This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

90% success

Spotted Hyena

90% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-68 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Barkestone

"Sand Rivers- ultimate luxury"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"In the heart of Africa you don't expect to be greeted by the Australian husband and wife managers - Steve and Lynn. They were great fun and a mine of information. We had a particularly nice surprise when we found we had been upgraded into a suite, which was just ultimate luxury, with our own lounge area, pool, 7 ft. bed, and inside and outside cascade showers, all overlooking the stunning Rufiji River.

Again good food with dinner in different locations each night, pre- dinner drinks in the presence of the resident bush babies. Game drives took us through varied landscapes and vegetation, and bush breakfast, cooked over a camp fire, overlooking the lake, was unforgettable. The guides tried very hard to find us a leopard and the hunting dogs, but we were unlucky. However, we did not go home disappointed we saw loads of other wonderful game, and we understand that it's all down to luck.

A truly memorable experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs McC
UK

"Best holiday ever at Sand Rivers"

5 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"A very well run camp which gives a feeling that you really matter. Your itinery is completely controlled by you and the staff make every effort to accommodate your needs.

Accommodation was outstanding and the housekeeping ets was first class.

Guiding was first class with the guides demonstrating comprehensive knowledge of all aspects of the area's flara and fauna. I had the feeling that every guest felt that their guide was excellent.

Could make more of the fishing potential but I believe that steps are being taken to do this." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
White Rhinos
NL

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
White Rhinos
NL

"sands river selous"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Great location, wonderful room and staff.Saw a leopard, had vervet monkeys in our bedroom and a Elephant eating a bush feet away from our bathroom at 2 am!. Stayed 5 nights, 4 is probably ample to do everything here- top trip here?? trip down the river too the gorge, which is stunning." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Bee-eater
UK

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2007
"see previous comments for Sand Rivers Camp" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Bee-eater
UK

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2007
"Our visit to Sand Rivers lasted four nights which included one night fly camping. We stayed in the Rhino Lodge which is slightly away from the main building and I believe one of their most recent rooms. It was amazing. The Rhino Lodge consisted of three large open areas, the lounge complete with plunge pool and relaxing area, the large bedroom and a bathroom with a good open shower. All open roooms had a fantastic view of the river and surrounding country and were very clean.


Our hosts, Rob and Storm made us feel very welcome. On arrival we were asked if we had any dietary preferences and given a detailed overview of the lodge and the facilities. We were introduced to Lawrence, our safari guide for the 4 days that we were with them.

The quality of the food was outstanding although we were surprised to find that there was no choice. However it would appear that this is the norm for all the places we stayed at during our trip. This lack of choice was not a problem as we always enjoyed what Rob created.

Lawrence was a wonderful guide and we very much enjoyed our jeep, river and walking adventures. The highlight of our trip was spending a long time with a young make leopard and the elephant which joined us during our New Years Eve supper. We spent one night fly camping and we would definitely recommend this although it did mean that we missed one of our nights in the Rhino lodge which was a shame. Having spoken to people who did the fly camping a Beho Beho, although not so sophisticated I would recommend Sand Rivers for a closer to nature experience.


In summary, this was an outstanding start to our safari. The game viewing was great and we rarely saw another jeep or human being. The location of Sand Rivers was amazing and the quality and cleanliness of the accomodation was outstanding. The food and the hospitality again was of a very high quality. We have some very fond memories of Sand Rivers." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S
Sweden

"Sand Rivers Camp is a beautiful lodge"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2007
"Excellent Lodge with fantastic food" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Horsmonden

"Hippos"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2007
"Fantastic renovation.

New couple setltling in who tend to try a bit too hard and need to settle in a bit, but a really comfortable stay.

Too many food courses with nuts - at one point everything seemed to have them in!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-68 of 68
96%
68 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa