This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp

Reviews of Impala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

275 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Impala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

60% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Eland

64% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 275
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W
Richmond

"Selous Impala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr W
Richmond

"Great first safari at Selous Impala"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"We had an incredible five days at Selous Impala at the end of June. The camp combines luxury living with great customer service and of course amazing guiding. We were met at the airstrip by our guide Ezra and driver Rajabu and given cold flannels, drinks and snacks – that level of attention continued throughout the trip. The tents are gorgeous, with comfortable beds and great views. We had good wholesome food serviced by the same attentive waiter every day.

Of course the wildlife was great. We saw giraffes just wandering next to our tent. Game drives with lions, elephants, zebra and more giraffes and boat trips with crocodiles and hippos watching as we cruised along.

But it is the little touches that make the camp so special, sundowner drinks on the first night, a birthday cake and “Happy Birthday” being sung in Swahili by the waiters and Andre, the assistant manager, lending me clothes as mine were stuck in Nairobi!

" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"Selous impala Camp"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2013
"Fabulous location, knowledgeable and friendly staff, fantastic game viewing." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms E
London

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2013
"very nice place, excellent guide and helpful staff" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
France

"Nice camp with nice people"

4 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2013
"Impala Camp is quite a nice camp. The tents are well equipped and comfortable and they have a veranda with a view on the river.

The management is doing every effort to accommodate the guests’ needs … and do succeed in that matter. For instance, when they figured out that I had quite important photo equipment and that I was interested in birding, they managed to give us a guide and a car exclusively for us, so that we could stop each and every time a bird was spotted without annoying other guests.

The camp is a bit remote from “the center” of the game reserve, which can be sometimes a problem when you have a lot of driving to do to access the place where animals are spotted. It’s then advisable to choose “early departure” game drives in the morning (6:30) rather than normal departure ones (8:00) to have the time to go to the places where “action” is taking place. They have several land rovers and several boats, so that you always can choose the activity you want to engage in.

We were lucky to have a guide named Dennis, who is a wonderful bird “spotter”. He is a very nice person and he showed us a lot of things.
The only average element was the food. Nothing terrible, of course, but nothing very good either.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss B & Mr B
UK

"Still a Great Camp"

4 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2013
"Our second time at Impala Camp and still as good as ever, friendly staff and management. Tents and beds very comfortable which is so important in this environment.

Good value" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
London

"Incredible Safari experience"

5 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2013
"We were very happy with our guide Gerard who arranged our safari trips and from whom we've learned a lot about a wildlife. The service was on a top level, our tent/room were kept clean at all times and food was simple but very good.

Our stay in Impala Camp was the best part of our trip and we can highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Stamford

"Selous impala camp"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2013
"Transferred from the airstrip by boat which was lovely but the clamber down from the road to the boat and over ropes was a bit tricky. Even one of the guides commented that it was rarely used because of this. Less agile clients might have found it very difficult.

Even after acclimatising in Ruaha, Selous seemed very, very hot and humid though this was alleviated by heavy rain one afternoon which made the roads 'interesting' to say the least! On the downside, the rain did bring out the insects in droves.

The camp was well designed and very comfortable; the ¼ mile walk each way to and from our tent did at least make sure we got a little exercise! The ability to charge batteries in the tent was very welcome.

Gerard was a superb guide who shared our warped sense of humour. He also selected some lovely spots for bush breakfasts; one morning we even had to move the chairs out of the way of an industrious dung beetle transporting giraffe droppings! Our one quibble about the breakfasts was that, having said one morning that neither of us liked guava juice, we were given it again the next day. Gerard was happy to drive great distances in search of animals and to spend plenty of time with them - the tree-climbing lion was a highlight! We were on the way back for lunch one day when he suddenly became very excited – ‘a jackal, a jackal!’ he cried; we thought he'd lost the plot until he explained that they were very rare in Selous and this was only his second sighting in 13 years. Later that same drive we indulged in a little anti-poaching activity when we ran off some men fishing illegally in the lake; Gerard then waded in to remove the nets which already had a fair few fish - good thing the crocs were looking the other way!

Food was excellent and beautifully served; we particularly liked the boards and individual dishes at lunchtime which allowed you to have as much or little as you wanted. The fact that it is served at individual tables can be a little isolating but when the staff realised we knew another couple we'd been at Mwagusi with they offered to combine the tables which made for a very sociable evening.

Activities were very flexible and, in particular, on your last day can be tailored to be as long or short as you wish to allow for packing and getting to the airstrip. Having tent no 1 we threatened to declare UDI and raise the drawbridge (literally) to our little strip of riverbank.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Wiltshire

"Not so much game at Selous Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2012
"All staff were friendly and attentive. They seemed particularly interested in the wildlife that had been seen. We enjoyed a wonderful lingering view of a male and 2 female lions leisurely feeding on a new giraffe kill; which one of our guides , Ragabu, expertly spotted from a distance via vultures, and so we were lucky to be the first vehicle to view this spectacle.

The guides worked extremely hard to look for a leopard and we spent alot of time waiting for a leopard to return to her kill which although not successful on this occasion was fantastic and a benefit from being allocated our own vehicle, and we appreciate that there is often a lot of luck in viewing this amazing animal (luck was reserved for later during the trip).

We were surprised not to see very many elephants, and we felt it was a bit concerning to see one lone very small elephant hiding in scrub under a tree with no adult in sight. We got the impression that there are not as many elephants in Selous as perhaps a few years ago.

When leaving we congratulated the manager on the excellent service from all their staff.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-110 of 275
96%
275 reviews of Impala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
31
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa