This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Return to Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2016
"Beho Beho is a special place.

Partly due to the location in the hills, giving an amazing view down into the wooded valley. Partly due to the people, who passion for tracking, observing and sharing their knowledge is astonishing (even on a trip where ALL the guiding was of an excellent standard), and back at camp you are treated to wonderful food (too much).

The rooms are beautiful - I have another writing desk!

If the out door meal was gate-crashed by a hippo, one cannot blame it (and the organised retreat was very carefully handled).

Walking here is very good. " See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Another immensely enjoyable stay"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"Delighted to return to Beho Beho; the lodge is just as I remembered it from two years ago.

Terrific hosts and high-quality guides combine to make a memorable stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana; 5n in Tanzania; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs
New Jersey

"Luxury in the wild"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"You will probably ask "Am I really in the African bush???" Beho Beho is the ultimate in bush luxury.

Spacious boda with permanent stone walls, 2 level living space and constant electricity. Lobster thermador for dinner.

Game drives with extra special surprises. Opulence pure and simple." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Return visit to Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"As returning customers we found little has changed at Beho Beho making it still the best we have visited. It is a luxury unpretentious friendly camp. Food is exceptional, guiding is excellent for drives and for walking, accommodation extremely comfortable with everything you need.

You're always asked what you would like to do morning and afternoon. Whatever you decide - bush walking or driving - long or short - they take it on board and nothing is a problem. Phil and Trish welcome everyone with open arms. Trish always welcomes you back from your activity with a smile and a chat to see how things went, what you saw and how you are.

We did have some great walks in the bush. Had close encounters with elephant (lone males as well as herds with youngsters), hippo's, wild dogs. They were exciting, guides were very professional and we felt confident with them.

The guides do their best to ensure you get as much out of the bush as possible whether with general information or spotting the animals and birds.

We can't fault this camp and it suits us to start with a tented bush camp and then end with Beho Beho." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hammersmit

"Lovely camp, great guiding"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"The rooms here are excellent, permanent bandas rathe than tents, we loved being able to keep the front open. The bathrooms are fabulous and the views down the valley beautiful.

Food was good and there was lots of it! We enjoyed the communal eating in the evenings, but would have preferred not to have to do this at lunch as well - there were some rather excruciating moments! (I am happy to discuss this further if you would like).

The guiding was excellent with every person we had and on every activity we did; walks, boating, drives, tree house we could to fault the guides and we enjoyed having a variety of different guides as we got different perspectives each time.

We had some wonderful drives and saw so many fabulous animals and sites. The sun downers were a particular highlight!" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The O family
Surrey

"Holiday of a lifetime at Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"We had the most amazing experience at Beho Beho. My two boys aged 15 & 16 were truly captivated and absorbed everything. I cannot thank the team enough, the were all brilliant and our every need was catered for....as well as so many surprises each day! We really felt part of the Beho Beho family.

We saw a lion with its kill and got up close and personal with elephant and hippo! The rangers are all very experienced and the knowledge truly enhanced our time there as we learned so much more than we expected about the savannah.

The Bandas were so comfortable and spacious with a great view and all your needs catered for. We were very sad to leave and will certainly be returning." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Matt & Barbara
London

"Remarkable Honeymoon Safari at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"Beho Beho was our first stop on the Tanzanian Southern Circuit and lived up to all our hopes and expectations and much more!

The guides at BB are phenomenal, not only because they are so knowledgeable but also because they have such enthusiasm. At a reserve like the Selous where the game is naturally more difficult to spot we found this was so important. The guides rotated for each of our drives (general drive times but v. flexible: morning 6:30-11:30, afternoon 16:00-19:00), which worked fantasically.

The camp is a good distance away from any others, and as a result we didn't see any other vehicles! If seculsion is what you are looking for, this is it!

As well as the boat safari, we also did a walking safari which was a 2.5 hour trek going out of the camp. The experience was on another level and any nerves were helped as it was two guides that took us out rather than unknown rangers like in a National Park. A fully recommended experience.

Inside the camp the quality was sublime! Trish and Phil, the managers, were great and all the staff were so delightful and happy that you felt part of the family immediately. The food is fabulously fresh with variety and panache, with dinner taken in memorable locations around the camp. The stone bandas are luxury with fantastic views across the valley through the open front. They definitely make you feel at one with the environment while maintaining a sense of security for those that want it!

Overall, Beho Beho really focuses on the details. The fantastic staff and small number of guests meant that our stay really was tailored to us both at the camp and on the drives which is what made the stay and experience so so special." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Great Falls

"Amazing setting and luxury."

5 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"This was the perfect end to a month long safari. I had some misgivings on the way in, as other travelers had had less than stellar safari experiences in the Selous. But this was truly amazing.

I was delighted with the food served everywhere I stayed in Africa, but Beho Beho was the one place that had truly fine dining. Meals were served in a different setting every time. Hats off to Nico and the kitchen crew. We were treated to goat, duck, and lobster thermidor. Bar service was great.

Best of all, though, was the wide array of activities. After three weeks of game drives it was really nice to be able to get out and walk every day. The lake excursion was a tremendous experience as well.

And the guides, Heribert, Saningo, Godlisten, and Phil were all very professional.

The accommodations were simply stunning. I felt as though I was in Jurassic Park." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2016
"Wonderful place that lived up to expectations in all but one way.

Superb location, food, staff, guides and everything. The night in the tree house was magical and just seeing animals (hippo, hyena, and waterbuck) around the camp was great.

Great game drives with knowledgeable and empathetic guides .

The only disappointment was that in 5 days there we never saw Lions, Leopards, Wild dogs or Rhino. Not through lack of trying by the guides but lack of animals I suspect." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Cambridge

"The Extra Mile"

5 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2016
"Wonderful location, wonderful guides and wonderful manager and staff.. One point, I was nervous about walking safari and agreed with husband I'd do it here due to Zim Pro guides, only to find out they no longer exist there. While I have absolutely no concerns having now done the walk I did have serious wobbles.

Your hotel info needs updating.

The 'little extras' they do - eg heard husband loved fried food, so often little fried sun downer nibbles. Heard I'd missed the dogs, and they tried all areas of park and last night we struck lucky and I saw 6.

Tree house is phenomenal - BBQ dinner etc and 5* breakfast.

Also the lake trip - with the surprise 5* breakfast is also a highlight. The only slight downside is that husband is quite deaf and that's why we sometimes choose to have dinner on separate table as lots of 'background' means he can't hear anything - this is not allowed here, but was fine, as there was a max of 2 other guests!. if it had been full it would have been difficult at times." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa