This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sand Rivers fly-camping
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping


7°46’19.1"S 37°57’59.4"E

Reviews of Sand Rivers fly-camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers fly-camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers fly-camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Alice
Los Angeles

"Sand Rivers Fly-Camping - What an experience!"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"We loved our fly camping experience!

We went on an afternoon game drive which ended at our fly camp location. Milton and the staff had set up a beautiful campfire and dinner table. The chef cooked us a fancy candlelit dinner, no different than at the lodge but we were in the middle of the bush! They had set up a toilet and even a bucket shower at the campsite if we wanted to take one! The accommodations were very comfortable with mattresses and tents made out of mosquito netting-like material. They even set up two regular tents next to our see-through tents since it rained earlier in the day as a precaution.

Sleeping under the stars with occasional sounds of wildlife and waking up to the sounds of thousands of birds was a unique experience. The next morning, we had a sit down breakfast at our campsite, and then Dayo, our guide, took us to the hot springs where we took a dip and then completed the rest of our morning game drive and headed back to camp. Dayo kept a rifle with him the whole time we were at the fly camp and monitored the perimeter. We felt very safe.

Our son and daughter (15 and 12) were questioning why we would forego sleeping in our suite to camp outdoors, but even they had a really good time. We also had a great discussion with Milton and Dayo and learned a lot about the history of Tanzania. If you like outdoor adventure, then try fly-camping!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Fly Camping at Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"Hmm - as said before, this was a real highlight. The food was excellent, as was the location. The bed-rolls very comfortable. The only downside? I wanted two nights, one is just not enough!

The facilities I rate as excellent, but be aware that this IS a fly-camp, so it's a short-drop toilet and a bucket shower. I would not want it any other way.

[Ed: in their review of Sand Rivers, these travellers commented:

"The highlight was a fly-camp, sleeping (very well) under a net on a very comfortable bed roll, with the 'car-door slam' of hunting crocodiles in the nearby lagoon to remind you where you are (don't worry, the tents are well back from the shoreline)!" ]" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs K
UK

"Excellent Fly Camp"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"We came to our lakeside fly camp after an early evening game drive. The fire was already going and chairs and a bar set out for us.

We had a net to sleep under and (reasonably) comfortable beds to sleep in. There was also a tent to get changed in, which can serve as alternative sleeping accommodation, if the whole experience is too scary (it wasn't). Our guide had his own tent, although he stayed awake all night to watch out for danger and to escort us to the toilet. A bucket shower was also available.

There was a team of about half a dozen other camp employees to prepare the food and to carry out the other necessary duties. They provided an excellent dinner and breakfast.

The only nighttime disturbance came from a few noisy impala, although we did hear lion and hyena some distance away.

A very worthwhile experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms D
Ireland

"Excellent experience: Sand rivers Fly-camping"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"The highlight of my trip to Selous!

Excellent experience, extremely well organised." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Sand Rivers fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"The fly camping was the highlight of our stay at Sand Rivers.

You drive or walk out from the main camp to a tiny temporary camp site - in our case on the edge of a lake. The team have gone ahead and set up your tent (a mosquito net) and the bucket shower and long-drop toilet (yes, there is safari glamping!). You sit around the camp fire as the light fades, have a great dinner made from the bush oven (make sure you see the kitchen); and then fall asleep looking at the stars.

You can hear the animals around you in the night but the fire, lanterns, and your friendly ranger with his gun mean that you are not likely to have visitors. This is a magical Must Do!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Huntingdon

"Sand Rivers fly camping"

1 night Arrived 19 Feb 2016
"Very well organised and enjoyable." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"Tanzania in the (very) Wet Season"

1 night Arrived 18 Feb 2016
"After a short drive we left the vehicle ( and our overnight gear which was taken onto the camp) and continued our journey to the fly camp on foot which provide an excellent opportunity to talk about about plants and smaller fauna and to enjoy the environment.

After a couple of hours we arrived at the fly camp. Roughing it ?? No - all creature comforts in a lovely setting beside a small river. Our tents were in two parts a cube made od mosquito netting with bedding - a comfortable 'mattress' with sheets - inside. Adjacent to the cube was a dome tent provided for changing etc or to use in case of rain or if anyone found sleeping 'al fresco' too scary!! Behind each tent was a table with towels , toiletries , mirror etc and beside it a tripod supporting a canvas wash bowl which was filled with warm water when required. To one side of the camp a long drop toilet had been dug and a bucket shower erected - all very private.

A table was set up with drinks for our sundowners and then we sat at a nicely laid table beside the campfire for a delicious three course meal.

We all slept well and woke refreshed and ready for our bush breakfast - yummy!

Our only disappointment - not enough animal noise during the night although Ernest assured us that there had been at least one leopard walking through the camp during the night." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
Maida Vale

"Sand Rivers fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"A fabulous experience, and the poshest fly-camping I have done. Beautiful location on the edge of Lake Tagalala, fantastic facilities including separate loo and shower and a 3 course meal.

All visitors should do this!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
HollandPark

"Sand Rivers fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2010
"Great fun. I would encourage others to try this." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Blown away by fly camping at Sand Rivers"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"One night lakeside ; one night river bank. ; two
great but different locations with all the sights
and sounds of the bush ! Comfortable but
authentic with excellent food and service." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 13
98%
13 reviews of Sand Rivers fly-camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa