Goole

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2017
"We had a superb experience and cannot praise the staff enough. I'm not sure where to start! because everything was excellent ++++!

The banda was both comfortable and an experience - the viewing gallery meant you felt part of the Reserve and we spent hours just looking and listening.

Everyone says the guiding at Beho Beho is excellent. It was far better than we could imagine covering not just the animals but the ecology, creating an understanding of how everyithing interacted. Eaing our meals with the guides - as part of the family - gave us real insight of their lives.

The food and the ever changing location in which we ate was top quality. Between booking and our holiday I had developed a problem with swallowing. Not phased the food was tweaked so I could enjoy it and the daily smoothies were great.

We went on that particular date because it was the 100th year anniversay of the WW! action at Beho Beho in which my husbands grandfather took part being close to Capltain Salou when he was killed. Being able to pool information meant we all were able to understand what had happened." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs TD
SW London

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2016
"We stayed here in early November for our honeymoon and it was a real treat. The bandas are truly beautiful, better than any hotel room we have ever stayed at and with the most amazing view.

Very spectacular. Beho Beho is full of treats - the food is amazing and the Swahili lunch is still our favourite meal of the whole two week trip. I won't give too many details to ruin the surprise, but the team do go out of their way to offer unique and special experiences so if you have been on safari a lot, this would be a wonderful option to experience it in a different way.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa