This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Beho Beho review"

7 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2013
"The location of this camp is fabulous, looking out over a varied landscape (some plains, some wooded areas, some river valleys) with game visible without having to go anywhere. At various times of the day it was not unusual to have elephant, hippo, baboon and hyenas pass through the camp, and elephants eating between the bandas at night was not uncommon. The location was not good for mobile phone coverage, which did not bother us in the slightest.

The rooms were very comfortable with arm chairs and couches to relax in, and also had electricity available for fans, hair dryers, chargers etc. Wi-Fi was provided, too, although we did not use it. The bathroom had a shower open to the sky (from where we were able to observe nocturnal elephant activity on a couple of occasions) and double wash basins. The front of the room is completely open to allow unhindered views, although there is an electric fence to deter unwelcome visitors.

Meals were excellent, both in terms of the taste, quality and presentation of the food that was served and also in the imaginative use of different venues around the camp to eat. Alcoholic beverages were included (some perfectly palatable South African wine) and the staff were always attentive to empty glasses. Dietary requirements were readily accommodated.

The game viewing activities were generally split into morning and afternoon sessions, with the morning one starting at around 6.15am and the afternoon one at 4.30pm. The morning activity included a picnic breakfast, even if it was a walk and the guide had to carry it all! Lunch was served at approximately midday, so there was time to snooze between activities. The guides were very flexible and would take us on drives or walks as requested. The ability to do walks was fantastic, as they were proper walks in the bush with the possibility of seeing anything and everything, and not just a sanitised little pootle around the camp. We even had the privilege of exploring a new area with our guides, where they had not walked before. At the end of our week we were treated to a full day's excursion of some 11 hours and covering 130km, to see some of the more remote areas of the park that were beyond the reach of a normal game drive. We thought this was fantastic! The other activity that was offered was a trip to lake Tagalala, where there was a short excursion by boat. This afforded some good views of crocodiles and water birds and we would have liked it to have lasted longer, but a sighting of wild dogs rather upset the schedule!

We had 2 guides as well as Walter, the manager, when we were out on our various activities. All were exceptionally knowledgable and enthusiastic about what they were doing. In addition, Walter and Karin, the catering manager, did a fine job of playing the host and hostess at meals and other times.

Other facilities of the camp included a very refreshing, if compact, pool and a full size snooker table.

The weather was generally very good during our stay, but following one heavy shower the insect population exploded. This proved quite a nuisance as they got everywhere, making that evening's meal an occasion for extra vigilance. Fortunately the net curtains around the bed were sound and our sleep was not disturbed by the extra bugs.

Overall a fantastic experience and we'd do it all again tomorrow." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs C
Derbys

"Bush Paradise"

7 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2013
"Returned after ten years. Bandas larger than previously. Good extension to bar and reception area. Lovely swimming pool.

Staff. In Walter's absence Oona looked afer us very well. Lynn the temporary caterer in Karin's absence was also excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Guides. Superb. Charming, looked after the guests. Very well informed and well able to present the bush and discuss all the plants and animals. Drove at a sensible speed. Served drinks and picnics with professionalism.

Food. Ever thing was excellent. Food Staff were charming and cared very much for us all.

Itinery. Well constructed for out stay of one week. A good pace.

One of two favourite camps in Africa." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & Mrs W
Oxford

"Fabulous private expert set up"

5 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2013
"Lovely open plains a much freer experience than the other camp and the drives went further and more flexibility to walk part of the trips out take a boat do things in a different way

Top flight guides. Great walking

Enough game seen Ian descreet and private way

We would go back

Walter runs a good shop but more formal than jongermero" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Simply the best."

5 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2012
"The best camp we have stayed in Africa.

The attention to detail in making our stay as pleasurable as possible cannot be faulted. We were made to feel part of a family as opposed to paying guests. We will return!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Miss G
London

"Beho Beho review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Miss G
London

"Beho Beho was amazing"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2012
"An incredibly luxurious camp, where the staff treat you more like house guests than paying clients. Fantastic walking and driven safaris, with more than enough to do for the 5 nights we were there.

The only thing that can be faulted (and it isn't their fault) is that the park roads need to be maintained a little better and it is a shame night drives (say once a week) are not allowed." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Mosborough

"Beho Beho review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"Beho Beho is in a striking location with the bandas blended into the hillside. The bandas themselves are very large and open fronted. The food was excellent and the camp has a friendly atmosphere.

The guides are all excellent whether on walks or drives. Although there is resident game around the camp, the main concentrations at this time of year which in the Lake Manze area which is only reachable on the morning games drives.

Perhaps the only minor negative is the activities and timings aren't quite as flexible as you may want them to be - for example, given the time to get to Lake Manze it would have been beneficial to leave maybe half an hour or more earlier if you're really into photography." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Caymans

"Beho Beho"

8 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2012
"Beho Beho is heaven !!!!

It is located on a hill overlooking the plains and the Msimi River, which is now a dried riverbed. Tho it is the dry season and they needed rain badly, it was greener than the other camps we have been in. The bandas are located on the hill and blending with their surroundings. These bandas, which have been built by the manager and guides using local stones and wood, are completely open at the front with an electric wire below the porch floor. You have all the amenities of home with a view. We saw all the animals from our porch, including a leopard.

The managers, Walter and Karin, are fantastic at mixing the guests and organizing anything you desire. Everyone feels like family soon after you arrive. The staff have been there for years and the The Two Brothers Laundry makes the clothes look like new. The food is superb, varied and too plentiful. The Barman, Simba, makes a wicked drink before dinner and a rousting game of Snooker on a table brought from England is played most nights after dinner. All the staff are attentive and cannot be more helpful.

The guides are some of the best we have had with Walter and Ono being the guides with the riffles for the walking safaris. Beho Beho has anything you might want from Internet to a swimming pool. We were able to see all the animals and many lovely and rare birds. Located on the Selous, one of the largest game reserves in the world, the largest being Greenland.

The Baileys, the owners for many many years have given Beho Beho it's essence. It is a place one must visit, and one that you will never forget.

We will definitely return." See all these reviews: 34n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"First visit to Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2012
"Our first visit to Beho Beho and we were a bit apprehensive given its reputation as one of the best and most luxurious of safari lodges and our preference for bush type camps. It was indeed luxurious but managed to give a rustic feel nevertheless. Our Banda, (as all the others) had an open front that looked out over and down a valley so that we could constantly see game. Whilst we were there buffalo, wildebeast, elephany, giraffe, hippo, impala and eland were in just about constant view. The banda was very well appointed with much attention to detail. Although we did not use it there is WiFi in all bandas and a computer is available for guest use in their library.

The camps main area has a water hole that attracted impala, elephant, hyena and hippos whilst we dined; food was top class and there was more than enough - we declined afternoon cakes and struggled not to put on weight!

The guiding was excellent with all the guides good on birds as well as game. There was an abundance of game. We saw lion hunt and kill and a daylight leopard hunt although he did not catch anything. We went on walking safaris every afternoon and the guiding on these was excellent too. We had (very) close encounters with hippo and elephant but felt safe at all times. We also visited lake Tagalala where there was another great boat trip and a visit to the nearby hot springs.

Beho Beho was as luxurious as we were led to believe. There were not many guests whilst we were there (the way it happens at most camps- they were full the day we arrived) and we felt that we could have felt out of place had it been fuller- it is the sort of experience where you might feel you had to dress for dinner, not that Karin and Walter, the managers, would have expected it. They aimed for a friendly family, Country House type of experience and achieved it well" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Blackburn

"Great walking safaris at Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Game viewing excellent went on some superb walks up to 5hours. Tree House was a good experience. We enjoyed our second visit and the 6 nights gave us flexibility to chill out by the pool and watch the game from there. Staff cant do enough for you.We had dinner at the new Bailys Banda and that really has the wow factor" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa