This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

90% success

Spotted Hyena

90% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
Ms F
HollandPark

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2010
"Mike and Carol were marvellous hosts. Welcoming and amenable. Really good.

All the staff were very helpful and charming." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Worthing

"Luxury and variety at Sand Rivers"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"The camp
Stunning setting by the wide beautiful river. Our room was outstanding, huge comfy bed , fantastic bedroom, sitting area overlooking the vally and river seeing the hippo and crocs below and the birds in your garden. All open sided, but plenty of privacy and protection. You really felt part of the wild. High soaring ceiling with old wooden beams like some ancient open sided barn surrounded by a 7 foot wall at the back. Cool at night , plus efficient fan for days.The public area was right by the river again open sided to the river, comfortable sofa and chairs a generous open, help yourself bar, plenty of places to sit and relax, pretty pool round the corner again by the river.

Food
lovely breakfasts and lunches, dinners a bit disappointing ( meat was a bit tough or tastless, particularly given the heat) but the baking was out standing, delicious cakes, bread and biscuits. As it seems everywhere on Safari the purpose of the cook seemed to be to feed you up when it came to his pastry. lovely.

Wildlife
Not as much as Ruaha, but there is an outstanding variety of ways of seeing it. The river trip in the morning up to the gorge resulted in all the major animal sightings including a baby panther ina narrow cave above the river. hoW the massai guide saw it I cannot imagine it was thrilling. Birds were everywhere, beeeaters, weavers in every colour masses of raptors and loads more on every drive.
Make sure you do the trip to the hot springs. Travel past lovely lakes full of spoonbills and storks, impala and baboons on the shore, hippos and crocs snoozing nearby.
The springs are yours alone to enjoy and the guides go out of their way to help you change discreetly and look after you getting in and out, its a heavenly experience and i would have stayed in the final pool all morning if allowed, it was like a film set.
We went walking which was exciting and learnt masses from our guide Peter who was a joy throughout our stay. We'd discuss what to do at tea each day and again review our time over drinks before dinner.

Company
12 others here most of the time so although on your own during the day( maybe with one other couple) at meal times, especially dinner where you eat all together at various locations by the river there is plenty of chatter and opportunity for socialising with a great mix of people, simillarly fasinated by safari but interesting stories and lives too, a great mix
Could easily have stayed here a week.

Staff
Excellent guides very knowledgable, support lovely and helpful, new managers charming and friendly and clearly respected by the guides.
We had a perfect time and can imagine returning" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"We stayed in Suite 3, which used to be called the Rhino House, and it is absolutely superb. Sited a the far end of the camp, it's quite a walk but it really is worth it: we felt as if we were in our own private little corner of Africa.

Without exception, the camp staff were wonderful -very hospitable, friendly and helpful. Mike and Carol , the managers are new in post, this being their first month at Sand Rivers, but they were excellent hosts. Having been to Sand Rivers previously, our expectations were high and were exceeded: it felt more like a sharing the camp with friends than being "guests".

Our guide, Iyan, was superb, as was the variety of game that we saw, the highlight being wild dogs (fantastic!). Our time with Iyan was shared with other experienced "Africa hands" and he really listened to what we were interested in and tailored the game drives to the best opportunities for the things we wanted to see.

Going back to a camp we have previously enjoyed is always a risk: we know that teams change and the question is always "will it be as good as it was before?". In the case of Sand Rivers, the answer emphatically not just yes, but even better against a standard that was already exceptional." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Safari at Sand Rivers"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"We arrived with some other Expert Africa customers and were paired with them during our stay although we had very little in common. This would not have been a problem if the guide had decided on each days activities but he tended to ask the guests and as one of the other couple was significantly incapacitated we tended to go along with their suggestions.

Game was plentiful but it was difficult to get close as the animals were extremely skittish which we were told may have been caused by an increase in poaching." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"See previous feedback on Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"See previous [Ed: These travellers had two separate stays at Sand Rivers, either side of a 2-night fly-camp. See below for their comments on the camp.]]" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Great stay at Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2010
"A good balance with Beho Beho with different
terrain and the river bringing a new dimension .
Highlight was two nights fly camping.
Great service and friendly people ; charming new managers
who are working hard to make their mark .
Dedicated guide for the whole stay provided
a tailored programme . Good game viewing
especially lion ." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Devon

"First Night at Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2010
"After the overnight flight from the UK and a short flight out into the Selous, we received a warm welcome at Sand Rivers.

The camp is perched on the bank of the Rufiji River in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed an evening drive and a "sundowner" whilst watching a young elephant grazing peacefully amongst lush vegetation.

A good dinner and an early night in readiness for the walking safari to follow." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The M family
UK

"WHAT A PLACE!!!!!!!!!!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"The accommodation at Sand Rivers has to be seen to be believed. The location looking out over the meandering Rufiji River is to die for.

As well as landrover and river safaris we did walking safaris with our children which just took an already brilliant experience to another level. Given where we were the food was frankly amazing. And as for our hosts Claus and Jill .......... I can't praise them enough, two wonderful, charming, knowledgable, delightful people.

Finally, at first I was not at all sure about the communal eating arrangements at dinner but it is the only way to do it!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B & Dr M
Canada

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2010
"Overall we were disappointed in Sand Rivers. The food and service were both very good; however, the rooms were not as well maintained as they should have been. For example, the mosquito nets had holes in them, the pillows were old, lumpy, and flat, and our toilet seat was very loose and shifted every time we sat on it. The "door" to our bathroom was broken and seat and throw cushions were stained with monkey feces. The rooms are designed to be very open concept so it is virtually impossible to prevent monkeys from accessing the rooms; however, simply wiping down the cushions after a monkey invasion is insufficient and unsanitary.

Most disappointing was the guide. Although our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, his guiding philosophy was diametrically opposed to ours. We prefer to observe wildlife, without interfering or stressing out the animals. Our guide seemed to feel his role was to get us the best photo, even if that meant driving off road and literally chasing down animals. In one instance, his enthusiasm for a close-up resulted in a very unsafe encounter with an angry mother elephant. As I said, our guide was very knowledgeable but he lacked adequate respect for the environment, the animals, and the safety of guests." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Barnstable

"Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2010
"Way, way beyond our wildest expectations.......

We had the top Guide, Masaa, which made the whole experiance a sensation.

Lynn and Steve, being the perfect hosts, made he whole experience run like clockwork" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 68
96%
68 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa