This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.8"S 38°3’52.1"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

208 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

53% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

94% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 208
Duration
Arrival date
Miss D
Worksop

"Great time at Lake Manze"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"We received a very warm welcome from Pippa. We had already met Phil, the manager as he flew in on the same plane as us.
The tent was small but comfortable although with no electricity it was very dark. We had candles but relied heavily on the torches we brought with us.

The shower and toilet are open air which was interesting particularly when it rained!

The food was good but it was very irritating to have to remind the staff at every mealtime, that we were vegetarian. Apparently the message regarding our dietary requirements had not reached the camp, but as they were told on our arrival we feel this should have been noted down somewhere.

Dinner was eaten at a communal table in the dry river bed, there were lots of candles but a torch was needed to see what was on your plate, this was quite irritating and something we never got used to.

There were plenty of animals passing through the camp, particularly at night and at times it got quite noisy especially when the elephant that hangs around the camp, decides to uproot a tree just outside the tent!

The highlight has to be the wonderful guide, Samuel. He was our guide everyday and was incredibly knowledgeable about everything. We found it a real bonus to have him every day as he knew what we had seen and so didn't waste time going back to the same places.
Another highlight was seeing the wild dogs, perfect!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss S & Mr C
UK

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2012
"We feel that although there are more luxurious camps available than here that this is in keeping with the bush and nature. The different activities, walks, boat trips & drives, were excellent and gave varying views of the wildlife and surroundings. 3 nights, 4 days was an ideal amount of time to stay.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was good. As it was our birthdays we had a private meal on our verandah one night and a birthday cake on the other. The tents had everything you needed.

We saw all the wildlife we wanted to see including wild dogs, which was one of the reasons we choose to come here, and the elusive leopard." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The O family
London

"Lake Manze Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2012
"This is obviously a more basic camp and we were glad it was the second one, so that the children (or anyone who hadn't been in Africa before) were more used to bush life. The animal life was great (elephants in camp, lots of lions and buffaloes) and the range of activities (including day safari to hot springs) very good. The guides were also excellent - extremely knowledgeable and got on really well with us and children, and the staff as a whole were very good.

It felt rather less confidently run than Impala - it is a rather big camp to manage with only basic facilities and the relatively new manager and his 18-year-old assistant, though very friendly and helpful, did seem less experienced in running such a facility. Food was plentiful though not to the standard of Impala.

One practical point - why use polluting and potentially dangerous kerosene lamps, rather than the individual solar powered lights which are now being used as best practice by development agencies across Africa?" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The C family
S London

"Brilliant game viewing, lovely rustic camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2012
"Our four nights at Lake Manze far exceeded our expectations. It's a beautiful camp and you feel as if you are in the heart of the bush. Not least because we were visited every day by a young bull elephant which literally fed a few metres from our tent. The tents are simply but effectively furnished and living by candles and hurricane lamps at night added to the magic.

The food was excellent - both lunches and dinners, relatively simple fare but absolutely fresh and delicious.

We were blessed with a charming and very knowledgeable guide, Emmanuel, who was terrific with Adam and his many questions.
On our way to camp from the airstrip we were taken to see some lions that had made a kill the day before and I have to say that I was rather alarmed at the number of vehicles that were clustered around them - our main reason for choosing the South had been the reputed lack of traffic compared with the North - but fears were unfounded and we didn't experience anything like that in any of the game drives thereafter.

We were extraordinarily lucky with Wild Dog sightings - one of our favourites - as a pack of ten was rearing four pups and not straying too far. We found them on four drives and spent an aggregated few hours in their company and very close. Fantastic.

Lions were seen on every drive bar one. General game was prolific especially Giraffe but compared with the Ruaha and places where we've beein in Zambia and Botswana relatively skittish. The lakeside setting brought the gamut of beautiful bird sightings and the Manze boat trip is especially good for approaching herons. storks, fish eagles, bee eaters, kingfishers and pods of hippo of course.

I would recommend Lake Manze camp to anyone - whether it was a first time in Africa or seasoned pros." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr I
Kent

"Well organised despite being busy"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2012
"Lake Manze was very well organised with good guides and a reasonable range of activities, although would suggest they consider the idea of day boat trips. There was less flexibility in activities as the camp was very busy, so many of the game drives were 3-4 hours and went to the same areas of the Game Reserve as other camps. The guides were good and many of the sightings were very rewarding, particularly buffalo and wildebeest." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr N
Virginia

"Good, not great"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2012
"My stay at Lake Manze was a bit of a disappointment relative to other locations on the this trip. In part, that was a reflection of the lack of an assistant manager, leaving all the managerial responsibility on one person. I think this is not the normal situation.

However, guiding was clearly the weakest of the 4 locations that I visited, with a personable guide but one that was clearly less skilled than desirable. Again, this may have been just luck of the draw, as our driver clearly emerged as a very skilled (but less communicative) guide. Facilities are fine, and the location seems good, but we say very little of interest on the boat safari, which was VERY different from the second location I visited in the Selous." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms F
UK

"Great times at Lake Manze"

5 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2012
"We absolutely loved our time at Lake Manze, from the food to the staff to the animal to the camp itself.

Our highlight was the fishing on the lake, not only did we catch cat fish, but we also got to eat them for dinner!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Steve H
Leeds

"Magical return to Manze"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2012
"As before we were looked after very well in the camp and on our jeep and boat safaris and we had a wonderful time.

Amazing wildlife and hospitality.The dining arrangements are extremely sociable and Sara runs the camp very well. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable again.

Rashidi's knowledge and boatmanship deserve a special mention as do Emmanuel and Samuel who make a great jeep team" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
NL

"Lake Manze Tented Camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2012
"The whole camp is very informal and pleasant. Reading the reviews I expected just filtered water. But we were offered bottled water instead.

Sarah took good care of all of our wishes for activities. She matched us carefully with other guests in case we had to share a vehicle or boat. The guides Giovanny and Ali as well as Elton in the boat, were knowledgeable and eager to tell. It was a miracle how Ali managed to drive on the bumpy and winding roads and could spot animals and birds in the meanwhile.

The walks were short and we went very, very slowly, carefully watching the buffalo on the left hand side and the elephants on the right hand side.

Our tent was large, comfortable and excellently situated on the border of the lake. In the late afternoon we had our private game-experience, when giraffes, impala´s, buffalo and baboons passed our veranda on a short distance.

Lake Manze was an excellent start of our safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Ontario

"Great atmosphere & experience at Lake Manze"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2012
"Really enjoyed our Lake Manze time, a great way to start our trip. Good, friendly guiding, great management(Sarah) & food. Liked the communal atmosphere, very relaxed & friendly - our kind of place.

Think the Safari boats would benefit with 4 stroke outboards - quieter & cleaner. By the way our boat guide, think it was Mbao, he was very good.

The guys went out of their way on the transfer to Impala to give us a great drive Safari.
Also would like the option of prepaying for drinks." See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 208
93%
208 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
147
54
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa