This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp

Reviews of Impala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

275 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Impala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

60% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Eland

64% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 275
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & MS L
Connecticut

"Excellent food and service - and Wild Dogs!"

4 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2019
"We had an absolutely wonderful time at Impala.

The food was excellent, the service very friendly and accommodating. The camp is right next to the river, and full of wildlife. Boat safari is very convenient and special too.

A winner all around!!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Just our sort of place"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2019
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Selous Impala Camp.

All of the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Our guide Dennis, was great and managed to find us wild dogs on three occasions as well as mating lions and a dung beetle! The wildlife sightings in our three days were very good and included a wide variety of animals along with many birds, which we are particularly interested in.

We very much enjoyed mixing land and river safaris. A major plus was that we were on our own with Dennis for all of our safaris which we were not expecting. The camp seems to do this as standard which could be an important factor when choosing which camp to stay in.

Our tent was perfect. It felt very much part of the surroundings, not too plush, but extremely comfortable with everything that we needed. I loved waking up during the night to hear an animal munching away on the vegetation just on the other side of the canvas.

The food was of a good standard with large portions and plenty of variety over our stay. A choice is available for dinner which had to be chosen at lunch time. The restaurant is well run and the waiting staff especially friendly.

We did make use of the very nice swimming pool which is an added bonus to the camp.

We would not hesitate to recommend this camp and would happily return there ourselves." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

NomadTraveller
Eire

"Excellent Camp and People"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"Brilliant time and guide here. Our guide was Ezra and he was excellent. He took really good care of us from the get go and looked after us and all our needs. He knows a lot about the wildlife in the area and went to great lengths to get us into really good positions for sightings and photos. Very very happy with him and would definitely come back again and ask for Ezra as our guide. We saw giraffes fighting due to Ezras skill and knowledge as well as a pack of 20+hunting dogs with a fresh kill. Really epic. thank you. The meals in the bush were excellent and the breakfast box was amazing. The dinner at night was lovely and the food and services were top notch." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr Geoff
Sunbury

"Great camp, room very good, only guest twice"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2019
"There for three nights of which two I was only guest as camp very quiet
Room and public areas were excellent, staff attentive but discrete, didn’t use pool but it didn’t look too inviting
Food very good and variety with some local ingredients

Staff and guides were all brilliant and made an effort to compensate for lack of other guests
Chose Selous because of proximity to water and water disappointed. Boat safari great

I would go again" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms H & Mrs J
London

"Perfect base in the Selous"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2019
"After a wonderful few days in the Serengeti, this place was a complete contrast. Different vegetation, lakes, river safari, giraffe everywhere and good bird spotting. It was like a whole new holiday.

We were lucky to see lots of interesting and amusing interaction between species. Our guide Ezra was brilliant. The camp itself is very well run by the management team of Beatrice and David.

ALL the staff were attentive and friendly - all such lovely people.

Although booked into a twin tent, the Manager kindly gave us separate tents as the camp was not full - I was so happy !!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mary
Cornwall

"Selous Impala Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2018
"From the moment we were met at the tiny airstrip by Ezra, our guide for the next four days, until we were waved off by him as our plane took off, I can honestly say that we enjoyed every moment and wouldn't want to change anything.

We had a boat trip the first afternoon and met Ezra in the bar before supper to discuss the next day. We were woken at 6am with coffee and cake and began our morning drive at 6.30am. Our first safari, we were so excited. Another boat trip in the afternoon and back for a delicious supper. We had our own waiter for every meal and suppers were sometimes on the veranda of the restaurant and sometimes in a secluded spot with a bonfire to give us light. For the last two days we opted for a full day excursion so had breakfast and lunch in the bush - with a table and chairs! The most memorable lunch was by a lake, under a tree for shade, watching hundreds of large birds wading and catching fish - herons, pelicans, spoonbills, marabou storks to name a few. Ezra was an amazing guide and could answer any questions we threw at him.

At the camp we were allotted our own Masai to walk us wherever we wanted to go. This was because the camp was unfenced so open for animals as well as people. We had to call "Jambo Masai" when we wanted to leave the tent and he would appear and escort us to wherever we needed to go and wait until we were ready to return. He was very discreet. The camp had a swimming pool which was a treat after a whole day out in the bush.

The staff were all so friendly and obviously worked well as a team." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Really a hotel with game drives attached"

5 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"Ive just written a lengthy tripadvisor review, so this is a summary

More creature comfort than Mdonya with some very good staff - but lacking any obvious enthusiasm for safari/wildlife. Camp management was very low profile and not confident in dealing with europeans.

Our tent (No 1) was very comfortable but was a long walk. It benefitted from animals coming past to the river. If you want this, ask for tent 1-3. The Masai who escorted us was lovely.

Food and service were generally very good, with bush-babies and weaver birds coming to the table (may not suit everyone). We contracted Tanzanian Tummy during our visit which we're still recovering from. Camp management unfortunately put us in a dark secluded spot for dinner one night and my wife got dozens of horse-fly-looking bites, several became infected. We didnt want to eat there and now wish we'd refused.

Very few other guests - really felt a bit lonely. A constant succession of one-night visits by travel reps "doing research". Shame none of them asked guests for feedback - even if they travelled with their company. Very annoying to see what we were paying for and glad Expert Africa were not amongst them.

Guides were knowledgeable but more interested in charging about in the Land Cruiser. This gave our worst safari ride ever and tended to chase animals away. Complained to management and it improved but felt that driver/guide was sulking a bit and was finding it hard to locate anything new to show us after 3 days. Boat safari really worthwhile and bee-eater colony was very special.

All in all, a bit disappointing compared to Mdonya Old River Camp in Ruaha, but perhaps OK if you wanted a light safari experience" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Herts

"Selous Impala Camp - 3 nights"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"A wonderful camp. Located by the very wide Rufiji river and in plentiful forest ,this was a totally different habitat from what we had seen in the Mara in Kenya. Our tent was very comfortable and overlooked the river. Hippos, bush babies and monkeys around the camp at night made life just that bit more interesting (read noisy for that!!). However, the morning chorus of the birds was delightful.

The staff were excellent, the game drives superb with plenty of animals to see, if a little more hidden than on the plains, bird life extremely good. Guides were very knowledgeable but need help with their English. Food was very good too. The river game cruise was different, especially when a too friendly hippo decided to 'play' with the boat. Too many crocs around for that.

On reflection, we might have not taken a morning game drive just to sit in the camp and enjoy the peace/tranquillity and game that can be enjoyed there. We had a hour or so of that as we waited to leave." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs C.
Horsham

"an excellent safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"The camp was excellent. The accommodation and food were better than expected. Staff were tireless in making the stay as good as possible. The attention to detail was excellent. The water, driving and walking safaris were all very enjoyable and many animals were seen. A wonderful experience. Highly recommended. Perhaps also for people who have not been on safari before as we were so well looked after and given good advice." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Al & Jules
Australia

"Superb Selous Impala Camp "

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2018
"We found Impala Camp a superb base for our safari activities in Selous Game Reserve. Its location overlooking the Rufiji River, and close to Mtemere Airstrip, meant easy access to activities in the area.

Overall here the staff were superb also. Our guide/driver Omari was amazing. How he could drive the rough tracks and sight game in all directions still has me wondering. On one day we did a 12 hour game drive, so he also set up our packed breakfast and lunch where we were seated at a table with cutlery, crockery, hand towels, tea/coffee... the whole works.

All of our interactions with the staff showed that they did everything possible to make our time here memorable. We did feel however that although the management duo tried their best, they lacked the personal touch we've found at other camps.

The food here is the best we've ever encountered on safari..... great variety and so well presented." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 275
96%
275 reviews of Impala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
31
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa