This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

14% success

Wild dog

43% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

88% success

Spotted Hyena

88% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs ME
W London

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"The team at camp (Lynne, Steve and Sarah) and our guide (Anafi) were all excellent and very relaxed. The situation of the camp is stunning.

The food was delicious and there was a great mix of being able to spend time both by ourselves and join other guests." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Messing about in boats"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"After the heat and dryness of Ruaha it was nice to be next to the water and what a fantastic location. This is a special place and should be on anyones list of camps to visit in Tanzania. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the staff really make you feel wanted. The advantage of being here are the water activities, the fishing is good the boat trips enjoyable (even being hit by a hippo did not take the shine off the trip).

Are there any negatives, well yes just one, the roads are unbelievably rough, over rocky outcrops most of the time, but this is a minor inconvienance for the beauty of the place and the variety of the wildlife, esp the birds.

Put it on your list of places to visit." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Andover

"What a lot of lions!"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"Our flight to Sands River was diverted to Beho Beho because of problems with the air strip, but it turned out to be a bonus because Edson our guide had located a pride of lions devouring a zebra which he took us to see on the way to the lodge - it was a great introduction to the Sands River Area. T

he different environments, lakes, river, bush and marsh ensure a great variety of birds and animals and Sands River provide a great variety of ways to see and enjoy them which are really well organised. Won't say too much it will spoil the surprise!. Edson was a great guide, excellent driver, boatman and spotter who greatly added to our enjoyment of the holiday and kept us safe.

Drifting through the Stigler gorge was lovely - so peaceful - it would be a great shame if this part of the river trip was stopped - hopefully Sands River can come to some arrangement with their neighbours.

Early morning tea and coffee was a nice touch, especially if you were having a late breakfast.

If you go into the hot springs make sure you drink as soon as you come out otherwise you may feel a bit queer.

In summary Sands River is a great place difficult to sum up in words - much more effective than wrinkle cream!!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2009
"thank you lynn and steve and staff fora great experience. you thought of everything." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Norfolk

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2009
"Excellent guide. A big plus to have your own guide. Great swimming pool." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Middlesex

"Amazing Sand Rivers Camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2008
"This was a fabulous experience with very friendly staff and interesting guests.

We are pleased we went to a different part of the Selous as the terrain was quite different. Unfortunately, the trip between the Impala Camp and Sand Rivers was very long taking about five hours, as a bridge had collapsed and we had to go the long way round.

Again, we had the same guide, Edson, throughout our stay and his vast knowledge was amazing, although we did have a little difficulty in understanding him sometimes. It took us a while to realise what a "lilac breasted lola" was!

As there were only a few other guests, there was never any feeling of over crowding and we both liked the fact in both camps the lay out of our bedroom facilities meant we were never aware of any one else.

The food was excellent and beautifully presented but it would have been nice to have a flannel, or something simlar, to wipe our hands with when we had a bush breakfast.

Our hosts, Lynne and Steve were delightful and as previously mentioned, it was nicer dining with other guests. Our final dinner was a surprise beach barbeque." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Letchworth

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"Superb location, comfortable accommodation, food was no better than Impala, so we considered it generally overpriced.

Lack of hot water was a bit annoying at what is supposed to be a luxury camp. Shortage of game on the drives meant travelling a long way to see animals, but the birds were plentiful around nearby lakes.

The river trips were very interesting as was the one walk which we had and the guides were very professional." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Honey badgers
UK

"The Sand Rivers Camp experience"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2008
"The camp is in a wonderful position with splendid views over the river. It is a great experience to dine on the balcony looking down to the river below. The accomodation is excellent and the availability of electricity is very welcome after having stayed at a more basic camp. Early morning hot drinks served in your unit is pure luxury.

Would thoroughly recommend doing the game walk where we did view animals close by and concluded with a full breakfast in the bush close to the water. The game drives were enjoyable and usually you had your own personal guide.

Just a couple of minor complaints in that there was no choice of main course for evening meals although stated in your literature. Whilst breakfast and lunch were fully up to standard we found that dinner fell a little short of expectations and this view was also held by other guests we found during discussions." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Barkestone

"Sand Rivers- ultimate luxury"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"In the heart of Africa you don't expect to be greeted by the Australian husband and wife managers - Steve and Lynn. They were great fun and a mine of information. We had a particularly nice surprise when we found we had been upgraded into a suite, which was just ultimate luxury, with our own lounge area, pool, 7 ft. bed, and inside and outside cascade showers, all overlooking the stunning Rufiji River.

Again good food with dinner in different locations each night, pre- dinner drinks in the presence of the resident bush babies. Game drives took us through varied landscapes and vegetation, and bush breakfast, cooked over a camp fire, overlooking the lake, was unforgettable. The guides tried very hard to find us a leopard and the hunting dogs, but we were unlucky. However, we did not go home disappointed we saw loads of other wonderful game, and we understand that it's all down to luck.

A truly memorable experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs McC
UK

"Best holiday ever at Sand Rivers"

5 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"A very well run camp which gives a feeling that you really matter. Your itinery is completely controlled by you and the staff make every effort to accommodate your needs.

Accommodation was outstanding and the housekeeping ets was first class.

Guiding was first class with the guides demonstrating comprehensive knowledge of all aspects of the area's flara and fauna. I had the feeling that every guest felt that their guide was excellent.

Could make more of the fishing potential but I believe that steps are being taken to do this." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 66
96%
66 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa