This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2015
"We returned to Beho Beho after visiting 2 years previously as we wanted the opportunity for some walking safaris again and we just loved this camp which is wonderfully run by Walter and Karin (now ably assisted by Phil and Tricia).

At the time that we were in camp, there were only a couple of other guests and consequently we had very special treatment. One of the guests was surveying the bird and butterfly species in the area, which meant that we had extra exposure to these and reptiles as well - who needs to see the Big Five? We really enjoyed a trip to Lake Tagalala with a very extended boat trip viewing fish eagles catching breakfast and crocodiles basking in the sun.

We did two lovely morning walks stopping for a breakfast picnic along the way - this enables a much closer inspection of flora, the opportunity to track spoor, hearing and being aware of other animals not normally seen from a vehicle." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2015
"This is a wonderful place and we are already thinking about when we can go back. we saw a lot more game than we had anticipated and loved the constant change of scenery and landscape which made the safari much more interesting. we had a great day out of the lake with a surprise bush breakfast to make it perfect.

Accommodation is beautiful, great food, great friendly guides and staff, could not have been more welcoming." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Spectacular!"

5 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2015
"Beho Beho was the second of three camps during our trip. We stayed five nights at each and this was the most luxurious. It is in a spectacular location made even more so by the rains bringing new life to the bush. The wildlife was plentiful and varied. The flocks of carmine bee-eaters following the jeep for the insects it disturbed are worth a special mention. A particular highlight were the bush breakfasts: one being a full cooked meal by the side of Lake Tagalala watching hippos and crocodiles. That was an amazing day.

You don't get the same guide each time and this unique approach does offer different perspectives and areas of expertise. We enjoyed all of them. During our drives we hardly saw another jeep adding to the whole experience of having the place to yourself. We were lucky to go on two walks with Walter (the manager) which were wonderfully informative. On the second we were flagging a bit with the heat and wondering at what point we were going to be heading back only to be greeted by a table on a hill with sundowners at the ready. Attention to detail here is second to none.

The open-fronted stone bandas seemed a bit of a scary concept but in fact proved quite cool during the hot afternoons and attracted surprisingly few insects when lights were on. For most of the time there were only two other guests. We ate communally at different locations: for example by the pool or Beho's own watering hole. On our last morning we had a very special wake-up call by an elephant at the front of our banda!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Chelsea

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2015
"The real Jurassic Park; a phenomenal place. From touchdown on the most beautiful runway we fell in love with the place- it certainly felt like real wilderness without another jeep in sight. The lodge was splendid with amazing views over the stunning remote countryside. The room was incredible with one side open across the valley. Dining is en famille which made for very interesting evenings listening to tales from Mamma B. The standout for us was the walking safari which was an exhilarating if not terrifying experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
Vienna

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr CJB
London

"Perfect experience from start to finish!"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2014
"Beho Beho was recommended by Expert Africa, and I am so glad my wife and I listened to the advice.

The whole trip was one of the best experiences of our lives... everything was perfect: the staff (from kitchen, waiters, tour guides and management), food was stunning, accommodation and facilities, and of course, the safari itself.

We could not recommend the experience more highly. Perfect!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms L
North Adams

"Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Beho Beho camp was exquisite, but in general, the Selous was a disappointment after Ruaha.

There were no where near as many animals, and they did not like the trucks coming too close. In Ruaha, the impala would stand next to the truck as it drove by; in the Selous, they ran off as soon as they saw a truck. This made it hard to photograph them, and to appreciate them.

We saw more warthogs and different types of birds, but fewer cats -- only 1 lion and 1 leopard, whereas in Ruaha we saw 2 prides of lions, 2 leopards, and 2 cheetahs. We did not see the wild dogs -- they were apparently denning at the time. The roads are terrible, and it was physically exhausting just to ride in the trucks. Beho Beho Camp made up for this to a degree. It is a beautiful place. The bandas are very elegant and comfortable. The food was outstanding. The guides are great, as are Walter and Karin as hosts. The bandas are situated on a hill overlooking the valley and plains, where animals are visible at a distance, but not up close.

The camp has its own waterhole, however, where elephants, hippos, impala, baboons, and waterbucks came to drink, which was fun. I also did a short walking safari, during which we ran from elephants who then vaporized into the jungle. The camp rotates the guides, so we got to know all of them, and tries to limit the amount of people in the truck -- we were often alone, which is nice. If you could put Beho Beho in Ruaha, you would have the ideal set-up." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr H
Atlanta

"Beho Beho review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"See our comments for the first half of our stay here. [ Ed: see below. ]" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr H
Atlanta

"Beyond All Expectations!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2014
"We stayed 5 nights at Beho and prior to our arrival we thought it may be too long. When it came time to leave, we regretted not staying longer!

The bandas are beautiful and open to the outdoors in the front area and around the edge of the ceiling. It was amazing really how few bugs ever came in even with the lights on at night. We did have a few small geckos and a very cute brown bat at night that we quickly got used to. This place is not for those who are afraid of wild life. We had Hippos and Elephants just feet from the edge of our veranda pretty much every night which we loved! The sounds were incredible and while you have the experience of being out in the open like a tented camp, it's anything but. There are two bandas with bathtubs, 5 and 9. 5 is at the end called the "view" side and 9 is down at the opposite end called the "activity" side because of the many animals that walk around that area. We were in 9 and I'd request it again on a return visit. A nice feature was the power strip with universal outlets for various styles of plugs. We had several adapters with us but having that was nice as well and we could have left some of our heavier ones at home had we known.

The main lodge is spectacular and the pool area beautiful as well. The service is really what stands out and separates Beho Beho from all the rest. There is no detail left undone and they will bend over backwards for their guests. The current managers, Karin and Walter are amazing and give it a family feel from the moment you arrive. The bandas were always clean and tidy and no sooner would you use a towel but it was quickly replaced as soon as you left for a meal or a drive. I even left my IPad in my room and Karin sprung in to action and had it on the next plane out of Beho's own airstrip and after 3 plane changes it arrived in Zanzibar where it was waiting for me that same night before I left there for the states. I was blown away at how she was in communication with so many people so quickly to make sure I was reunited with it before I left the country.

They rotate guides on all the walks, boat trips and game drives which we worried about. In the end, it's one of the things we loved about Beho. All the guides are first rate getting to know them rounds out the family feel to the place. Karin is an amazing chef and helps plans the menu which is beyond belief. I gained a few pounds but don't regret a single bite. She also made me a birthday cake on the last day that was truly the best I've ever had. There are some surprises Beho likes to keep under wraps so I won't ruin them but each meal will be memorable for many reasons.

There are so many activities that you really do need to stay longer here than at most other safari lodges. The game drives are great and the morning ones are fairly long and cover a great deal of ground. We had incredible encounters with several prides of lions in action that were amazing. The day to the lake and hot springs was also incredible and not to be missed. The walks were also incredibly thrilling. On our first walk we encountered 19 elephants on all sides of us. We were never in danger but what a huge thrill to see them like that! We also spent a night in the tree house which is not to be missed. I won't spoil that either other than to say the web site doesn't do it justice but that's on purpose.

After spending 5 nights here we felt another 2 would have been perfect although I think I could have easily moved in for a month if I had the means. The views were so spectacular and peaceful that just relaxing around the banda and lodge were rewarding enough. There is also a watering hole near the main lodge that has activity every night. Hippos, Lions, Heynas, Warthogs were Beho regulars and just meters away from the couches and bar stools. The Selous is not as densely populated with animals as some of the places in the north where you can see hundreds of animals in your first hour. It's very different from the crater up north as well. In The Selous, you are in open vehicles and you are off-roading to find the animals. You see very few other people during your drives and you truly feel like you're in the middle of nowhere searching for these animals. We were always lucky on every drive to have something exciting happen, even if it took you some time to track it down. We prefer this type of a safari over the zoo like experience of the crater but it's also not for everyone.

Having stayed at another camp in the Selous before Beho, I now realize you can really get the full experience of this reserve from just this one lodge.

Thank You Beho family for the vacation of a lifetime!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Honiton

"The Rolls Royce safari camp"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"This was our third visit to Beho Beho and it was simply superb. The quality, range and depth of service is outstanding and confirms that they have maintained their objective of doing more than just tracking game.

The lodges have remained the most exquisite and fantastic standard and offer excellent views across the Beho Beho valley.

The whole staff act as a team expertly led by Phil and Tricia who have a relaxed customer focussed style that is simply second to none. Whilst the game is less dense in availability we saw most of the target species and were unfortunate not to see wild dogs which had been there the week before ( a known safari challenge!!). We were particularly fortunate to see a stand off between 17 Hyenas and a pride of 6 lions over a giraffe kill. Each group chased out the other on more than one occasion, until both groups had managed to satisfy their needs. Sadly the plight of the elephant population is well recorded and looks to be currently unsolvable.

The Beho team go to great lengths to offer a range of trips, Boat safaris with alfresco breakfasts, walking evening safaris with sun downers, great themed catering which goes beyond much of the super efforts of other camps. One excellent example is the bush dinner where the guests have dinner literally in the bush, a totally unique dining experience particularly when a couple of hyena arrive as unwanted guests. We were never in danger and it was an incredible evening, I could go on but it would take too long to cover it all.

The Tree house was another Beho innovation, replacing the previous fly camps. Sleeping up a tree in the middle of wild Africa is an experience we will never forget. The detail covered to protect the guest whilst maintaining the sense of adventure made the experience all the more enjoyable. The quality of services available in a tree have to be seen to be believed and would outstrip many expensive hotels!!

The rotation of the guide team is also a great idea, it offers different views and perspectives of game/bird life, safaris and the African experience. We would recommend other camps make this a norm where possible.

The numbers of superlatives for this camp/team and location could go on and on, however it is perhaps best to say that the cliché of "less is more" is particularly apt to this camp, it is simply paradise.

We hope to make a 4th trip in the not too distant future. If the other camps were Excellent, and they were, then Beho Beho deserves the title of the Rolls Royce Safari." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa