This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

67 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

13% success

Wild dog

43% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

89% success

Spotted Hyena

89% success

Wildebeest

89% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 67
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
California

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2020
"They did a great job, very good staff but we could have hiked more and further on our walks." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Steve
Hope Valley

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"4 nights at sand Rivers, different again to the others, but equally as good." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

9 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs J
Taunton

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Nice people, unbeatable location.

Bedroom was spacious and camp-like with relatively basic features but who cares when you are out in the middle of the park with stunning views." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs C
Streatha

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"Fantastic camp, immaculately managed by Michelle.

The location and rooms were stunning and the food was wonderful.

All the staff were very friendly and we had an excellent guide in Ernest." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Alice
Los Angeles

"Sand Rivers - Beautiful Safari Camp!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"After our wonderful experience at Kigelia, we headed to Sand Rivers for the remainder of our trip. Combining Kigelia and Sand Rivers was a perfect combination because Sand Rivers offers different types of activities such as boat safaris, fishing, along with game drives. We were fortunate to stay in 2 suites that had private plunge pools. The rooms were gorgeous with fabulous views. Our son and daughter (15 and 12) thought these accommodations were 5 stars and the fanciest place they've ever stayed! Sand Rivers overlooks the river with tons of hippos and crocodiles. The hippos were fascinating creatures that watched us as we fished on the banks of the river. There were other small animal sightings around camp, including monkeys, civets, and a bush baby.

We saw similar animals on game drives in Selous including elephants, giraffes, lions, and many birds. And a few hyenas that were taking naps on the road. The terrain in Selous is very different from Ruaha, so the two safari locations provided contrast. Dayo, our guide, was so knowledgeable about Selous (his father was a Selous ranger and now he is a guide) and had an eye, especially for birds. He brings a well-used Birds of East Africa book with him on game drives but didn't need it most of the time as he was like a walking bird encyclopedia. He was a fantastic fisherman (we went fishing twice) and helped each of us catch at least one fish, which the chefs cooked up as an appetizer for dinner.

The food at Sand Rivers was just as wonderful as Kigelia. The vibe is a little different as this is a larger camp with a more permanent structure. Eric, the camp manager while Michelle was on holiday, was gracious and so interesting to have dinner with. The staff were all very friendly and provided great service to guests. We also had a great fly-camping experience that I will review separately. We overall loved Sand Rivers and really enjoyed the combination of the 2 Nomad properties." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

R&K
Frisco CO

"A beautiful, fantastic lodge away from crowds"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"The location of Sand Rivers Camp is at a fantastic bend in the Rufiji river - and there is more to see than hippos although it is great to see them in this big river compared to shallower locations.

We visited mid-July 2019. Our guide Ernest was fantastic in his ability to spot wildlife and flora as well as his knowledge base. Our first 1/2 day guide (not Ernest) was not to our liking and the managers immediately accommodated our request for a change.

Would highly recommend this camp!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Devon

"One of the nicest places to stay-ever!!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"A beautiful riverside setting and our room was one of the best we have ever stayed in. (We didn't mind sharing it with the frog in the wardrobe!!) A stunning view of the river with our own little outside deck where we had sundowners on our last evening.

The bar area was very attractive and we loved dining looking out over the water. The staff were very attentive and Michelle always did that bit extra to make us feel special.

We also considered ourselves fortunate to have Promise (not sure of spelling) as our safari guide. His knowledge of animals and birds is very comprehensive and we were impressed by his ability to spot something 30 metres away whilst driving over undulating terrain! And his command of English is excellent. We particularly enjoyed the boat trips and trip to the hot springs.

We would have liked a safe in our room. A really unusual swimming pool!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr PC
SE London

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2019
"A really super Safari camp with the right mixture of wild life drives, boat trips and walks. Michelle and her team were very attentive and dined with us guests every night.

Our guides, Joel and John were really knowledgeable about all the flora and fauna, and we became great friends. Our excursion to the hot springs was fun and Joel videoed us with my iPad in the pools, much to our embarrassment when we showed it to our friends and family.

Bernie the chef produced really delicious meals washed down by good South African wines.

Only one suggestion. As the weather was very much hot (40 Celsius) and humid, it would better to dine under the fans rather by the pool which we did a couple of times." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"A bit of luxury to enjoy. No restrictions on what we wanted to do, with our own guide throughout and Godfrey was delightful as well as being a very good spotter.

We did driving safaris, drive then bush walk, fished, boat safari and time to chill out in camp ,as well.

Michelle, the Manager, was very friendly and welcoming. She made sure everyone was okay, always on hand to ensure you were happy with everything." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"A warm, friendly camp - run by a good team"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2018
"Sand Rivers was a busy camp but extremely well run with a wonderful atmosphere.

It was evident that a lot of thought had been given about pairing people up for the safaris. Michelle and Julian were extremely good hosts and were sensitive to the changing dynamics of the group as characters came and went.

We saw wild dogs and, most unusually, a civet cat who stayed still long enough to be photographed.

Would definitely recommend." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 67
96%
67 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa